Author Topic: Support Thread - Installing PeppermintOS Four on an Acer Aspire One AOA110L ZG5  (Read 4029 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Fredrik

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
I followed the instructions and tried (twice) to upgrade from Peppermint 3 to 4. It did not work, my A110 hangs itself after reboot. I am reverting back to version 3 and will avoid all updates except Firefox.

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13986
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline john-i-am

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
hi mark
decided to take the plunge! Not doing very well so far, i clicked the try first icon, but have no internet connection. i have to do it wireless but can not find the correct section in the menu. i have the home hub pull out tab next to me.
any help would be great to get me started
thanks
john

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13986
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Personally in your position I'd probably wait till Peppermint 5 now .. but if you want to continue......

Are you booted to the Peppermint 4 LiveUSB, and are you at the desktop ?

If so, click the networkmanager icon in the system tray by the clock (bottom right of screen) .. then select your network from the list, and enter your wireless key  .. you should then have a wireless connection.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline timo123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Firstly, thanks so much for the great ZG5 tutorial!  :D

I'm currently trying to optimize the fan but get stuck with an error after entering 'make'.  Here is the error message:

timo@timo-AA1 ~/acerhdf/acerhdf_kmod $ make
make -C /lib/modules/3.8.0-33-generic/build  SUBDIRS=/home/timo/acerhdf/acerhdf_kmod modules
make: *** /lib/modules/3.8.0-33-generic/build: No such file or directory.  Stop.
make: *** [default] Error 2


Any advice would be gratefully received!

Offline timo123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Sorry ignore/delete the last post as the process seems to be working now after a reboot.  ;)

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13986
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Yeah, at some point you'd updated the kernel, then without rebooting (to load the new kernel) installed linux-headers-generic, which would have pulled them in for the updated kernel version (that you're not using yet until a reboot) :)
(damn that's hard to explain, and it not look like a bunch of gibberish  ??? )

Maybe I should add a "REBOOT NOW" in the instructions somewhere .. I'll take a look.

Glad to hear it's all working for you now though, and the tutorial was of some help .. Oh, and welcome to the forum :)

Please let us know what you think of Peppermint, and any if you have any questions just ask.

--
« Last Edit: January 16, 2014, 03:49:47 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline storeman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Hi and thanks for a simple to follow tutorial, allthought I did completley mess it up.
after re format (E3)  a change of usb stick, I can get to the desktop, been on the net and even watched a youtube vid,
so I decided to install it, but says I need a 8.5gb drivespace and as I only have a 8gb ssd I cant proceed.
also I am totally new to this, will a earlier version of Peppermint go on  such a small drive or am I stuck with running from the usb stick
 

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13986
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Sorry I must have missed this posting.

It seems at some point, Ubuntu must have changed the Ubiquity minimum disk size requirement settings (probably just before we did the Peppermint 4 respin)..

Boot to the LiveCD/LiveUSB, and select "Try Peppermint" to boot in Live mode .. once at the desktop, hit Ctrl+Alt+T to open a terminal, and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo gedit /usr/lib/ubiquity/ubiquity/misc.py

Line 853 very near the bottom will read:-

    min_disk_size = size * 2 # fudge factor.

Change that to read:-

    min_disk_size = size * 1.4 # fudge factor.

SAVE the file.

Now run the installer from the "Install Peppermint" icon on the desktop.

Ubiquity will now say it only requires a 6.2GB drive :) .. in fact Peppermint will install in MUCH less that that.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2014, 05:24:45 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline storeman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
well that worked a treat, the installer asked a few question inc one about how I had formatted the disc and suggested  I allow the installer to change things, I readilly agreed, the install took a good while, so I left it alone , on return   a dialog box said it had installed.
however on switching on the notebook I just get a black screen with a flashing curser, ( now that does take me back to the Vic20 days)
I'm wondering if I need a Bios update?.
If I run the OS from the usb stick I can see lots of stuff has installed on the drive , but as said above  won't boot.
so at the moment I'm stumped
any suggestions ?
Thanks
Ian

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13986
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Unlikely that you need a BIOS update .. is this a zg5 ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline storeman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
yes a zg5  but model AOA110 Aw
« Last Edit: February 09, 2014, 08:04:34 pm by storeman »

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13986
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Have you still got the LiveUSB handy ? .. looks like something went wrong with the GRUB bootloader installation.

I take it you see the "Acer Empowering People" screen, then just a flashing underscore top left ?

We can either fix GRUB from the LiveUSB, or reinstall ... take your pick.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline storeman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
yep that correct, either is good for me , if its a reinstall, I would like a some reformat guide  in Gpart, as I feel that this was the root of the problems, when I said I messed up, the first install had crashed  so i tried to install from the live usb stick, that didnt work so I added a usb cd and using Hirem  fdisked it  inc the recovery partition,  then  tried again but the kernal was having a "panic attack" and went to TXT mode ?
I then used a new usb with  Yummi but the same iso from the tutorial link,  that got me to the desktop and I read somewhere that linux likes a E3 format so I used that in Gpart, you then  guided me with the size change, so   like I said above either way is fine, my preference would be  try to fix grub  and if unsucessfull a reformat and reinstall
but you may feel that a CLI approach with a first time linux user may be asking too much
Thanks

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13986
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
OK, I'm gonna say go with a reinstall .. because I have no idea (from what you said) if the install went smoothly, or what E3 means.

Boot to the LiveCD, and select "Try Peppermint"

When you get to the desktop, fire up Gparted from
menu > System Tools > GParted

make sure the SSD/HDD is selected (top right) .. now in GParted select
Device > Create Partition Table

When asked, select "msdos" as the partition table type .. and "Apply"

That *should* have completely wiped the drive.

Are there now NO partitions shown for the SSD/HDD in GParted ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal