Author Topic: Dual boot question  (Read 676 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline salparadise

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
  • Karma: 13
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Dual boot question
« on: September 10, 2013, 09:08:14 am »
Is it possible to have 2 different distros using the same /tmp partition?
Be silent, or say something better than silence.

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13979
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Dual boot question
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2013, 10:50:13 am »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Mad Penguin

  • #Mad_Penguin_UK
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1320
  • Karma: 10017
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Linux in the UK
    • Awards
Re: Dual boot question
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2013, 01:53:56 pm »
although it would be an "odd" system that put /tmp on it's own partition ... ??


Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13979
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Dual boot question
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2013, 02:21:21 pm »
I agree, I can't really see the point in a /tmp partition ???
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline salparadise

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
  • Karma: 13
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Dual boot question
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2013, 03:25:08 pm »
The general advice for keeping SSD drives at optimal performance is not to put the /tmp partition on one.

So I have root on the SSD drive and swap, tmp and home all on the SATA platter drive. This means I can have a relatively cheap 30GB SSD drive and an older 500GB SATA drive.

The answer to my question appears to be yes, both distros have zero problem with using the same /tmp partition. Or at least, thus far both have behaved as expected.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2013, 03:28:40 pm by salparadise »
Be silent, or say something better than silence.

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1524
  • Karma: 120
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Dual boot question
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2013, 09:49:18 pm »
Or you could shift /tmp to your ram
See here.

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13979
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Dual boot question
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2013, 10:23:05 pm »
Which would be a better idea, as having it on the HDD is negating some of the benefit of an SSD
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline salparadise

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
  • Karma: 13
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Dual boot question
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2013, 06:36:15 am »
Many thanks for that.
Be silent, or say something better than silence.

Offline Mad Penguin

  • #Mad_Penguin_UK
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1320
  • Karma: 10017
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Linux in the UK
    • Awards
Re: Dual boot question
« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2013, 10:08:09 am »
Your quote;

Quote
The general advice for keeping SSD drives at optimal performance is not to put the /tmp partition on one.

On the other hand, for keeping your system at optimal performance, put the /tmp partition on an SSD.
Alternative add this to /etc/fstab and reboot;

Quote
tmpfs   /tmp       tmpfs   defaults,noatime,mode=1777   0  0

 :)

Offline salparadise

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
  • Karma: 13
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Dual boot question
« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2013, 10:50:49 am »
One of the tips on the linked page is to instruct the browser to use /tmp as its cache, after putting /tmp into RAM.
Isn't that a bit dangerous? Surely that exposes the system to buffer overflows?
I'm not knowledgable about such exploits so may have got the wrong end of the stick.
Be silent, or say something better than silence.

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1524
  • Karma: 120
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Dual boot question
« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2013, 05:10:54 pm »
Quote
One of the tips on the linked page is to instruct the browser to use /tmp as its cache, after putting /tmp into RAM.

That may be no longer necessary.
In Firefox go to about:cache and see the current status.
If you see something like this:
(click to show/hide)
Then you do not need to do anything. If it is not like that then you can change the settings.
Go to about:config
Search: cache.
Set:
browser.cache.memory.enable true
browser.cache.disk.enable false (this may not be needed)

Restart Firefox to check status:
about:cache

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal