Author Topic: [SOLVED] Trying to install an emulator  (Read 1979 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
[SOLVED] Trying to install an emulator
« on: May 12, 2013, 03:21:33 am »
I have downloaded a tar.gz of a Commodore C16 emulator but I donít know what to do next...
http://www.zophar.net/linux/c16.html
Any help appreciated.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2013, 12:46:32 pm by pooky2483 »

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline salparadise

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
  • Karma: 13
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Trying to install an emulator
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2013, 06:37:57 pm »
It appears to be the stuff necessary to build the emulator.
I opened a terminal in the extracted folder and typed 'make' and got messages saying sdl-config and g++ were required.

What distro are you using?

Have a look for a package named "mess". From the description...

Some of the well known consoles and computers emulated are the Atari 2600,
Lynx, NES, SNES, Nintendo 64, GameBoy, Sega Master System, Sega Megadrive,
Game Gear, Colecovision, Vectrex, Apple II, Atari 400/800, Commodore 64/128,
IBM PC XT and AT (MDA and CGA), ZX80, ZX Spectrum, TI99/4, TRS-80, and the
MSX.

It's in the repos for Mint.
There's also an 8bit Commodore emulator called Vice.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2013, 06:44:28 pm by salparadise »
Be silent, or say something better than silence.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Trying to install an emulator
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2013, 08:50:32 pm »
What distro are you using?

...Check my sig!

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13589
  • Karma: 339
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Trying to install an emulator
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2013, 12:04:49 am »
See the last line of salparadise's posting ..

Vice emulates the Commodore Plus4/C16/C116/C64/C128/etc.:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install vice
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Trying to install an emulator
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2013, 03:00:50 pm »
See the last line of salparadise's posting ..

Vice emulates the Commodore Plus4/C16/C116/C64/C128/etc.:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install vice

Sorry, I missed that bit

Iíve installed it but got a warning, is it anything to worry about?

Processing triggers for install-info ...
install-info: warning: no info dir entry in `/usr/share/info/gtkdialog.info.gz'

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Trying to install an emulator
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2013, 04:35:02 pm »
Also... Where is it?

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Trying to install an emulator
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2013, 04:53:02 pm »
Did a bit of reading up about it and found
http://www.n00bsonubuntu.net/content/vice-a-commodore-64-emulator/

which led to
http://zimmers.net/anonftp/pub/cbm/crossplatform/emulators/VICE/index.html

and downloaded the VICE 2.1 source code file... 'vice-2.2-1.m68kmint.rpm'88

I followed the instructions and get...

pooky2483@pooky2483-ubuntu12:/usr/lib/vice/C64/temp$ xplus4
*** VICE Version 2.3 ***
OS compiled for: Linux
GUI compiled for: GTK+
CPU compiled for: AMD64/x86_64
Compiler used: GCC-4.6.2
Current OS: not yet implemented
Current CPU: Unknown CPU
 
Welcome to xplus4, the free portable PLUS4 Emulator.
 
Current VICE team members:
D. Lem, A. Matthies, M. Pottendorfer, S. Trikaliotis, M. van den Heuvel,
C. Vogelgsang, F. Gennari, D. Kahlin, A. Lankila, Groepaz, I. Korb,
E. Smith, O. Seibert.
 
This is free software with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
See the "About VICE" command for more info.
 
XRandR: XRandR reports current display: 1920x1080@50
PLUS4MEM: Error - Couldn't load kernal ROM `kernal'.
Error - Machine initialization failed.


Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Trying to install an emulator
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2013, 05:24:17 pm »
I saw I missed out copying basic, chargen and kernal, so I copied them to the folder and tried x64 again and got
(click to show/hide)

I tried to run the C16/Plus4 emulator and got
(click to show/hide)

How do I get that working and how do I solve the problems with the C64 Emu?

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13589
  • Karma: 339
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Trying to install an emulator
« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2013, 07:05:24 pm »
Not something I know much about, but the VICE manual can be found here:
http://www.viceteam.org/vice_toc.html
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13589
  • Karma: 339
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Trying to install an emulator
« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2013, 07:16:01 pm »
Think I've sorted it. I completely removed it and re-installed it.
I found that if I copied everything over instead of just the few files it mentions. It works OK.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Trying to install an emulator
« Reply #11 on: May 13, 2013, 07:18:18 pm »

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Trying to install an emulator
« Reply #12 on: May 13, 2013, 07:38:42 pm »
Sorry, not the emulator but a '.prg' file - a game
I downloaded the C-16 emulator from http://www.zophar.net/windos.html

As far as I knew, it was '.prg' which were the format for gamed for the C-16 but the emulator I've just installed doesnít take that format???

2.10 Supported file formats

VICE supports the most popular Commodore file formats:

    X64 (preferred) or D64 disk image files; Used by the 1541, 2031, 3040, 4040 drives.
    G64 GCR-encoded 1541 disk image files;
    D67 CBM2040 (DOS1) disk image format
    D71 VC1571 disk image format
    D81 VC1581 disk image format
    D80 CBM8050 disk image format
    D82 CBM8250/1001 disk image format
    T64 tape image files (read-only);
    P00 program files;

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13589
  • Karma: 339
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Trying to install an emulator
« Reply #13 on: May 13, 2013, 07:57:38 pm »
Have you had a looksee at this:
http://www.theoldcomputer.com/emulators/index.php?folder=Commodore/Plus4-C16-C116/LINUX/Plus4/Plus4-v1.2.9.2


THATS where I download the emulator from in the first place lol.


Yeh, problem is, the one you mentioned won't compile against the latest kernels :(
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13589
  • Karma: 339
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Trying to install an emulator
« Reply #14 on: May 13, 2013, 08:17:50 pm »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal