Author Topic: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions < Solved>  (Read 1924 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13589
  • Karma: 339
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions
« Reply #15 on: July 02, 2013, 01:49:55 pm »
Talking of tablets .. I was asked why someone's iPad wouldn't upload video to Facebook .. after 2 hours messing I'm baffled how they sell such crippled crap.

Hell, you can't even browse your own files .. WTF is that about ???
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Toonman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 873
  • Karma: 15
  • Freeing the World form the Microsoft scurge!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions
« Reply #16 on: July 02, 2013, 03:12:18 pm »
Quote
Hell, you can't even browse your own files .. WTF is that about ???

You are not kidding.  Having spent the best part of a morning trying to find out where a pdf file that the wife had downloaded I went into the Apple shop with the useless pile of cr@p and asked where the file manager was?  Reply.... it doesn't need one as each file is loaded into the specific program.....My reply cannot be posted here!

It's the biggest pile of superbly marketed rubbish that I have ever known.  It's basically a fashion gadget for cafe' cultured lemmings.

....and while I'm ranting it cost £400 quid!
 
Life is for living.  RIP Keith Floyd.   ;)

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13589
  • Karma: 339
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions
« Reply #17 on: July 02, 2013, 03:47:36 pm »
My sentiments exactly  :o
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline tasape

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions
« Reply #18 on: July 02, 2013, 08:06:41 pm »
I think you have to go thro the I tunes dashboard to do it but I won't swear to it

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13589
  • Karma: 339
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions
« Reply #19 on: July 02, 2013, 08:25:31 pm »
iTunes sucks at the best of times, but the version on the iPad seems even more crippled than ususal .. buggered if I could use it to find the videos created by another app  ::)

Who knows .. maybe it's my lack of a dipsh*t gland that leaves me unable to make sense of it .. or possibly my lack of computer skills  ;)

Or maybe they only respond to people who live their lives on Fekbook ??

--
« Last Edit: July 02, 2013, 08:35:39 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline tasape

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions
« Reply #20 on: July 03, 2013, 08:24:22 pm »
Could be a QuickTime issue. It may need updating

Anyhow I get my new desktop tomorrow so I may be asking a lot of questions ........ to get it up and running .....

1question tho. From what I have read the bios mayweed an update is it better to do this before I install the os.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13589
  • Karma: 339
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions
« Reply #21 on: July 03, 2013, 08:32:52 pm »
What makes you think the BIOS needs updating ?

Wouldn't it make more sense to try tthe OS, then only mess with the BIOS if something doesn't work, and the mobo website suggests the BIOS update may fix it ?

You should ONLY EVER update the BIOS if it's 100% NECESSARY .. getting the flash wrong can kill the motherboard, permanently.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline tasape

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions
« Reply #22 on: July 03, 2013, 08:53:58 pm »
See below       This is why I asked Mark
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4305#ov

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13589
  • Karma: 339
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions
« Reply #23 on: July 03, 2013, 10:00:05 pm »
OK, *IF* and only if you need to flash the BIOS .. that board has Q-Flash .. so you can update the BIOS from withing the BIOS itself

http://www.gigabyte.com/webpage/20/HowToReflashBIOS.html
and
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4305#sp
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline tasape

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions
« Reply #24 on: July 04, 2013, 03:25:55 pm »
Didn't mess with the bios
It came it works and after much searching we decided mint to be the os as it seems to be what we were looking for ,I've set up wifi and email is working ok,my next challenge is to get
Google Chrome as my browser. I need a 64bit version for mint what is the best way to get this please,I also need to install my hp110a all inone printer. Is the software for this in the reps
The more tech questions will follow as I'm just doing the basics and getting my head around Linux and all it's accronyms

Thanks.   

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13589
  • Karma: 339
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions
« Reply #25 on: July 04, 2013, 04:41:21 pm »
Google Chrome -

Go here:
https://www.google.com/intl/en/chrome/browser/?brand=CHMO#eula
and download the 64bit .deb version for Ubuntu/Debian.

Then just double-click the .deb to install.



Printer -

Open a terminal, and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install hplip-gui
enter your password when asked (be aware, it will not echo anything to screen whilst entering your password), then hit enter.

once that's finished, you should find "HP Toolbox" in the menu's somewhere .. use that to configure your HP printer.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline tasape

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions
« Reply #26 on: July 05, 2013, 09:13:25 am »
AAAAAAARRRRGGGHHH

The disk i nstalled is 32 bit and not the 64bit i asked for
is there any way of changing this to 64 bit 

Offline A Future Pilot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Descent Player
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions
« Reply #27 on: July 05, 2013, 01:29:52 pm »
There's no way of changing it once it's installed...you'll need to go here:http://www.linuxmint.com/download.php and get the 64-bit version (I'd suggest regular cinnamon 64-bit).

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13589
  • Karma: 339
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions
« Reply #28 on: July 05, 2013, 01:37:29 pm »
If you have the latest Mint, it will have a PAE enabled kernel .. so there's no need to get the 64bit version .. even if you have more than 4GB RAM.

There is a small performance penalty for PAE, but in every day desktop usage, you're unlikely to notice any difference.

But your call.

As A Future Pilot points out, there is NO way to turn a 32bit install into a 64bit install .. it would require a complete reinstall.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline tasape

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Deep Breath Here Goes Total Newbie with a load of questions
« Reply #29 on: July 05, 2013, 01:41:33 pm »
well i tried
i need to delete all of the minf on my hdd  as im getting a 64bit disc sent so i can set up again

how do i delete it please so i can start with a clean hdd and a clean install

thanks

up date it crashed well sort of ive lost a lot of programms the shutdown buttons have gone  it wont connect to internet  etcetc   so i think a clean out is the best way to go
« Last Edit: July 05, 2013, 01:44:40 pm by tasape »

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal