Author Topic: VM Performing 'poorly'  (Read 2371 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
VM Performing 'poorly'
« on: September 14, 2013, 08:09:29 pm »
I am trying to install another OS in my KVM but I see this error in the process of installing another OS to run in the VM.

'Warning KVM is not available. This may mean the KVM package is not installed, or the modules are not loaded. Your virtual machines may perform poorly.'
« Last Edit: September 15, 2013, 02:07:02 pm by pooky2483 »

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12465
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: VM Performing 'poorly'
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2013, 08:53:48 pm »
Has it always said that ?

What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/cpuinfo

It probably means either your CPU doesn't support hardware accelerated virtualisation .. or it's disabled in the BIOS after your BIOS reset.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: VM Performing 'poorly'
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2013, 10:30:53 pm »
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/cpuinfo
(click to show/hide)

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12465
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: VM Performing 'poorly'
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2013, 12:33:55 am »
OK, the Athlon 64 X2 5200+ was a "Windsor" CPU, so*does* support AMD-V (AMD's hardware virtualisation acceleration), and this is confirmed by the "svm" flag from cpuinfo.

So I can only assume that resetting the BIOS has turned off hardware virtualisation support in the BIOS .. look in your BIOS for an option to turn it back on.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: VM Performing 'poorly'
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2013, 11:03:13 am »
Ah, yes, I DO remember seeing it in the BIOS settings AND in the link to the M3A76-CM manual you posted in the Multiboot thread.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: VM Performing 'poorly'
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2013, 11:32:24 am »
I'm also getting this error (if you could call it such), where the dialogue boxes are slightly off-screen!
Including the error reported in the boxes, the VM can't access external drives!


http://img692.imageshack.us/img692/9349/uone.png



http://img202.imageshack.us/img202/1476/vivr.png

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12465
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: VM Performing 'poorly'
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2013, 11:54:46 am »
If you've installed Manjaro in the MV, do you still need the ISO image mounting ? .. if not, unmount it (somewhere in the virt-manager, I would think).

I know very little about KVM/virt-manager.

--
« Last Edit: September 15, 2013, 11:57:21 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1222
  • Karma: 111
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: VM Performing 'poorly'
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2013, 11:57:28 am »
Is the Manjaro iso located on the NTFS formatted drive?
You cannot apply linux permissions to that.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: VM Performing 'poorly'
« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2013, 12:01:29 pm »
I've not yet installed Manjaro in the VM as SeZo points out, the VM can't access the NTFS drive  :(
So I will have to put a copy on another drive...

@Mark - Did you notice the placement of the dialogue boxes... Right at the TOP of the screen... Cutting off the top of the box...
How do/can i move them or even get them to be displayed in the centre of the screen?

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: VM Performing 'poorly'
« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2013, 12:11:16 pm »
Got right near the end and got this error!
Unable to complete install: 'internal error Process exited while reading console log output: Error opening file for reading: Permission denied
char device redirected to /dev/pts/0
kvm-spice: -drive file=/var/lib/libvirt/images/Manjaro.img,if=none,id=drive-virtio-disk0,format=raw: could not open disk image /var/lib/libvirt/images/Manjaro.img: Permission denied

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1222
  • Karma: 111
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: VM Performing 'poorly'
« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2013, 12:26:55 pm »
I know nothing about KVM so cannot help you on this but would ask if this is even necessary as you have managed to install it once before. So you can do it again (just smake sure you skip the grub install).

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12465
  • Karma: 306
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: VM Performing 'poorly'
« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2013, 12:34:58 pm »
Sorry pooky, I've never really used KVM/Virt-manager .. so can't really help with configuration.

I've always used virtualbox .....
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: VM Performing 'poorly'
« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2013, 12:48:51 pm »
I think MP knows more about KVM so should wait for him to see the thread or should I give him a nudge?
Anyways... I think this little problem has more to do with ownership of the file (CHOWN)
But I cant remember how to change it to let 'all' use it...

[EDIT]
I've gone into 'Properties' and changed the permissions there but it still wont let me install Manjaro!
« Last Edit: September 15, 2013, 01:14:14 pm by pooky2483 »

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: VM Performing 'poorly'
« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2013, 01:17:13 pm »
Fixed it, I was pointing it at a copy of the iso that is for some reason couldn't open!!!!

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] VM Performing 'poorly'
« Reply #14 on: September 15, 2013, 02:06:36 pm »
Got it installed in the KVM but it does not boot to desktop!!!
It just locks at this screen...
http://img833.imageshack.us/img833/4011/1s1i.png

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2102|AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|Chrome|

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal