Author Topic: Docky Docking (SOLVED)  (Read 4770 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2688
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Docky Docking
« Reply #30 on: October 06, 2013, 10:31:11 pm »
Not rushing you Mark but here's the graphics info you can deal with it at your leisure

My PC
Code: [Select]
graeme@Linux1 ~ $ sudo lshw -C display
[sudo] password for graeme:
  *-display               
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics Controller
       vendor: Intel Corporation
       physical id: 2
       bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
       version: 02
       width: 32 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: msi pm vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
       configuration: driver=i915 latency=0
       resources: irq:16 memory:fe880000-fe8fffff ioport:dc00(size=8) memory:d0000000-dfffffff memory:fe840000-fe87ffff
graeme@Linux1 ~ $

Chloes PC

Code: [Select]
chloe@Linux3 ~ $ sudo lshw -C display
[sudo] password for chloe:
  *-display               
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: RV280 [Radeon 9200 PRO]
       vendor: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI
       physical id: 0
       bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
       version: 01
       width: 32 bits
       clock: 66MHz
       capabilities: agp agp-3.0 pm vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
       configuration: driver=radeon latency=32 mingnt=8
       resources: irq:16 memory:d0000000-dfffffff ioport:d000(size=256) memory:e9000000-e900ffff memory:e8000000-e801ffff
chloe@Linux3 ~ $


« Last Edit: October 06, 2013, 10:35:59 pm by Emegra »
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14055
  • Karma: 348
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Docky Docking
« Reply #31 on: October 06, 2013, 10:44:17 pm »
OK, I'm using the i915 driver currently .. so it's unlikely to be a driver issue .. that's one thing ruled out :)

Just gotta track down what my netbook has installed that yours doesn't .. I've a few ideas, but pointless speculating.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Tramlink

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 689
  • Karma: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • Is the mist clearing
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Docky Docking
« Reply #32 on: October 07, 2013, 04:13:31 pm »
I tried 15 desktop icons and they all worked with drag and drop.

Is this a 32 or 64 bit system......

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14055
  • Karma: 348
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Docky Docking
« Reply #33 on: October 07, 2013, 04:17:49 pm »
Are you using any weird theme on anything ?

or are you using any non standard compositor settings, etc.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Tramlink

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 689
  • Karma: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • Is the mist clearing
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Docky Docking
« Reply #34 on: October 07, 2013, 04:30:04 pm »
Maybe it is something to do with SSB icons.  I move 8 icons from the desktop to Docky with no problems.

Could it have something to do with composting.  I know that if this is not running on your computer then some aspects of Docky do not work.

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14055
  • Karma: 348
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Docky Docking
« Reply #35 on: October 07, 2013, 05:05:58 pm »
I'm guessing Emegra has compositing switch on in Window Manager Tweaks .. otherwise Docky looks horrible.

I can't for the life of me reproduce this

You've probably already tried this, but just in case ..

Drag an icon to docky, but before releasing it, move it to a different position in docky .. THEN release it .. does it stick ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2688
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Docky Docking
« Reply #36 on: October 07, 2013, 05:32:45 pm »
Quote
Is this a 32 or 64 bit system.....

I'm having this issue with 2 PC's both 32 bit running PM4

Quote
Are you using any weird theme on anything ?or are you using any non standard compositor settings, etc.

I am using a non stock theme on my PC (alba cloud) that I downloaded from gnomelook.org but It's just a stock theme on Chloe's PC

Quote
Drag an icon to docky, but before releasing it, move it to a different position in docky .. THEN release it .. does it stick ?

I've tried many variations but I'll try what you suggest when I get home from work

Quote
I'm guessing Emegra has compositing switch on in Window Manager Tweaks .. otherwise Docky looks horrible

Yeah I'm certain I have compositing switched on both PC's it's definately switched on my PC I know that because I use Cairo Dock on that PC and it needs composoting for transparency etc, and I can drag and drop into Cairo Dock no problem.

Would it tell us anything if I switched compositing off and tried that ?


Many thanks


Graeme
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14055
  • Karma: 348
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Docky Docking
« Reply #37 on: October 07, 2013, 06:46:12 pm »
When you drag an icon to docky .. do the icons already on docky seperate to alllow you room to drop it ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2688
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Docky Docking
« Reply #38 on: October 07, 2013, 07:19:05 pm »
Quote
When you drag an icon to docky .. do the icons already on docky seperate to alllow you room to drop it ?

Yes and a small message pops up saying "drop to add to dock"
« Last Edit: October 07, 2013, 07:20:46 pm by Emegra »
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2688
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Docky Docking
« Reply #39 on: October 07, 2013, 07:40:00 pm »
I don't understand why no one else is having this issue and I'm having it on 2 PC's so here's a short video to show I'm not losing my marbles

http://videobin.org/+6yh/8pd.html   :)
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14055
  • Karma: 348
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Docky Docking
« Reply #40 on: October 07, 2013, 08:28:34 pm »
Are you using a custom theme in docky ? .. non on the themes I have, have that half height black bar behind the icons ?

[EDIT]

And for christ sake, next time change the wallpaper, or at least gimme a warning ;)

--
« Last Edit: October 07, 2013, 08:32:25 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2688
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Docky Docking
« Reply #41 on: October 07, 2013, 08:44:38 pm »
Quote
And for christ sake, next time change the wallpaper, or at least gimme a warning

Sorry mate what can I say :)
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2688
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Docky Docking
« Reply #42 on: October 07, 2013, 08:47:22 pm »
Quote
Are you using a custom theme in docky ?

I only using the stock themes available in Docky I've tried each of them one at a time in panel mode, non panel mode, 3D background 2D background I've run out of options
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2688
  • Karma: 54
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Docky Docking
« Reply #43 on: October 07, 2013, 09:04:48 pm »
Just as a test I installed Docky on my wifes PC also running PM4 and it's doing exactly the same, however I have an installation of Linux Lite that I haven't used in ages and I installed Docky on that and it works perfectly





Graeme
« Last Edit: October 07, 2013, 09:24:52 pm by Emegra »
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14055
  • Karma: 348
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Docky Docking
« Reply #44 on: October 07, 2013, 10:19:29 pm »
OK, this is now OFFICIALLY weird .. if nobody else is having this issue (and if they were it would have come up on the Peppermint forum), we have to try work out what YOUR PC's have running on them that everyone else's doesn't

If you run:
Code: [Select]
ps aux > ~/ps_aux.txt

can you attach the ps_aux.txt file from your home folder to your next posting.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal