Author Topic: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?  (Read 3181 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline anette

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
« Reply #30 on: January 30, 2013, 12:46:47 pm »
mark,
I did as you wrote and when I turn on the pc ,it logs onto my new account (gustavo59) but everything frozen(as happened when logging into Hanne)..even worse...the firefox frozen as well.In order to write now I have to log into Hanne (from gustavo 59) .I have to reverse the steps. 

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14447
  • Karma: 357
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
« Reply #31 on: January 30, 2013, 01:03:45 pm »
OK, what happens if you disable autologin altogether .. so you have to choose the user from the login screen ?

BTW, have you burned an Ubuntu 10.04 LiveCD yet ? .. I think at this point it would be good to:-

a) test your RAM (Memtest86+)
and
b) to see if everything works from a LiveCD

..
« Last Edit: January 30, 2013, 01:51:55 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline anette

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
« Reply #32 on: February 01, 2013, 09:02:26 am »
mark,
I disabled the auto log in. When logged onto Hanne account, i have to switch to gustavo59  in order to work with the pc.  When the pc starts, and  logged into  gustavo59 ;I have to switch onto Hanne account to run the pc. As you can see, the account logged into at first does not react and I have to log on to the other account to proceed .

I just DL ubuntu 10.04 ISO and I will burn it on to a disk aspa. Will it work from a usb dongle instead of burning on a disc (sometimes ago I couldn't burn docs as I remember)?
Thanks.Anette

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14447
  • Karma: 357
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
« Reply #33 on: February 01, 2013, 11:56:01 am »
That's some weird problem ??? .. I'm seriously beginning to wonder if it would be quicker to just copy your docs/videos/firefox profile/etc. to an external drive .. then just reinstall.

Maybe even take this opportunity to move to a more recent version of Ubuntu .. or Mint (MATE) .. or PeppermintOS 3

I'm going to do a bit of research on reinstalling the login tools .. but we could be here forever trying to track down what the problem is .. I *would* ask you to post the logs, but I'm guessing they'd be in Danish (?) and fairly useless to me.



It may work from a USB stick depending on your PC .. some old PC's don't like booting from USB sticks.

Do you know how to burn the ISO image to a USB stick ?

--
« Last Edit: February 01, 2013, 11:59:00 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline anette

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
« Reply #34 on: February 01, 2013, 06:36:31 pm »
mark,
I will try to burn to the usb stick and on to a disc ,and see if it works.
In case of moving to a recent system, how would I solve the problem of moving video folders to an external hd?
Thanks,Anette

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1583
  • Karma: 124
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
« Reply #35 on: February 01, 2013, 08:21:24 pm »
Quote
In case of moving to a recent system, how would I solve the problem of moving video folders to an external hd?
You might be trying to copy files which are too big for the external HDD
To find out the file sizes in the videos contained in the video folders you can run (substituting the <path to Videos> with the correct path):
Code: [Select]
du -ach <path to Videos>
This should give you the sizes per file and for the directory containing it.
Please also see what space is available on the external HDD (must be plugged in first)
Code: [Select]
df -h
and look for /dev/sdb*

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14447
  • Karma: 357
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
« Reply #36 on: February 01, 2013, 09:17:42 pm »
Quote
how would I solve the problem of moving video folders to an external hd?

If there's enough room, we'll try copying them from a root prompt .. or a file manager running with root permissions.

Have you got an external drive with enough space ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal