Author Topic: (SOLVED) Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop  (Read 3197 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
(SOLVED) Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« on: September 16, 2013, 10:47:27 pm »
Hi Mark,
My Windross xp machine has outlived its usefulness and I am thinking of installing PeppermintOS4 on it.
Can I just follow the stages up to and including 7, in the thread 'Installing PeppermintOS4 on an Acer Inspire' ?

take care
Don W
« Last Edit: November 04, 2013, 10:32:30 pm by donwatson »
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5      500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13193
  • Karma: 321
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2013, 11:27:32 pm »
If your PC will boot from a USB stick, then YES .. stages 1 - 7 (inclusive), and also this command from stage 8:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install pulseaudio pulseaudio-utils pavucontrol

If it won't boot from a USB stick, you might need to burn a LiveCD and use that as the installation media instead.

Any problems .. just ask :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2013, 12:41:46 pm »
Hi Mark,
Thanks for the quick reply.
The problem with the Windross machine is the HD.
I will need to purchase a new HD and then decide on the OS knowing that support for XP ends next year.
I have 3 e-mail accounts and I worry that I may  lose access to them, although I have 2 ported on to this machine where I use PeppermintOS 3 and they run o.k.
I feel I am worried about nothing so I will see about a new hard drive first and worry about an OS later.
Thanks for your time, you are always very helpful.

take care
Don W
EDIT I just noticed my signature and the other machine has the same stats. ???
« Last Edit: September 17, 2013, 12:45:35 pm by donwatson »
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5      500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2013, 10:24:25 pm »
Hi Mark,
Can you please explain how to put the PeppermintOS4 iso on to a USB stick using a Linux machine ?

take care
Don W
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5      500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13193
  • Karma: 321
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2013, 10:41:55 pm »
OK, provided you're using an Ubuntu based distro .. I've added it to the Peppermint 4 tutorial .. you'll find it at the end of this posting:
http://linuxforums.org.uk/index.php?topic=11109.msg87330#msg87330
(I could have sworn I'd already added it .. maybe my mind is going)

If you're using a non-Ubuntu based distro .. let me know and I'll post how to use Unetbootin to create the LiveUSB.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2013, 02:52:37 pm »
Thanks Mark,
I will be downloading to this Peppermint 3 system

take care
Don W
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5      500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13193
  • Karma: 321
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2013, 03:12:04 pm »
Yeah, that'll work in Peppermint 3 :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2013, 06:25:04 pm »
Mark,
I had a look at the pendrive installer and there are 4 different options on the page to download the programme.
I chose the first one and it offered to put on all sorts of toolbars etc. I called a halt there as this was put me off Windross.
I don't want a lot of stuff put on the machine.
The Peppermint iso has downloaded as Peppermint .iso.torrent.
So, how do I get a clean USB installer, will the extras be easily removed ? and will the >torrent be ok .

take care
Don W
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5      500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13193
  • Karma: 321
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2013, 06:29:07 pm »
What download page ? .. I thought you were using startup disk creator in Peppermint 3 ?

you don't want the torrent .. tell me which version you want and I'll post a direct link to the ISO image.
(do you want Peppermint 4 32bit ?)



[EDIT]

EVERYTHING that follows should be done on your Peppermint 3 box

Download this file (Peppermint 4 32bit ISO image):
http://peppermintos.info/32/Peppermint-4-20130611-i386.iso

Now make sure you have usb-creator-gtk installed, by opening a terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T) and running:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install usb-creator-gtk
once that command finishes, close the terminal.

Plug in the USB stick you want to use..

now in your menus go to -

menu > System Tools > Startup Disk Creator

Here's what to expect -



I've found it's usually best to let it format the USB stick first, so in the bottom pane select your USB stick, and hit the "Erase Disk" button, and enter your password if prompted.

Once the format is done, in the top pane, select the ISO image you want to create the LiveUSB stick from (if it's not already there, browse to it by clicking the "Other" button)

If you want the LiveUSB to be persistent (ie. able to save changes), make sure "Store in reserved extra space" is selected, and use the slider to adjust the size of the persistence file (the amount of room set aside for saving changes).

Click the "Make Startup Disk" button.

You'll be prompted for your password a couple of times before it tells you the LiveUSB has been created and is ready for use.

--
« Last Edit: September 18, 2013, 06:40:21 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #9 on: September 18, 2013, 06:57:47 pm »
 :-[OOOPPSS :-[

Mark,
I have spent over 3hrs downloading the iso and when it finished it said an error occcured and the file couldn't be saved, try downloading again.

Can I buy a disc ?

take care
Don W

« Last Edit: September 18, 2013, 09:19:24 pm by donwatson »
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5      500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13193
  • Karma: 321
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #10 on: September 18, 2013, 10:00:57 pm »
I think you can, but would it help if I uploaded an ISO to my dropbox so you can download it from there ?

As I think the disks (or USB sticks) come from the US, so may take some time.

[EDIT]

Apparently VPS.NET are having problems tonight (and they host the Peppermint downloads).

I've uploaded it to my dropbox, here:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/31525164/Peppermint-4-20130611-i386.iso

MD5 hash (md5sum) =
2cf35d9bc09bde12ff3e1e08e1e3c01c

[EDIT]

VPS.NET seems OK today .. so you could try downloading directly from the Peppermint homepage again if you'd prefer:
http://peppermintos.info/32/Peppermint-4-20130611-i386.iso

If you'd still rather buy a Disk or USB stick .. see here:
http://peppermintos.com/store/

--
« Last Edit: September 19, 2013, 03:03:06 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #11 on: September 26, 2013, 09:04:35 pm »
Hi Mark,
Thanks for all the help.
I have finally got round to using the Windross computer that was giving me grief.
I used the instructions for ' Downloading the PeppermintOS (Four) ISO image (to a Windows PC) and writing it to the USB stick ' that you supplied for the Acer machine.
After clicking on the Try Peppermint line Peppermint 4 opened with the big red screen, and I opened Chrome and logged on here.
Again thanks for the help I will now go and follow the rest of the instructions and see what happens.

take care
Don W
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5      500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13193
  • Karma: 321
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #12 on: September 26, 2013, 09:21:12 pm »
Glad you got it working :)

Don't follow ALL the instructions in that tutorial .. some of it is Aspire One Zg5 specific.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #13 on: September 26, 2013, 09:52:25 pm »
Hi Mark,
I am back on the linux machine to get the instruction stages 1 to 7 (and the line from 8)
My Caps Lock and Scroll Lock lights started flashing madly and the mouse froze.
I had to turn the machine off at the plug for a couple of minutes.
It seems to have restarted ok so I will go and get that info.
Thanks again.

take care
Don W
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5      500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13193
  • Karma: 321
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #14 on: September 26, 2013, 10:13:00 pm »
caps and. scroll lock is a kernel panic... if it does that again we'll have to figure out why.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal