Author Topic: Compiz on peppermint  (Read 1059 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2154
  • Karma: 47
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Compiz on peppermint
« on: March 25, 2013, 08:50:25 pm »
Hi Guys

I've just installed compiz, because I want to try the rotating cube thing everybody shouts about but mainly because I'm bored,

Anyway i installed compiz from synaptic but I see no reference to it in any of the menus but when I type"compiz" in the terminal I get this error message


Code: [Select]
graeme@Linux3 ~ $ compiz
compiz (core) - Error: Screen 0 on display ":0" already has a window manager; try using the --replace option to replace the current window manager.
graeme@Linux3 ~ $

None of this i understand

Can anyone please advise me on what i have to do next to get it working

Any help would be much appreciated


Graeme
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1251
  • Karma: 111
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Compiz on peppermint
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2013, 09:15:34 pm »
It is telling you to replace your current windowmanager
Openbox is the default window manager for LXDE
Code: [Select]
gedit ~/.config/lxsession/LXDE/desktop.conf
If exists then replace
Code: [Select]
[Session]
window_manager=openbox-lxde
with
Code: [Select]
[Session]
window_manager=compiz ccp --indirect-rendering
Reboot to test.
Just a note that doing the above might disrupt other display related applications like compositing you may have already running.

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2154
  • Karma: 47
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Compiz on peppermint
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2013, 09:22:20 pm »
Hi Sezo

thanks for your help

I'm glad you mentioned this because i was gonna ask about it

Quote
Just a note that doing the above might disrupt other display related applications like compositing you may have already running.

I installed compton to use with Cairo Dock so if you're saying I could disrupt that and cause myself a headache I'd rather just leave compiz out, it's really not that important to me,  in other words I'm not that bored :)



Graeme
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1251
  • Karma: 111
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Compiz on peppermint
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2013, 09:32:50 pm »
I am not saying that it would but that it could.
If you want to test it then just create another user so (if you mess it up) you dont ruin your main desktop.
The code posted before would only effect the current (that specific user).

I am using the LXDE enviroment for a reason - lightness. Compiz is a resource hog.
In my opinion if you want to use it then you might as well go with one of the heavier DEs. ;)
« Last Edit: March 25, 2013, 09:36:16 pm by SeZo »

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2154
  • Karma: 47
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Compiz on peppermint
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2013, 09:38:45 pm »
Quote
I am using the LXDE enviroment for a reason - lightness. Compiz is a resource hog.
In my opinion if you want to use it then you might as well go with one of the heavier DEs.

I'm inclined to take your advice on this, simply being a little bit bored is no good reason to risk spoiling a good working fast system, I suppose the rotating cube etc is quite an attractive proposition but having thought about it I dont think it's worth the trade off (speed, resources etc)

Sorry if I've wasted your time


Many thanks


Graeme
« Last Edit: March 26, 2013, 06:37:14 am by Emegra »
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1251
  • Karma: 111
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Compiz on peppermint
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2013, 09:50:02 pm »
Quote
Sorry if I've wasted your time

Not at all. At one point i was taken in by the eye-candy but soon got bored wih it. Realizing that there is no added benefit (well other than bemused Windows users) I shifted towards more useful enviroments to get things done.

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2154
  • Karma: 47
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Compiz on peppermint
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2013, 09:58:20 pm »
Quote
At one point i was taken in by the eye-candy but soon got bored wih it. Realizing that there is no added benefit (well other than bemused Windows users) I shifted towards more useful enviroments to get things done.


Makes perfect sense to me :)


Thanks again


Graeme
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12494
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Compiz on peppermint
« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2013, 02:25:06 am »
I've had a quick go at this, and Compiz doesn't appear to like LXDE's use of openbox .. not xfwm4 (if I switch to that.

in both caases I loose Window decoration as soon as compiz starts .. using compiz's windows decorator makes no difference.

I suppose you could compile emerald for 12.04 .. i've read that works inn Lubuntu, so *should* work in Peppermint.

But I'm with SeZo .. Compiz is a gimmick .. great for making Windows users go "Awwww" and "Ahhhh", but it soon wears thin.

I can probably figure it out for you if you really want ? .. other than the lost titlebars I've had it working, cube, wobbly windows, and all.



BTW, you'd want more than just the "compiz" package if you want to be able to configure compiz .. you' certainly want CCSM (compizconfig-settings-manager).

you'd probably want:-

compiz
compizconfig-settings-manager
compiz-plugins
compiz-fusion-plugins-extra
compiz-fusion-plugins-main


And life would be a lot easier with:
fusion-icon
as well .. particularly if you need to switch between window managers because the effin window decorations are missing



[EDIT]

Update:-

Compiz can be made to work in Peppermint 4

http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?p=42113#p42113
« Last Edit: March 09, 2014, 12:43:54 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2154
  • Karma: 47
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Compiz on peppermint
« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2013, 06:30:26 am »
Hi Mark

Thanks for your input,

between what I've learned from yourself and SeZo it seems it would be a lot of hard work for little or no benefit, possibly even counter productive

So I think this little whim of mine should go down as a classic case of "if it aint broken don't fix it"

Many thanks


Graeme
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12494
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Compiz on peppermint
« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2013, 10:00:12 am »
It does have a few handy features like Windows snapping (before Windows 7 did)  and a compositor for transparency, drop shadows, etc.

But these can be achieved in different and much "lighter" ways .. as SeZo says, Compiz can be a resource hog.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2154
  • Karma: 47
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Compiz on peppermint
« Reply #10 on: March 26, 2013, 10:43:28 am »
I have compton installed, which as you might remember I needed to get transparency for Cairo Dock, I also have drop shadows so I'm quite happy with that, I like eye candy but not really at the expense of performance, and I'm guessing that my PC probably isn't up to it anyway




Many thanks

Graeme
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal