Author Topic: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista [solved]  (Read 4097 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Eddie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista
« Reply #30 on: March 22, 2013, 08:11:02 pm »
Mark went over everything once again, I,ts now all back. :)
How can I make sure it stay,s there.? I have Firefox ,Skype, Thunderbird,and Keyboard working also. I,ve looked in geddit It say,s Server for United Kingdom.
I,ve ensured all boxes are ticked in peppermint, Other Sources--- all are ticked except the First box --  [  ]   CD*********packages etc,  this left UN-ticked.
Went then to the reload In sources,, waited until all was downloaded then exited sources. Is this Right so far.? now just waiting for instruction.

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1525
  • Karma: 120
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista
« Reply #31 on: March 22, 2013, 08:22:21 pm »
Quote
Mark went over everything once again, I,ts now all back. :)

OK if Mark is instructing you outside of this forum then I will leave it at that.

Quote
How can I make sure it stay,s there.

Once you have installed something it should not just disappear by itself without your intervention.
Same goes for your keyboard settings :)

Quote
Went then to the reload In sources,, waited until all was downloaded then exited sources. Is this Right so far.?

That depends on what are you trying to achieve.

Offline Eddie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista
« Reply #32 on: March 22, 2013, 08:25:46 pm »
Hi Sezo, had n,t realized you,d come in ::). Yes thatís exactly what happened, you,ve probably guessed this post is after my last two or three previous.
Anyway for now its back, but I,m sort of Hesitant to log off for some food just in case.
Regards Eddie.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13999
  • Karma: 348
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista
« Reply #33 on: March 22, 2013, 08:29:19 pm »
As SeZo says .. once you change something it shouldn't change back .. that sounds like the behaviour of a LiveCD or LiveUSB without persistence.

How exactly did you install Peppermint to your hard drive ?



For the keyboard .. run:
sudo gedit /etc/default/keyboard

If there's a line that reads:-

XKBLAYOUT="us"

change it to:-

XKBLAYOUT="gb"

then SAVE the file.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13999
  • Karma: 348
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista
« Reply #34 on: March 22, 2013, 08:34:27 pm »
Quote from: SeZo
OK if Mark is instructing you outside of this forum then I will leave it at that.

Nope, I only deal with problems on the forum :) .. occasionally in chat, but then I always say "go to chat" in the topic, and post any solution found back to the topic.

It's not my job to deny the forum searchable content that may help others ;)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Eddie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista
« Reply #35 on: March 22, 2013, 08:35:43 pm »
Yes Guy,s its saved.
Will log off and try again in 30 mins.
Cheers
Eddie.

Offline Eddie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista
« Reply #36 on: March 22, 2013, 08:41:52 pm »
No Mark,s, not instructing outside the forum Sezo. but to be honest I guess it is difficult to grasp the thread if you don,t know the back ground to the original problem. anyway guy,s thank you both, for your Help as I would be well stuck without that help.
Regards to you both.
Eddie.

Offline Eddie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista
« Reply #37 on: March 22, 2013, 09:40:28 pm »
 Well I,m Back and everything Has Gone Again.

Please please help

Offline Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2680
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista
« Reply #38 on: March 22, 2013, 09:50:25 pm »
Hi Eddie

I think it would help Mark help you if you answered the question he asked in a previous post

Quote
How exactly did you install Peppermint to your hard drive ?


Good luck


Graeme
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Eddie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista
« Reply #39 on: March 22, 2013, 09:51:01 pm »
Yes everything was saved. Question:- Have I got a virus.?
Do I do a full Re-install.?
May be a step by step approach is better, then others learn also. I,ve gone through 20 fags already :'(

Offline Eddie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista
« Reply #40 on: March 22, 2013, 09:54:44 pm »
Hi Emegra,   Installed by CD  downloaded from peppermintos :'(

Offline Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2680
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista
« Reply #41 on: March 22, 2013, 09:57:42 pm »
Eddie I'm not the man to ask those questions I'm probably the most clueless on here :)

but as far as your questions are concerned

Quote
Question:- Have I got a virus.?

Highly unlikely, viruses are almost non existent in Linux

Quote
May be a step by step approach is better,

Possibly but either Mark or SeZo would be better to do that with you

Quote
I,ve gone through 20 fags already

Do what I did go digital, it doesn't help with PC problems but it's a hell of a lot cheaper :)
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2680
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista
« Reply #42 on: March 22, 2013, 09:59:33 pm »
This might sound silly but i assume you have removed the installation CD from the PC ?

I may be wrong but this command prompt suggests to me you're running a live session

Code: [Select]
peppermint@peppermint ~ $ cat /etc/apt/sources.list; for X in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/*; do echo; echo; echo "** $X:"; echo; cat $X; done
# /etc/apt/sources.list
« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 10:21:53 pm by Emegra »
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1525
  • Karma: 120
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista
« Reply #43 on: March 22, 2013, 10:32:48 pm »
Quote
I may be wrong but this command prompt suggests to me you're running a live session

Emegra might be on the right track.

If you need simple guidance for installing Peppermint OS then this guide would do that for you.
http://peppermintos.com/guide/install/
More setup guides here

Also a clearer description/answers would go a long way in enabling others to help you

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13999
  • Karma: 348
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: peppermint 3 on a Desktop with vista
« Reply #44 on: March 22, 2013, 11:15:25 pm »
I'm with Emegra too :)

It looks like you're booting a Live session .. such as booting a LiveCD or a LiveUSB

Are you SURE the Peppermint CD isn't still in the drive ?

What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
ls -a ~/Desktop
and
Code: [Select]
mount

[EDIT]

And NO, you haven't got a virus .. depending on your definition of "virus", there are NO true viruses for Linux in the wild (and no incentive to write any, because they wouldn't get very far), and the handful of "proof of concept" viruses that have existed have been patched against long ago .. this is not to say malicious code cannot be written for Linux, it can, but you'd specifically have to download it from somewhere outside the default repositories, then manually mark it executable, then manually install it entering your password as part of the install .. you haven't got a virus ;)

--
« Last Edit: March 23, 2013, 12:31:40 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal