Author Topic: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky  (Read 2534 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #60 on: August 16, 2013, 02:28:33 pm »
Having given your problem some thought, I don't understand why you're having this issue because I have the same Superhub as you and yet I can download torrents no problem and I haven't made any port forwarding changes additionally the following quote  you made on the original post suggests to me it's not a router problem

then check to see if it works and if that doesn't work we can check your hub & Transmission settings against mine to see if we can find the problem that way if you want ?


I have reset the Router and reinstalled Transmission, then rebooted.
I then
1 Ran Transmision
2 Changed Router Firewall Security to High

I then looked back at Transmission and it is STILL  downloading??? However, I did notice some settings that I ticked which are now unticked after a reset...

http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/4627/t78y.png

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #61 on: August 16, 2013, 02:29:21 pm »

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12477
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #62 on: August 16, 2013, 02:43:35 pm »
Yet that doesn't work in Linux ?

Are you running a software firewall in Linux ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #63 on: August 16, 2013, 02:57:00 pm »
Yet that doesn't work in Linux ?

Are you running a software firewall in Linux ?

I've got it set in both transmissions, one on Ubuntu and the on the Window$ lappy and NO, I'm NOT running a firewall in Linux BUT I DO have one installed - 'Firewall Builder'

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12477
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #64 on: August 16, 2013, 03:04:27 pm »
@ Emegra

Can you turn your Suprehubs security setting up to high, and see if you can still use Transmission ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2147
  • Karma: 47
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #65 on: August 16, 2013, 03:35:33 pm »
Quote
Can you turn your Suprehubs security setting up to high, and see if you can still use Transmission ?

Hi Pooky

I'm at work right now but I'll do it when I get home and get back to you :)
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #66 on: August 16, 2013, 04:00:46 pm »
Quote
Can you turn your Suprehubs security setting up to high, and see if you can still use Transmission ?

Hi Pooky

I'm at work right now but I'll do it when I get home and get back to you :)

LOL... It was Mark who asked.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12477
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #67 on: August 16, 2013, 04:03:04 pm »
But he's doing it for you.

To see if it's your your setup or just an issue with the superhub and Linux in general.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2147
  • Karma: 47
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #68 on: August 16, 2013, 04:08:23 pm »
Sorry guys I'm at work and i do everything at 100 mph I didn't look at who posted

silly me :)
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #69 on: August 16, 2013, 07:36:22 pm »
But he's doing it for you.

To see if it's your your setup or just an issue with the superhub and Linux in general.

I know but that just me being pedantic (as usual)  :o
But Emegra needn't bother if he doesn't want to now as I have solved the problem of a shitty (Not-so) Superhub as I have just bought a Netgear N300.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12477
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #70 on: August 16, 2013, 07:51:37 pm »
Ahh .. is Transmission working with the new router ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2147
  • Karma: 47
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #71 on: August 16, 2013, 07:52:00 pm »
That's great pooky

I checked my firewall and it was set to Low I've set it to High and set a torrent downloading in transmission and it doesn't look like it's gonna download, for the past few minutes it's sat a "downloading from 0 of 0 peers" but nothing downloaded
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #72 on: August 16, 2013, 09:02:05 pm »
Ahh .. is Transmission working with the new router ?

YES!... It *actually* works  ;D

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #73 on: August 16, 2013, 09:05:30 pm »
That's great pooky

I checked my firewall and it was set to Low I've set it to High and set a torrent downloading in transmission and it doesn't look like it's gonna download, for the past few minutes it's sat a "downloading from 0 of 0 peers" but nothing downloaded

That's what mine did too. One thing I've noticed with the new router and port forwarding set, the torrent downloads and just sits there in a 'Finished' state and not the usual 'Seeding'!

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2147
  • Karma: 47
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Transmission gone wonky
« Reply #74 on: August 16, 2013, 09:16:53 pm »
Well the important thing is you got it working the way you want


Well done :)
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal