Author Topic: [SOLVED] Problems Formatting Hd  (Read 985 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12429
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Problems Formatting Hd
« Reply #15 on: September 03, 2013, 07:31:38 pm »
That's because it IS used space .. effectively it's the drive map

If this is a storage drive, and not going to have an OS on it .. no, you don't need a swap partition.

You only need one swap partition for the OS to use a virtual memory if necessary .. you don't need one on every drive.

And if it's an external HDD, you most definitely don't want the swap partition on that drive .. ideally swap would be on your fastest drive.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Problems Formatting Hd
« Reply #16 on: September 03, 2013, 09:04:09 pm »
I know you're getting the two threads mixed up but as I'm talking about the 'yellow' bit at the front of the 'usable' part of the formatted Hd (for the 3TbHd), I've just redone the Hd that I want to put multiple OS's on and the partitions DON'T have the little 'yellow' section of used space at the beginning of each partition. Why's that?

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12429
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Problems Formatting Hd
« Reply #17 on: September 03, 2013, 09:54:16 pm »
Dunno
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Problems Formatting Hd
« Reply #18 on: September 03, 2013, 10:28:16 pm »
I've decided to format it back to NTFS so you could class this as problem solved.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal