Author Topic: Who remembers Betamax ?  (Read 18403 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13544
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #150 on: December 30, 2012, 11:51:35 pm »
is that with the card=2 option set ?

If so, as I said .. back to SeZo and Mint .. with a suggestion you try using stace to see where VLC/Cheese/Xawtv is stumbling.

Heck, I'm not even sure if cheese can be used for capturing from a capture card  :o

.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2574
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #151 on: December 30, 2012, 11:53:54 pm »
Cheese stopped opening again untill I typed "sudo modprobe -r bttv" into the terminal then it will open but if I type the second command (sudo modprobe bttv card=2) I get the terminal error I posted earlier
« Last Edit: December 30, 2012, 11:57:10 pm by Emegra »
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13544
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #152 on: December 30, 2012, 11:58:14 pm »
As I said this is going to get confusing .. so go back to Mint

did you say you could get a picture in Cheese in Mint .. but when you hit record it crashed ?

is there a way to set the video and audio capture devices in cheese ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2574
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #153 on: December 31, 2012, 12:09:55 am »
Quote
did you say you could get a picture in Cheese in Mint .. but when you hit record it crashed ?

Yes I get video but it crashes when I try to record

Quote
did you say you could get a picture in Cheese in Mint .. but when you hit record it crashed ?

I'm not sure there isnt a lot of options as I remember in the preferences

Anyway I think we should call it a day, I dont know about you but Meh heids burst , and I'm working tomorrow, so I'm not sure if I can continue with this tomorrow as I have a lot on but we can sort this out next year if you ans SeZo don't mind , so If i can't get online tomorrow have a great new year and dont drink too much of that Jack Daniels and you too SeZo I can't thank you both enough for all the effort you've put into this  have a good time and all the best for 2013

Many Many thanks for all your help

Graeme
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13544
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #154 on: December 31, 2012, 12:20:17 am »
No problem .. catch you in the new year then, and have a good one :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1497
  • Karma: 119
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #155 on: December 31, 2012, 01:29:53 am »
@ SeZo

we were just massing wit cheese in Peppermint to see if we could get that running .. He can go back to Mint if you like

Thinking about it, it may be a good idea to start a seperate topic for Cheese and capture in Peppermint, so it doesn't become too confusing.

Waddaya reckon ?

Sorry guys, was just reading through the posts when I got disconnected and it did take up till now before I was able to re-connect (ISP problem)

@Emegra
I think for the new year we should establish a stable platform when the video loads EVERY time and then we can start sorting out minor things like audio  etc. ;)

Hope you have a  good new year

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2574
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #156 on: December 31, 2012, 06:22:22 am »
Quote
I think for the new year we should establish a stable platform when the video loads EVERY time and then we can start sorting out minor things like audio  etc.

That sounds good to me :)

Many Thanks


Graeme
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2574
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #157 on: January 01, 2013, 12:57:20 pm »
Hi guys hope you all enjoyed the new year celebrations

Just to recap from where we left off in Mint,

VLC will play video although there is still no sound and before it will load video I have to first tune the signal with xawtv, once that's done it's stable, it will also convert & save although picture quality isn't the best

xawtv will play video & audio but will not record and fails with this error

Code: [Select]
graeme@Linux1 ~ $ xawtv
This is xawtv-3.102, running on Linux/i686 (3.5.0-17-generic)
xinerama 0: 1600x900+0+0
vid-open-auto: using analog TV device /dev/video0
WARNING: No DGA direct video mode for this display.
WARNING: keeping fbuf pitch at: 6400, as no base addr was detected
WARNING: couldn't find framebuffer base address, try manual
         configuration ("v4l-conf -a <addr>")
v4l2: WARNING: framebuffer base address mismatch
v4l2: me=(nil) v4l=(nil)
Alsa devices: cap: (null) (/dev/video0), out: default
oss: open /dev/dsp: No such file or directory

Cheese will play video (only once the signal has been tuned it by xawtv) no audio, and will crash if I attempt to record with this error

http://pastebin.com/HQvpYUcF


Many thanks

Graeme

« Last Edit: January 01, 2013, 01:08:14 pm by Emegra »
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13544
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #158 on: January 01, 2013, 02:08:37 pm »
Just as a matter of interest, what happens if you try starting xawtv with:
Code: [Select]
padsp xawtv
or
Code: [Select]
aoss xawtv

does sound now work ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2574
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #159 on: January 01, 2013, 02:20:58 pm »
Hi Mark

Sound isn't a problem in xawtv, but if you meant do I get sound in VLC after loading  xawtv the answer is no it makes no difference with either of the commands , I just get a horrible muffled noise coming through the speakers
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13544
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #160 on: January 01, 2013, 02:55:26 pm »
No .. I meant would xawtv "record" sound when started with those commands.

and if not .. does the error message change ?



@ SeZo

According to this:
http://linux.about.com/od/commands/l/blcmdl1_xawtv.htm

you can change the xawtv dsp from /dev/dsp (default) with -C <device> or -devdsp <device> .. but I ain't got a clue what /dev/dsp became in ALSA/PulseAudio .. any ideas ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2574
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #161 on: January 01, 2013, 03:06:44 pm »
Opening xawtv using the commands you posted makes no difference it will play sound but gives these error reports when I try to record

Code: [Select]
graeme@Linux1 ~ $ xawtv
This is xawtv-3.102, running on Linux/i686 (3.5.0-17-generic)
xinerama 0: 1600x900+0+0
vid-open-auto: using analog TV device /dev/video0
WARNING: No DGA direct video mode for this display.
WARNING: keeping fbuf pitch at: 6400, as no base addr was detected
WARNING: couldn't find framebuffer base address, try manual
         configuration ("v4l-conf -a <addr>")
v4l2: WARNING: framebuffer base address mismatch
v4l2: me=(nil) v4l=(nil)
Alsa devices: cap: (null) (/dev/video0), out: default
oss: open /dev/dsp: No such file or directory


Code: [Select]
graeme@Linux1 ~ $ padsp xawtv
This is xawtv-3.102, running on Linux/i686 (3.5.0-17-generic)
xinerama 0: 1600x900+0+0
vid-open-auto: using analog TV device /dev/video0
WARNING: No DGA direct video mode for this display.
WARNING: keeping fbuf pitch at: 6400, as no base addr was detected
WARNING: couldn't find framebuffer base address, try manual
         configuration ("v4l-conf -a <addr>")
v4l2: WARNING: framebuffer base address mismatch
v4l2: me=(nil) v4l=(nil)
Alsa devices: cap: (null) (/dev/video0), out: default
open : No such file or directory

Code: [Select]
graeme@Linux1 ~ $ aoss xawtv
This is xawtv-3.102, running on Linux/i686 (3.5.0-17-generic)
xinerama 0: 1600x900+0+0
vid-open-auto: using analog TV device /dev/video0
WARNING: No DGA direct video mode for this display.
WARNING: keeping fbuf pitch at: 6400, as no base addr was detected
WARNING: couldn't find framebuffer base address, try manual
         configuration ("v4l-conf -a <addr>")
v4l2: WARNING: framebuffer base address mismatch
v4l2: me=(nil) v4l=(nil)
Alsa devices: cap: (null) (/dev/video0), out: default
oss: open /dev/dsp: No such file or directory

If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1497
  • Karma: 119
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #162 on: January 01, 2013, 05:36:40 pm »
Quote
Alsa devices: cap: (null) (/dev/video0), out: default
That would indicate that there is no capture device set for alsa
To see more of the details:
Code: [Select]
xawtv -debug 1

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2574
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #163 on: January 01, 2013, 05:42:51 pm »
Hi SeZo

Code: [Select]
graeme@Linux1 ~ $ xawtv -debug 1
This is xawtv-3.102, running on Linux/i686 (3.5.0-17-generic)
visual: id=0x21 class=4 (TrueColor), depth=24
visual: id=0x22 class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xa4 class=4 (TrueColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xa5 class=4 (TrueColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xa6 class=4 (TrueColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xa7 class=4 (TrueColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xa8 class=4 (TrueColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xa9 class=4 (TrueColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xaa class=4 (TrueColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xab class=4 (TrueColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xac class=4 (TrueColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xad class=4 (TrueColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xae class=4 (TrueColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xaf class=4 (TrueColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xb0 class=4 (TrueColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xb1 class=4 (TrueColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xb2 class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xb3 class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xb4 class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xb5 class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xb6 class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xb7 class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xb8 class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xb9 class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xba class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xbb class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xbc class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xbd class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xbe class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xbf class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0xc0 class=5 (DirectColor), depth=24
visual: id=0x73 class=4 (TrueColor), depth=32
x11: color depth: 24 bits, 3 bytes - pixmap: 4 bytes
x11: color masks: red=0x00ff0000 green=0x0000ff00 blue=0x000000ff
x11: server byte order: little endian
x11: client byte order: little endian
check if the X-Server is local ... * ok (unix socket)
main: dga extention...
DGA version 2.0
main: xinerama extention...
xinerama 0: 1600x900+0+0
main: xvideo extention [video]...
Xvideo: 2 adaptors available.
Xvideo: Intel(R) Textured Video: input image, ports 95-110
Xvideo: Intel(R) Video Overlay: input image, ports 111-111
Xvideo: no usable video port found
main: xvideo extention [image]...
blit: xv: 0x32595559 (YUY2) packed [ok: 16 bit YUV 4:2:2 (packed, YUYV)]
blit: xv: 0x32315659 (YV12) planar
blit: xv: 0x30323449 (I420) planar [ok: 12 bit YUV 4:2:0 (planar)]
blit: xv: 0x59565955 (UYVY) packed [ok: 16 bit YUV 4:2:2 (packed, UYVY)]
blit: xv: 0x434d5658 (XVMC) planar
main: init main window...
main: install signal handlers...
main thread [pid=9732]
main: open grabber device...
x11: 1600x900, 32 bit/pixel, 0 byte/scanline
vid-open-auto: trying: /dev/video0...
Using libv4l plugin
v4l2: device caps: 7, required 6
v4l2: open
v4l2: device info:
  bttv 3.5.5 / BT848A video (Hauppauge (bt848) @ PCI:0000:02:02.0
vid-open-auto: using analog TV device /dev/video0
vid-open-auto: success, using: /dev/video0
vid-open: closing dev to run v4lconf
v4l2: close
v4l-conf: using X11 display :0
dga: version 2.0
WARNING: No DGA direct video mode for this display.
mode: 1600x900, depth=24, bpp=32, bpl=6400, base=unknown
WARNING: keeping fbuf pitch at: 6400, as no base addr was detected
WARNING: couldn't find framebuffer base address, try manual
         configuration ("v4l-conf -a <addr>")
/dev/video0 [v4l2]: configuration done
got sigchild
waitpid: No child processes
vid-open: re-opening dev after v4lconf
Using libv4l plugin
v4l2: device caps: 7, required 0
v4l2: open
v4l2: device info:
  bttv 3.5.5 / BT848A video (Hauppauge (bt848) @ PCI:0000:02:02.0
vid-open: re-open ok
v4l2: WARNING: framebuffer base address mismatch
v4l2: me=(nil) v4l=(nil)
Alsa devices: cap: (null) (/dev/video0), out: default
main: checking wm...
wmhooks: netwm state above
wmhooks: netwm state fullscreen
main: creating windows ...
main: init frequency tables ...
freq: reading /usr/share/xawtv/Index.map
main: read config file ...
freq: newtab 5
freq: reading /usr/share/xawtv/europe-west.list
freq: reading /usr/share/xawtv/ccir-i-iii.list
freq: reading /usr/share/xawtv/ccir-sl-sh.list
freq: reading /usr/share/xawtv/ccir-h.list
freq: reading /usr/share/xawtv/uhf.list
xt: checking for randr extention ...
xrandr: 1600x900 1280x1024 1440x900 1280x960 1366x768 1360x768 1280x800 1152x864 1280x768 1024x768 1024x576 832x624 800x600 848x480 640x480 720x400
xt: checking for vidmode extention ...
VidMode  version 2.2
  available video mode(s): 1600x900 1280x1024 1280x1024 1440x900 1440x900 1280x960 1366x768 1360x768 1280x800 1280x800 1152x864 1280x768 1280x768 1024x768 1024x768 1024x768 1024x576 832x624 800x600 800x600 800x600 800x600 848x480 640x480 640x480 640x480 640x480 720x400
xt: checking for lirc ...
xawtv: could not connect to socket
xawtv: No such file or directory
lirc: no infrared remote support available
xt: checking for joystick ...
xt: checking for midi ...
xt: adding kbd hooks ...
main: mapping main window ...
main: initialize hardware ...
v4l2:   tuner cap:
v4l2:   tuner rxs: MONO
v4l2:   tuner cur: MONO
main: parse channels from config file ...
xt: handle_pending:  start ...
xt: handle_pending:  ... done
cmd: "setfreqtab" "europe-west"
freq: newtab 5
cmd: "capture" "grabdisplay"
gd: start [0]
cmd: "setchannel" "60"
gd: stop
v4l2: freq: 783.250
gd: start [0]
main: known station tuned, not changing
xt: enter main event loop...
gd: init
blit: init
blit: gl: init
blit: gl: DRI=Yes
blit: gl: texture max size: 2048
blit: resize 384x288
gd: config 384x288 win=320005f
blit: gl: extention GL_EXT_bgra is available
blit: gl: extention GL_EXT_bgra is available
v4l2: new capture params (384x288, YUYV, 221184 byte)
setformat: 16 bit YUV 4:2:2 (packed, YUYV) (384x288): ok
grabdisplay: using "16 bit YUV 4:2:2 (packed, YUYV)"
cmd: "capture" "off"
gd: stop
v4l2: new capture params (384x288, BGR4, 442368 byte)
setformat: 32 bit TrueColor (LE: bgr-) (384x288): ok
v4l2: new capture params (384x288, BGR4, 442368 byte)
cmd: "capture" "grab"
gd: start [13]
v4l2: new capture params (384x288, YUYV, 221184 byte)
setformat: 16 bit YUV 4:2:2 (packed, YUYV) (384x288): ok
v4l2: buf 0: video-cap 0x0+221184, used 0
v4l2: buf 1: video-cap 0x36000+221184, used 0
expose count=0
expose count=0
expose count=0
expose count=0
v4l2: start ts=1357061937258210000
blit: 384x288/[16 bit YUV 4:2:2 (packed, YUYV)] => Xvideo
keypad: timeout
   25 fps
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1497
  • Karma: 119
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #164 on: January 01, 2013, 06:04:59 pm »
Could you try again with xawtv -debug 1, but this time plug the audio lead into the Mic socket
Also try in VLC to see if the Mic was set for capture

Also could you post the output:
Code: [Select]
v4l2-ctl -d /dev/video0 --list-ctrls

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal