Author Topic: Creating a multiboot system  (Read 9003 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
  • Karma: 25
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #60 on: September 13, 2013, 12:12:29 pm »
Sorry...

You want the manual option, in order to specify where you want stuff to go (and what filesystems, if you want specific ones). The automatic option will probably create a single ext4 partition for / (although I'm not familiar with Manjaro's installer, might be different). I'd assume the manual option is still graphical, and doesn't drop you back to a console-based partitioner...

You shouldn't need to manually play with fstab unless the installer can't cope, and it should be ok with this...
Hit manual and show us the next screen

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #61 on: September 13, 2013, 12:30:41 pm »
The next screen is the start of the install with an error dialogue box telling me that I need to mount the Hd at /target.

Refer back to post #57 and look at the second picture, specifically line #2.
I also have to perform the instructions at line #5.
I will post a screenshot of the install screen with the error dialogue telling me I have to mount the Hd first...
(Give me 10 mins...)

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #62 on: September 13, 2013, 12:43:51 pm »
This is the error I get;

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #63 on: September 13, 2013, 01:49:10 pm »
Managed to install Manjaro...
It was NOT 'Manual Install'. The option to choose was the 'Automatic' one.
I was concerned that choosing that one would wipe the WHOLE hard drive and install Manjaro like that but it actually lets you choose exactly where to install it, as in which drive/partition.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #64 on: September 13, 2013, 02:18:01 pm »
This is strange!
I have installed Manjaro on sdc6 and it shows up in the Grub at boot but fails to actually boot...
I get this message when attempting to boot...

Decrompessing Linux... Parsing ELF... done.
Booting the kernel.
 : running early hook [udev]
 : running hook [udev]
 : triggering events...

Waiting 10 seconds for device /dev/sdc6 ...
ERROR: device '/dev/sdc6' not found. Skipping fsk.
ERROR: unable to find root device '/dev/sdc6'.
You are being dropped to a recovery shell
Type 'exit' to try and continue booting
sh: Can't access tty; job controll turned off
rootfs /]# (CURSOR)

'exit' entered

Trying to continue (this will most likely fail)...
 :mounting '/dev/sdc6' on real root
mount: you must specify the filesystem type
You are being dropped to a recovery shell
sh: Can't access tty; job control turned off
rootfs /]# (CURSOR)

I then forced a reboot to get to grub to enter into a working OS.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #65 on: September 13, 2013, 02:53:37 pm »
Now I've got a serious problem...My system won't boot at all.

I've had to boot to CD/DVD but don't know what to do next to recover from the error

Before I booted to CD/DVD it booted to Grub rescue but I don't know what to do there?

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
  • Karma: 25
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #66 on: September 13, 2013, 04:35:27 pm »
Hmm, that's weird...
What other distros are installed at present? What are all the existing partitions (mount points) as far as you are concerned?
« Last Edit: September 13, 2013, 04:41:23 pm by chemicalfan »

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #67 on: September 13, 2013, 05:09:42 pm »
sda1 Ubuntu 12.04
sdc1 Kubuntu 12.04
sdc5 Ubuntu 12.04
sdc6 WAS Manjaro but while booted from an Ubuntu11.10 install disk, I reformatted the partition.
Then tried to repair Grub but it failed. I also did see that the Grub could be placed in the MBR as an option as well as on the disk.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
  • Karma: 25
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #68 on: September 13, 2013, 05:24:57 pm »
So you have 2 installs for Ubuntu 12.04? Or is one of those partitions a separate mount point? I suspect GRUB stage 1 is still on the MBR, looking for stage 2 on sdc6. You can tell GRUB to look to sda1 or any other root partition, from its prompt, then update-grub when you get into Ubuntu. I can't remember the syntax at the moment, and I'm on my way home right now.

You could always try re-installing Manjaro, writing GRUB to the MBR, but I don't know if Manjaro's installer will look for other distros, so you might not get Ubuntu listed.

I'll post the GRUB prompt info later, if no-one else has! Don't panic!

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #69 on: September 13, 2013, 05:33:58 pm »
I have my original install of Ubuntu on sda1 and the new one on sdc5, they're separate installs.
Also, for some reason, I can't boot to BIOS! I have to F8 to get to drive boot options.


Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
  • Karma: 25
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #70 on: September 13, 2013, 06:03:20 pm »
That's weird, the BIOS is irrelevant in this context  ???

Let me get this clear - when you boot up, touching nothing, where does your system end up? What's showing on the screen?
You might find info here - https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2/Troubleshooting
(personally, I'd run with Ubuntu's GRUB, mainly for comfort in terms of support)

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #71 on: September 13, 2013, 06:12:26 pm »
It comes up with;
Error: no such device: 194ee891-90aa-42e8-b1c3-1ed0fc143a0e.
Grub rescue>(cursor)


Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
  • Karma: 25
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #72 on: September 13, 2013, 06:14:53 pm »
Ok, type:
Code: [Select]
ls
and post the result here

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1618
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #73 on: September 13, 2013, 06:25:06 pm »
I get this;
hd(0) (hd0,msdos2) (hd0,msdos1) (hd1) (hd1,msdos6) (hd1,msdos5) (hd1,msdos2) (hd1,msdos1) (hd2) (hd2,msdos1) (hd3) (hd3,msdos1)

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-61-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
  • Karma: 25
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Creating a multiboot system
« Reply #74 on: September 13, 2013, 06:31:08 pm »
Doh, that's a lot of drives & partitions!  :(

Assuming your old Ubuntu install still works, we can try to boot into that. Try:
Code: [Select]
set prefix=(hd0,1)/boot/grub
set root=(hd0,1)
insmod linux
linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro
initrd /initrd.img
boot
Press ENTER after each line.

This might not work if Ubuntu's root isn't on sda1

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal