Author Topic: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky  (Read 3008 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1616
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
[SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« on: August 03, 2013, 03:05:09 am »
I have recently started having problems with Transmission.
When I click on the icon on the desktop or select it from 'Applications/Internet/Transmission' it takes about 3 minutes for the GUI to show up on the desktop. When it finally shows, none of the torrents download any data, they show as 'Downloading from 0 of 0 Peers' it never actually connect to any, even when left overnight. They eventually stall.

It's nothing to do with my blocklist, which I can no longer find! I've done a full search for '.config' and there's no sign of it, which is strange as Transmission still shows the blocklist.

I have installed Transmission on a laptop with Win7 installed and it works fine so I don't know what is wrong with the one on my PC with Ubuntu 12.04LTS on...

[EDIT]
Found '.config' by other means - accidentally found it's path in Transmissions message log.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2013, 12:18:05 am by pooky2483 »

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13544
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2013, 10:02:56 am »
Try running:
Code: [Select]
mv -v ~/.config/transmission ~/.config/transmission-old
then
Code: [Select]
mv -v ~/.cache/transmission ~/.cache/transmission-old

Then starting Transmission.

Be Aware .. you will loose all your settings, and blocklists.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1616
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2013, 01:03:50 pm »
Don't think it's the blocklist that's the problem!

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13544
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2013, 01:30:09 pm »
I didn't say it was .. I just said doing the above would make you loose ALL settings INCLUDING your blocklists
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1616
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2013, 04:25:02 pm »
Oh, OK sorry, my eyes were still asleep when I read it. Apologies, I will give it a go.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1616
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2013, 04:52:07 pm »
Tried it but it still takes a while for it to actually show up (GUI)

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline mako6

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2013, 04:52:57 pm »
I had same problems w Transmission- think it got some vulnerability and stopped being supported- couldn't even reinstall it., but what I did find was identical in appearance and operation: Qtransmission bitttorrent client[/i]. Remove transmission, search for Qtrans and you should have no problems.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13544
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2013, 05:01:06 pm »
Odd .. transmission is in 13.04, so I'd expect it still to be in 12.04 :/
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1616
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2013, 03:09:10 am »
I'm now not sure it it *is* Transmission as I have installed qBittorrent and Vuze. None of them are connecting and downloading anything. So I am thinking that there is something missing but I don't know what.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13544
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2013, 03:11:49 pm »
have you got a firewall in either Linux or your router that's blocking the port the torrent apps are using.

is your router and the torrent apps configured to set the port using uPnP ?

or

have you set a static port in the torrent apps .. then configured the router to forward that port to the PC's (static) IP ?

have you tried simply restarting the router and PC's ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1616
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2013, 05:41:00 pm »
It *was* the router lol... I'd set the firewall to HIGH.
Don't really know how to set it so I can have the router security to high and have it let P2P stuff through?

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13544
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #11 on: August 13, 2013, 06:04:26 pm »
You'd have to configure the PC to have a static IP adress .. the torrent app to use a static port .. and the router to forward incoming connections on that port to the PC's static IP address.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1616
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #12 on: August 13, 2013, 06:24:57 pm »
...Sounds WAY too complicated :o Don't think I'll bother :(

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1616
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #13 on: August 13, 2013, 09:28:04 pm »
You'd have to configure the PC to have a static IP address .. the torrent app to use a static port .. and the router to forward incoming connections on that port to the PC's static IP address.

Looking at it a second time...
PC to have a static IP.......... It does
Torrent App to use static port..........It does
Router to forward incoming to the PC static IP address.......... That's the complicated part I need help with.

One part I am struggling with is 'Services'
AIM (TCP:5190)
BGP(TCP:179)
BOOTP_CLIENT(UDP:68)
BOOTP_SERVER(UDP67..68)
CU-SEEME(TCP/UDP:7648)
DNS(TCP/UDP:53)
FINGER(TCP:79)
FTP(TCP:20..21)
H.323(TCP:1720)
HTTP(TCP:80)
HTTPS(TCP:443)
ICQ(TCP:5190)
IRC(TCP/UDP:6660..6669)
NEWS(TCP:144)
NFS(UDP:2049)
NNTP(TCP:119)
POP3(TCP:110)
PPTP(TCP:1723)
RCMD(TCP:512)
REAL-AUDIO(TCP:7070)
REXEC(TCP:514)
RLOGIN(TCP:513)
RTELNET(TCP:107)
RTSP(TCP/UDP:554)
SFTP(TCP:115)
SMTP(TCP:25)
SNMP(TCP/UDP:161)
SNMP-TRAPS(TCP/UDP:162)
SQL-NET(TCP:1521)
SSH(TCP/UDP:22)
STRMWORKS(UDP:1558)
TACACS(UDP:49)
TELNET(TCP:23)

And the other bit, the IP address, 192.168.0.***

What do I do?

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13544
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #14 on: August 13, 2013, 09:51:41 pm »
You'll have to create your own "Service" called sommat like "Transmission"

And tell it to forward incoming connections on TCP <port-number> to the PC's IP address

<port-number> = whatever you've set in Transmission.

I can't help much more than that as all routers have their own interfaces.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal