Author Topic: Creating a multiboot system  (Read 8925 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13545
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #30 on: September 08, 2013, 09:27:57 pm »
Why did you use a GPT partition table on the 500GB drive (/dev/sdc) ?

With all those drives, I'm kinda lost as to what's going where.

I take it you want to install multiple dist5ro's to the 500GB drive (/dev/sdc) and use it as the boot drive (the one with the active GRUB) ?

I also take it the 500GB drive (/dev/sdc) is empty at the moment ?

I also take it the others asre to remain unchanged ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1617
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #31 on: September 09, 2013, 11:11:16 am »
Why did you use a GPT partition table on the 500GB drive (/dev/sdc) ?

Don't know, shall I redo it, it's no trouble.

Quote
With all those drives, I'm kinda lost as to what's going where.

You only need to concentrate on
/dev/sda1 : Current boot disk with 12.04 on
/dev/sdc1 : Drive where I want multiboot system on

Quote
I take it you want to install multiple dist5ro's to the 500GB drive (/dev/sdc) and use it as the boot drive (the one with the active GRUB) ?

Yes

Quote
I also take it the 500GB drive (/dev/sdc) is empty at the moment ?

Yes

Quote
I also take it the others asre to remain unchanged ?

Yes, but later when everything's sorted (when I'm satisfied that I've got everything off I need., I want to use the current boot drive (sda) as storage and the 500Gb one (sdc) as the new boot drive.

I also want to use another location (the 3TbHd) as the location for Documents etc.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1617
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #32 on: September 09, 2013, 06:15:29 pm »
I also want the 2 3TbHd's to mount at boot too.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1497
  • Karma: 119
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #33 on: September 09, 2013, 09:29:03 pm »
Just to recap (from your previous posts).

You have 8 GB ram.

You have the following disks:
Disk /dev/sda: 251.0 GB (Ubuntu 12.04)
Disk /dev/sdb: 2000.4 GB
Disk /dev/sdc: 500.1 GB
Disk /dev/sdd: 250.1 GB
Disk /dev/sde: 3000.6 GB (Assumed to be external USB)
Disk /dev/sdf: 3000.6 GB (Assumed to be external USB)

You want to install Kubuntu as the primary OS then Ubuntu then Arch

My suggestion would be this (unplug external drives):

1) Use Clonezilla Live (or similar) to clone /dev/sda to /dev/sdd (to preserve Ubuntu)
2) Repartition /dev/sda:
   sda1 Kubuntu ext4 / (root) 30 GB
   sda2 Kubuntu swap 4 GB (If you are going to suspend to disk, then you need swap space more than actual RAM)
   sda3 Kubuntu ext4 /home 40 GB
        sda4 Extended partition
      sda5 for Ubuntu ext4 / (root) 30 GB
      sda6 for Ubuntu ext4 /home 40 GB
      sda7 for Arch ext4 / (root) 30 GB
      sda8 for Arch ext4 /home 40 GB
   Rest leave as empty space
3) Install Kubuntu to /dev/sda1 mount / (root)
   with swap on /dev/sda2
   and home on /dev/sda3 mount /home
   Install grub to /dev/sda
4) Boot Kubuntu and make sure grub lists /dev/sdd1 as Ubuntu (old install)
5) Reboot and see if you can boot into your old Ubuntu
6) Go back to Kubuntu and set it up as you like
7) Re partition /dev/sdc as it is not necessary to have it as GPT (use this disk as a storage)
8 ) Once you are happy with your Kubuntu install and no longer require the old Ubuntu then
   using Clonezilla live (or similar) create a clone of /dev/sda onto /dev/sdd
   for safe keeping (even better to remove).
9) Install Ubuntu to /dev/sda5 mount / (root)
   with swap on /dev/sda2
   and home on /dev/sda6 mount /home
   Skip installing grub
10) Install Arch to /dev/sda7 mount / (root)
   with swap on /dev/sda2
   and home on /dev/sda8 mount /home
   Skip installing grub
11) Boot to Kubuntu and run: sudo update-grub
   Reboot to check that all distros are listed in grub

12) Enjoy

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1617
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #34 on: September 10, 2013, 12:19:10 am »
Wow!
SeZo, that's brilliant. However, I want to use the 500GbHd (sdc) as the new boot drive (I have seen step #8 - won't cloning it to sdc which is twice the size of sda waste half the disk space?), not sda. And while installing the *NEW* systems, still have a working Ubuntu to jump back to!

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13545
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #35 on: September 10, 2013, 02:17:42 am »
Why not just set sdc as the first boot device in the BIOS and forget the cloning.

Then carry on as SeZo suggested, adjusting the sizes of the partitions to suit a 500GB drive rather than a 250GB one.

Just be sure to install GRUB to the MBR of the 500GB drive (/dev/sdc and changed the boot order in the BIOS)

So new instructions would be sommat like

1) Change the boot order in the BIOS to have have the 500GB drive as the FIRST boot device
2) Repartition /dev/sdc (after getting rid of the GPT partition table):
   sdc1 Kubuntu ext4 / (root) 40 GB
   sdc2 Kubuntu swap 8 GB (If you are going to suspend to disk, then you need swap space more than actual RAM)
   sdc3 Kubuntu ext4 /home 100 GB
        sdc4 Extended partition
      sdc5 (logical partition inside the sda4 extended partition) for Ubuntu ext4 / (root) 40 GB
      sdc6 (logical partition inside the sda4 extended partition) for Ubuntu ext4 /home 100 GB
      sdc7 (logical partition inside the sda4 extended partition) for Arch ext4 / (root) 40 GB
      sdc8 (logical partition inside the sda4 extended partition) for Arch ext4 /home 100 GB
   Rest leave as empty space
3) Install Kubuntu to /dev/sdc1 mount / (root)
   with swap on /dev/sdc2
   and home on /dev/sdc3 mount /home
   Install grub to /dev/sdc
4) Boot Kubuntu and make sure grub lists /dev/sda1 as Ubuntu (old install)
5) Reboot and see if you can boot into your old Ubuntu
6) Go back to Kubuntu and set it up as you like
7) Install Ubuntu to /dev/sdc5 mount / (root)
   with swap on /dev/sdc2
   and home on /dev/sdc6 mount /home
   Skip installing grub
8 ) Install Arch to /dev/sdc7 mount / (root)
   with swap on /dev/sdc2
   and home on /dev/sdc8 mount /home
   Skip installing grub
9) Boot to Kubuntu and run: sudo update-grub
   Reboot to check that all distros are listed in grub

Do whatever you want with the other drives now .. your'3 new OS's are all on sdc which is set in the BIOS as the first boot device, and at this point the old Ubuntu install (sda1) should still be bootable from GRUB, but you can get rid of it if you wish

10) Enjoy

@ SeZo (or MP)

Give the above the once over will you .. I did it whilst I was overly tired, so I'd appreciate it if someone else checked it
;)

--
« Last Edit: September 10, 2013, 02:24:59 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1617
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #36 on: September 10, 2013, 12:39:29 pm »
I've re-jigged the 500GbHd and now ready to install the OS's but for one thing, how do I tell the systems that I want to use another location (sde/f - the 3TbHd's) to store documents and other files.

I know you know what you're talking about when you're giving me instructions to do things, but as I am learning, I *will* ask questions.
One question is - Why have I had to create a 'root' and a 'home' partition when on the current boot drive (sda) there is no such partition?
« Last Edit: September 10, 2013, 12:47:22 pm by pooky2483 »

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13545
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #37 on: September 10, 2013, 01:59:56 pm »
Quote
I've re-jigged the 500GbHd and now ready to install the OS's but for one thing, how do I tell the systems that I want to use another location (sde/f - the 3TbHd's) to store documents and other files.

We'll get around to that once all the distros are installed, as that's a post installation task ;)

Unless of course you want to use the 3TB drive as /home ?

Quote
One question is - Why have I had to create a 'root' and a 'home' partition when on the current boot drive (sda) there is no such partition?

You don't HAVE to have separate /home partitions if you don't want (unless, as I said you want to bung /home on the 3TB drive) .. you could just do:-


1) Change the boot order in the BIOS to have have the 500GB drive as the FIRST boot device
2) Repartition /dev/sdc (after getting rid of the GPT partition table):
   sdc1 Kubuntu ext4 / (root) 140 GB
   sdc2 Kubuntu swap 8 GB (If you are going to suspend to disk, then you need swap space more than actual RAM)
   sdc3 Extended partition (at least 280GB, but may as well make it the rest of the drive as the other partitions are going to be contained inside it)
   sdc4 (logical partition inside the sda4 extended partition) for Ubuntu ext4 / (root) 140 GB
   sdc5 (logical partition inside the sda4 extended partition) for Arch ext4 / (root) 140 GB
   Rest leave as empty space
3) Install Kubuntu to /dev/sdc1 mount / (root)
   with swap on /dev/sdc2
   Install grub to /dev/sdc
4) Boot Kubuntu and make sure grub lists /dev/sda1 as Ubuntu (old install)
5) Reboot and see if you can boot into your old Ubuntu
6) Go back to Kubuntu and set it up as you like
7) Install Ubuntu to /dev/sdc4 mount / (root)
   with swap on /dev/sdc2
   Skip installing grub
8 ) Install Arch to /dev/sdc5 mount / (root)
   with swap on /dev/sdc2
   Skip installing grub
9) Boot to Kubuntu and run: sudo update-grub
   Reboot to check that all distros are listed in grub

10) Enjoy
« Last Edit: September 10, 2013, 02:03:56 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1617
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #38 on: September 10, 2013, 05:46:25 pm »
Quote
Unless of course you want to use the 3TB drive as /home ?

Yes, that's how I'd like it so it leaves the boot drive for system files only.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13545
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #39 on: September 10, 2013, 07:58:13 pm »
Well you could do that, not that it would give any benefit, and even introduces a second point of failure.

I also don't think it will achieve what I think you want.

a) you'd have to partition the 3TB drive, or at least be sure to use different usernames and UID/GID's for the users accounts on different OS's

b) any docs would be spread across different home direcctories .. so not easily accessible from the other OS's

c) if the 500GB drive fails obviously you won't be able to boot, but with that setup if the 3TB drive fails you won't be able to fully boot either.

Wouldn;t it make more sense to setup the way I said in my last posting .. then on the 3TB drive create a single large partition, then format it say NTFS, then create some folders in it like "Documents", "Videos" etc. .. then mount them in each OS as read/write/execute by everyone (777) and symlink to them in each OS's users home (~/) directory .. that way each OS will save anything you put it it's "Documents" folder in the same place, on the 3TB drive)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1497
  • Karma: 119
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #40 on: September 10, 2013, 09:18:29 pm »
I know you know what you're talking about when you're giving me instructions to do things, but as I am learning, I *will* ask questions.
One question is - Why have I had to create a 'root' and a 'home' partition when on the current boot drive (sda) there is no such partition?

The main benefit of having separate /home partitions is the knowledge that should you need to re-install your OS then your home partition would be safe.
In my opinion you do not need big OS or /home partitions. Keep any user agnostic files (like vdeos, music etc) on separate large HDD(s) which could be accessed by any distro/user. Keep the user specific /home partition clean. Your 250 GB HDD would be plenty big enough for 3 or 4 distros.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1617
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #41 on: September 10, 2013, 09:23:32 pm »
Wouldn;t it make more sense to setup the way I said in my last posting .. then on the 3TB drive create a single large partition, then format it say NTFS, then create some folders in it like "Documents", "Videos" etc. .. then mount them in each OS as read/write/execute by everyone (777) and symlink to them in each OS's users home (~/) directory .. that way each OS will save anything you put it it's "Documents" folder in the same place, on the 3TB drive)

That does sound a better way, less hassle. Lets go with that idea then.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1617
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #42 on: September 11, 2013, 09:17:48 pm »
Managed to install Kubuntu and Ubuntu, not yet installed Arch as it looks a bit more complicated (I will bring up the points in question in a short while).

It's taken me all day to install Kubuntu as after I installed it, it booted and displayed the 'cog' and the flashing dots below it and when finished booting, it crawled along and wouldn't do anything. So I just kept reinstalling it typing in 'pooky2483' and then one time it booted but didn't show the 'cog' but just 'kubuntu 12.04' including the 'dots' and this time it worked fine. But I mistyped my details so I had to reinstall again - which produced the previous results, then after a frustrating time installing it, it worked, again showing 'kubuntu 12.04'.

There has to be something in that. Why does it not work when it displays the 'cog' but when just displaying 'kubuntu 12.04' it works great?

Ubuntu took just one attempt to install.

Arch problem to follow...

Also, when booting...
the grub screen... the list of OS's... Ubuntu AND Kubuntu both show as Ubuntu12.04.
I also have loads of previous versions showing 3.2.0-53-generic and lower

They do however show where they're mounted, such as sda1 & sdc1 & sdc3. Is there a way I can name them so they're easier to identify?
The version of Ubuntu on sda1 is 3.2.0-53-generic and the new version of Ubuntu on sdc3 is 3.8.0-30-generic, how do/can I update them to the latest/current version? or is that automatic!

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13545
  • Karma: 335
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #43 on: September 11, 2013, 09:32:52 pm »
Those are the kernel versions, NOT the Ubuntu versions

the one with the 3.2 series kernel will be 12.04

the one with the 3.8 kernel series will be 13.04

It is possible to rename the GRUB entries, but I wouldn't bother .. just learn which is which .. or write them down for future reference.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1617
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #44 on: September 11, 2013, 10:05:06 pm »
Those are the kernel versions, NOT the Ubuntu versions

the one with the 3.2 series kernel will be 12.04

the one with the 3.8 kernel series will be 13.04

It is possible to rename the GRUB entries, but I wouldn't bother .. just learn which is which .. or write them down for future reference.

I know thats the kernel version as both Ubuntu & Kubuntu are 12.04. So why is one, as you explain, showing a kernel for a higher version?

Is there a way I can tidy it up so that it does'nt show previous kernel versions.


Tbe arch problems are...

Before continuing, please mount your target filesystem(s) at /target

How?

During the install, you will be given time to chroot into /target and install any packages that will be needed to boot your system.

Again, how?

During the I stall, you will be required wo write your own /etc/fstab

Yet again, how?


Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal