Author Topic: Creating Filesystems with Openmediavault (Solved)  (Read 20176 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
  • Karma: 55
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating Filesysyems with Openmediavault
« Reply #15 on: March 07, 2013, 10:53:20 pm »
Thank god for that  .. I just panicked for nothing.

Don't worry if we screw anything up this is just a test rig, there's no important data involved here :)

I've given you the outputs you asked for with screenshots I can't seem to copy paste in putty and the text is too much to type, hope that's ok


If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
  • Karma: 55
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating Filesysyems with Openmediavault
« Reply #16 on: March 07, 2013, 10:56:41 pm »
That was interesting...
Are sure you have installed Openmediavault onto /dev/sdb as you said before?

I only had one drive connected up when I installed OMV which was the 10gb drive, I used the smallest drive I had available because as far as I understand the operating system uses the entire drive, the boot drive can't be partitioned, but knowing me I could have got things mixed up


Graeme
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14306
  • Karma: 356
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating Filesysyems with Openmediavault
« Reply #17 on: March 07, 2013, 10:58:53 pm »
See my last posting for copy/paste.

If they somehow combined PuTTY with SSL .. would it be called SLuTTY ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
  • Karma: 55
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating Filesysyems with Openmediavault
« Reply #18 on: March 07, 2013, 11:02:00 pm »
See my last posting for copy/paste.

If they somehow combined PuTTY with SSL .. would it be called SLuTTY ?

Sorry Mark i missed that post  :)
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
  • Karma: 55
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating Filesysyems with Openmediavault
« Reply #19 on: March 07, 2013, 11:06:18 pm »
Just to clarify /dev/sda (80gb) was the original drive in what is now the NAS, it contained a Windows and Linux Partition, I removed that drive and connected a 10gb Drive (sdb) for the Openmediavault OS, I then re-connected the 80gb drive after the installation, that's how I know openmediavault is installed on the 10gb drive (sdb)


Hope that makes sense



Graeme
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 123
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating Filesysyems with Openmediavault
« Reply #20 on: March 07, 2013, 11:07:50 pm »
That was interesting...
Are sure you have installed Openmediavault onto /dev/sdb as you said before?

I only had one drive connected up when I installed OMV which was the 10gb drive, I used the smallest drive I had available because as far as I understand the operating system uses the entire drive, the boot drive can't be partitioned, but knowing me I could have got things mixed up

Graeme
That is OK then ;)
It looks like the /sda1 & 5 are mounted by fstab (in a very complex way)
You might have trouble untangling them

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
  • Karma: 55
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating Filesysyems with Openmediavault
« Reply #21 on: March 07, 2013, 11:11:22 pm »
@SeZo

Sorry about the confusion :)

EDIT
Quote
That is OK then
It looks like the /sda1 & 5 are mounted by fstab (in a very complex way)
You might have trouble untangling them

I wont be untangeling them, That's you and Marks job :)



Graeme
« Last Edit: March 07, 2013, 11:13:35 pm by Emegra »
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14306
  • Karma: 356
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating Filesysyems with Openmediavault
« Reply #22 on: March 07, 2013, 11:13:24 pm »
If I'm reading this correctly .. nothing from sda is being mounted in fstab at all

where it mentions / being on sda1 aat installation .. is now sdb1
(luckily the boot stanzas and fstab are using UUID's)

How I see it is you installed with a single disk .. added another disk (which became sda) .. then you set the second HDD as the primary boot device in the BIOS ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
  • Karma: 55
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating Filesysyems with Openmediavault
« Reply #23 on: March 07, 2013, 11:17:34 pm »
Quote
How I see it is you installed with a single disk .. added another disk (which became sda) .. then you set the second HDD as the primary boot device in the BIOS ?

How could i have done that if there is no OMV OS on the second drive , I have to be booting from the first drive don't I ?

If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14306
  • Karma: 356
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating Filesysyems with Openmediavault
« Reply #24 on: March 07, 2013, 11:25:56 pm »
No .. not if you set the second HDD as the primary boot device in the BIOS

Otherwise the bootloader would be on the MBR of (what is now) /dev/sda .. which it can't be if that disk wasn't there during the install.

--
« Last Edit: March 07, 2013, 11:37:41 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14306
  • Karma: 356
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating Filesysyems with Openmediavault
« Reply #25 on: March 07, 2013, 11:31:42 pm »
If you changed nothing in the BIOS .. my guess is the BIOS is looking for a bootloader on /dev/sda, then when it doesn't find one it moves on to /dev/sdb finds a bootloader and boots from it .. luckily the boot stanza is using UUID's to identify the partitions, not device names.

are both HDD's SATA or IDE ?

if IDE .. are they on the same ribbon cable or separate ones ?

[EDIT]

OK, ignore that last question .. just checked the model numbers .. the 10GB is IDE, the 80GB is SATA .. the BIOS is obviously set to boot SATA first.

Your best bet would be to boot a livecd .. format the 80GB  drive how you want it (because it now doesn't appear to have any partitions).

then reboot without the LiveCD, and if the webUI won't mount it for you, mount the drive manually in fstab.

--
« Last Edit: March 08, 2013, 12:01:26 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
  • Karma: 55
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating Filesysyems with Openmediavault
« Reply #26 on: March 08, 2013, 07:06:39 am »
I think I've confused you guys enough so I'll try my best to clarify how the NAS is set up as best I can,
in the bios

Primary Master:  None
Primary Slave: ST380215A  (80gb)
Secondary Master: DVDROM
Secondary Slave: ST310212A (10gb)

Boot Order

First Boot Device:       CDROM
Second Boot Device: HDD1
Third Boot Device:      Floopy

So if it's booting from HDD1 then it's booting off the 10gb drive (secondary slave) that I installed it on

Quote
OK, ignore that last question .. just checked the model numbers .. the 10GB is IDE, the 80GB is SATA .. the BIOS is obviously set to boot SATA first.

That's not correct both HDD's are IDE there are no SATA ports on the motherboard that I can see.

But clearly I've done something to the boot drive because now when I start the NAS the boot sequence stops with this message

Quote
failed (code8)
File system check failed. A log is being saved in /var/log/fsck/checkfs if that location is writable. Please repair the file system manually.  ...failed!
A maintenance shell will now bw started . CONTROL-D will terminate this shell and resume system boot.  ...(warning).
give root password for maintence
 (or type CONTROL-D to continue): flashing cursor

pressing CONTROL-D lets it boot and I can log into the Web GUI as usual but obviously thats no good for a NAS as it has to be headless

My gut feeling here is that I screwed up the installation in the first place by not having an active internet connection because I was too impatient and too lazy to set up an ethernet connection, so why don't we start from scratch wipe both drives clean and re-install (this time with an internet connection) ?, It's my own fault and I really don't mind doing that .


Many Thanks

Graeme
« Last Edit: March 08, 2013, 09:54:17 am by Emegra »
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14306
  • Karma: 356
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating Filesysyems with Openmediavault
« Reply #27 on: March 08, 2013, 10:23:14 am »
For the sake of sanity .. change the jumpers on those 2 drives .. so -

10GB = Master
80GB = Slave

And have them both connected at installation.



BTW, there's probably no need to format and start again.

My guess is the disk check is failing because the 80GB drive no longer contains a partition.

Remove the 80GB .. boot .. and if it drops you to a maintenance shell run:
Code: [Select]
fsck /dev/sda1 

If that fixes things .. you can bung the 80GB back in and format it.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2013, 10:28:17 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
  • Karma: 55
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating Filesysyems with Openmediavault
« Reply #28 on: March 08, 2013, 03:10:13 pm »
Quote
For the sake of sanity .. change the jumpers on those 2 drives .. so -

10GB = Master
80GB = Slave

You're right and it was my intention to do just that.

Quote
And have them both connected at installation.

I read in the Openmediavault Wiki to only have one drive installed and to add drives after installation of the operating system, that's why I did it that way, that and to eliminate any possibility of installing on the wrong drive.

Quote
BTW, there's probably no need to format and start again.

Probably not but to be honest I would be happier if I did, that's if you don't mind helping me install the USB wireless adaptor again

I have the option of installing the os to a usb drive and booting from that but on some tutorials I've read some recommend it and some don't, if I did it would free up an IDE channel which could be usefull, can you tell me what you're thoughts are on that ?


Many thanks


Graeme
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14306
  • Karma: 356
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating Filesysyems with Openmediavault
« Reply #29 on: March 08, 2013, 04:31:00 pm »
I can see no reason not to bung it on a USB pendrive IF (and that's a big if) your system can bot from USB sticks .. install it as a "proper" installation though.

Erm .. thinking about it, if the system is low on RAM it might be better off on a HDD as heavy use of the swap partition may prematurely wear out a pendrive .. ideally you could add other drives through USB with some cheap enclosures (?).

[EDIT]

Unless you already have another large IDE drive .. you may be better off getting a SATA controller card which will allow you to add (but probably not boot from) SATA HDD's

Such as:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/SATA-PCI-int-ports-VT6421a/dp/B000LS4LXS/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top
PCI SATA controller .. 3 X SATA (2 internal, 1 external) and 1 X IDE .. so theoretically you could add 5 more drives.

one of the comments says it works out-of-the-box in Ubuntu 12.04 .. so I'd expect it to work in Debian too .. for £7.50 it aint a biggy if it doesn't

If:
Code: [Select]
modinfo sata_via
run on the NAS returs anything, then the driver is present.

I've got a VIA VT6421 (not VIA VT6421a) based card and it works perfectly in Ubuntu.

--
« Last Edit: March 08, 2013, 04:50:32 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal