Author Topic: Creating a multiboot system  (Read 6839 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #15 on: September 03, 2013, 12:22:28 pm »
Dunno .. that may work with GPT as I gather you can have more than 4 primary partitions with GPT


I think you've mixed messages with http://linuxforums.org.uk/index.php?topic=11115.new#new

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline goldtopia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Motley Minstrels
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #16 on: September 03, 2013, 01:35:34 pm »
Sorry for butting in. My engineer chap said you can have two hard drives inside your computer (desk top) with different OSs and boot into either. I don't know how practical that is. 
Bill.O

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12490
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #17 on: September 03, 2013, 06:28:38 pm »
If it's a desktop, you can *usually* have more than 2 HDD's (only limited by the SATA/IDE sockets on the motherboard, and even then you can get an add-in card to give you more) .. and each HDD can have more than 1 OS on it at a time.

You can have a single HDD with multiple OS's on it.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #18 on: September 03, 2013, 07:11:11 pm »
How do I get the key symbol to appear next to the HD in GParted?

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12490
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #19 on: September 03, 2013, 07:18:37 pm »
Mount the partition .. the key symbol just means it's "in use" so Gparted isn't able to run operations on it.

See here:
http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/gparted.html

--
« Last Edit: September 03, 2013, 07:20:39 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #20 on: September 03, 2013, 08:03:00 pm »
Ah rite.
I've changed the partitions on the HD to just 2 with no swap, is that OK?

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #21 on: September 03, 2013, 08:13:41 pm »
I meant 3

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12490
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #22 on: September 03, 2013, 08:23:01 pm »
Hold on we're getting confused with you having 2 topics about HDD partitioning open at the same time.

You DO need a swap partition on the internal 55GB drive .. the one the OS's are going to go on

You DON'T need a swap partition on the 3TB external drive .. or is it an internal drive ?

Explain what the 3TB drive is going to be used for, and if it's internal (always attached) or external (portable between PC's)
« Last Edit: September 03, 2013, 08:25:41 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Mad Penguin

  • #Mad_Penguin_UK
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1318
  • Karma: 10016
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Linux in the UK
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #23 on: September 03, 2013, 08:24:37 pm »
The problem with having two (or more) hard drives with a different OS on each is in choosing which one you want to boot from.
Typically you have two choices;
  • Connect up the one you want, then turn on the machine leaving the other unplugged
  • Reboot the machine, enter the BIOS, then select the physical device you want to boot from, save your changes, then reboot
The reason people choose to install multiple OS's on one disk is typically (aside from only having one disk) you will be left with a software menu at boot time from which you can choose which OS to boot. i.e. having two OS's on the same hard drive is "easier" than messing around with two disks.  :)
My laptop came with Windows 7 and as it seemed a shame just to overwrite it (as it didn't come with any Windows media) I chose to install Ubuntu "along side" the existing Windows installation. The Ubuntu installation process "generally" does a very good job at doing everything for you ...
https://twitter.com/#!/Mad_Penguin_UK

Offline Mad Penguin

  • #Mad_Penguin_UK
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1318
  • Karma: 10016
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Linux in the UK
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #24 on: September 03, 2013, 08:29:53 pm »
fyi; if you don't want to mess with partitions, you can actually use a "file" for swapping .. there's a performance overhead but unless you're desperately short of RAM you won't notice the difference.

Quote
# dd if=/dev/zero of=/var/spool/swap.file bs=1M count=1024
# mkswap /var/spool/swap.file
# swapon /var/spool/swap.file
https://twitter.com/#!/Mad_Penguin_UK

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #25 on: September 03, 2013, 08:58:05 pm »
I wondered when you'd realise  ;)
Huh! 55Gb drive ???
The 3Tb Hd, is an external one (I've now got another one) and is going to be used as storage permanently connected to the PC
I've decided to reformat it to NTFS which makes things easier.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12490
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #26 on: September 03, 2013, 09:03:29 pm »
So the 500GB drive has 4 partitions

3 x EXT4 (for the OS's)
and
1 x swap (to be shared by the OS's)

?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #27 on: September 03, 2013, 10:25:25 pm »
Yes

[EDIT]

I want to put Kubuntu as the primary OS then Ubuntu then Arch...
« Last Edit: September 03, 2013, 10:31:46 pm by pooky2483 »

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12490
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #28 on: September 03, 2013, 11:23:00 pm »
Boot to a liveCD (Kubuntu) and send the output from:
Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -l
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #29 on: September 08, 2013, 08:47:57 pm »
(click to show/hide)

I know this is going to be quite a job but I want the 500GbHd to be the *NEW* boot drive (which looking at the above info with my untrained eye, needs to be redone) and the current boot drive to just be another drive with 12,04 on it as another boot option as well as the 3 options on the 500Gb one (Xubuntu/Ubuntu/Arch).

I want to keep the current 12.04 active as I want to be able to use it as a reference and go back to it to see what I've got installed and when I've put what I what on the new copy of 12.04 on the *NEW* boot drive, and when I've done that, I'll wipe the drive and use it as storage. Unless you recommend leaving it active?
 
I'm currently having problems burning Xubuntu onto a DVD as they keep coming up as failed burn, I may have to buy some more blank DVD's. Hang on, I just remembered I was using the USB Stick to transfer data to the Win7 lappy so it's currently blank so I can put the multiboot back on it.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal