Author Topic: (SOLVED) Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop  (Read 3387 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #15 on: September 27, 2013, 12:21:57 am »
Hi Mark,
I have put Peppermint 4 on this machine now ( the machine with Windross that was running at a snails pace) and used the whole partition, overwriting Windross XP.
I have carried out the instructions up to stage 7 but I have not yet setup Java.
This machine is running slowly and I may have brought over the bug that was affecting the other OS from running.
I will start again in the morning and see what happens

take care
Don W
PS I think there is something in memory. If so I will bin this computer.
EDIT Can I change the default screen size ? the pages are all opening on my desktop, and I have to enlarge to full screen ?
PPS I don't know where the smiley came from at the end (it cut off the end) of the first line in my last post
« Last Edit: September 27, 2013, 12:31:30 am by donwatson »
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #16 on: September 27, 2013, 10:36:52 am »
Hi Mark,
I started this machine this morning and was presented with the same problems I had running XP.
It took over 4 minutes staring at a blank screen before the post BIOS message came up.
At the end of the info. screen a message came up 'looking for drives'.
It is looking for a SATA RAID array.
When I press 'Tab' it displays
VIA Tech. VT8237 SATA RAID BIOS VER 2.1
 There is a lot more on the screen but I can't navigate round it as no keys seem t work.

I am at a loss here and it looks as if Windross was ok but the BIOS is playing up.
Sorry to be such bother, I will go and see what I can find on this problem.

take care
Don W
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13568
  • Karma: 337
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #17 on: September 27, 2013, 10:55:42 am »
Can you get into the BIOS ?

if so, turn RAID off

If not, are you using a USB, or PS/2 keyboard ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2013, 12:15:34 pm »
Hi Mark,
I am using a Genius wireless keyboard and mouse.
I will shut down and reboot to access the BIOS setup

take care
Don W
Hi,
I have rebooted and at the end of the post BIOS screen it says
Scan Devices Please Wait :
Press Tab :
Serial_CH0 Master No Drive
Serial_CH1 Master No Drive

When I press Tab, it takes me to this

Via Tech. VT8237 SATA RAID BIOS VER2.01
The screen has a lot of info but the top left section is grayed out
>Create
>Delete
>Select
>Boot
>Serial No.

On the top right it has
F1: View Array/Disk Status
Up and Down arrows: Move to next Item
Enter: Confirm
Esc: Exit
The only option that works here is Esc
This asks 'Are you sure you want to exit the utility'
I have to take the 'Y' option as 'N' leaves me in limbo

take care
Don W
« Last Edit: September 27, 2013, 12:48:06 pm by donwatson »
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13568
  • Karma: 337
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #19 on: September 27, 2013, 03:22:18 pm »
You didn't say if you were able to access the BIOS ?

What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
inxi -F
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #20 on: September 27, 2013, 05:27:46 pm »
Hi Mark,
How do you mean access the BIOS, is that physically ?

The output is here

Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1499
  • Karma: 119
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #21 on: September 27, 2013, 09:47:06 pm »
Quote
It took over 4 minutes staring at a blank screen before the post BIOS message came up.

That can only be tackled from the BIOS regardless of the OS. Have you re-set the BIOS recently?

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13568
  • Karma: 337
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #22 on: September 27, 2013, 11:39:55 pm »
OK, when you turn on your PC do you pretty much immediately get a message saying something like -
"Hit Del" to enter setup"
or
"F2 to enter BIOS"
or
"Esc = CMOS"

or something similar ?

If not .. try this (desktops "usually" use the Del key to enter the BIOS) .. Turn OFF your PC .. Turn it back on, and IMMEDIATELY start tapping the Del key.

Does your PC enter the BIOS ?

If you're still having problems accessing the BIOS .. can you post your motherboard make/model.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #23 on: September 28, 2013, 10:11:21 am »
Hi Mark,
When I turned the computer on this morning there was a blank screen for almost 6 minutes before the message came up that there was a NVidia video card fitted.
This was followed by the screen that allows access to the BIOS.
This says to hit 'DEL' to enter Bios. I can enter the BIOS setup screens from here.
It then starts up the OS

This is an ASUS A8V Motherboard with K8T800 Pro Chipset
Hope this helps.

take care
Don W
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #24 on: September 28, 2013, 04:52:31 pm »
Hi Sezo,
I have not accessed the BIOS knowingly, that is I never hit the Del key to access it.

take care
Don W
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1499
  • Karma: 119
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #25 on: September 28, 2013, 05:13:27 pm »
What I meant is - has the BIOS been reset to defaults. This could happen if your cmos battery is on the blink.

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #26 on: September 28, 2013, 10:23:10 pm »
Hi SeZo,
I replaced the battery 2 days ago.
Have I done something to upset the BIOS ?

take care
Don W
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1499
  • Karma: 119
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #27 on: September 28, 2013, 10:49:07 pm »
Yeah, that should do it.
The BIOS reads information from the CMOS chip when the computer is starting up, during the boot up process.
So if you have removed the CMOS battery then all saved settings would have got lost.
You need to enter the BIOS and re-set those settings again.

Offline donwatson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #28 on: September 29, 2013, 09:33:47 am »
Hi SeZo,
As this is not really a Linux problem I will have a look on the 'net and see what I can find.
Thanks for your help, and thank you too Mark.

take care
Don W
PS I have an installation manual that came with the motherboard so I will start there.
PPS I have the manual and the motherboard installation disc but they will only work in Windows XP :'( :'(
« Last Edit: September 29, 2013, 11:31:39 am by donwatson »
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 5    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1499
  • Karma: 119
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Peppermint OS4 on a home built desktop
« Reply #29 on: September 29, 2013, 12:01:32 pm »
No problem. Let us know if you got it sorted (or need any help with it)
The manual should contain a section on setting up the BIOS (irrespective of the OS).
You could check out this manual for A8V-X and see if it matches your mobo, where (for example) on page 2-24 you can enable/disable raid

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal