Author Topic: Corrupt fstab  (Read 1583 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13978
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Corrupt fstab
« Reply #15 on: October 22, 2013, 12:47:43 pm »
Quote
too fast to copy, then it shows the screen as mentioned above.

What screen mentioned above ?

Are you saying when you select "Ubuntu 12.04" at the GRUB menu, it actually boots (Ubuntu 12.04 (recovery mode)) instead ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1620
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Corrupt fstab
« Reply #16 on: October 22, 2013, 01:39:41 pm »
Yes, some kind of recovery mode, one where there's a colourful menu, GUI style.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-68-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13978
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Corrupt fstab
« Reply #17 on: October 22, 2013, 03:01:37 pm »
In the OS that controls GRUB .. what's the contents of:
Code: [Select]
gedit /boot/grub/grub.cfg
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1620
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Corrupt fstab
« Reply #18 on: October 22, 2013, 03:42:16 pm »
Code: [Select]
kate /boot/grub/grub.cfg
(click to show/hide)

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-68-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13978
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Corrupt fstab
« Reply #19 on: October 22, 2013, 04:22:38 pm »
1) What is listed and in what order at the GRUB menu ?

2) What is the output from:
Code: [Select]
sudo blkid

3) Which partition is the broken Ubuntu on ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1620
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Corrupt fstab
« Reply #20 on: October 22, 2013, 05:21:57 pm »
Code: [Select]
sudo blkid
/dev/sda1: LABEL="12.04Boot" UUID="86fe3809-17a6-412c-be0a-250f6f29fa41" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda2: UUID="03b9f227-9f5c-4abc-a50b-74ecc1590f44" TYPE="swap"
/dev/sdb1: LABEL="Drive3" UUID="1e72a175-851f-43c3-a251-241d0e3800a7" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdc1: LABEL="Ubuntu 12.04TLS" UUID="201d2f3e-f865-4912-b852-99b5b24f3457" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdc2: UUID="718377f7-8759-44ad-888d-e0fb3f91c5e4" TYPE="swap"
/dev/sdc5: LABEL="Ubuntu 12.04LTS" UUID="bcb8b27e-dd9e-4c09-a259-48cf4f937c9e" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdc6: LABEL="Manjaro" UUID="954eee59-c8c3-465e-adb6-892a44e673be" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdd1: LABEL="Drive1" UUID="d5e1db61-b980-4624-801c-e0546b288b8f" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdf1: LABEL="EXT-01" UUID="9472C6BD72C6A37A" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sdg1: LABEL="EXT-02" UUID="3E9E5F1B0F3E4B8D" TYPE="ntfs"

The problem is with sda1, my original install of Ububtu12.04

From memory, the grub listing is;
Kubuntu
Original 12.04
Other 12.04

The Manjaro drive is blank as when I tried to install it the first time it screwed up the grub, so I have not yet attempted to install it again.

« Last Edit: October 22, 2013, 07:32:39 pm by pooky2483 »

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-68-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13978
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Corrupt fstab
« Reply #21 on: October 22, 2013, 09:33:34 pm »
Are you SURE you're selecting the GRUB menu entry called:-

Ubuntu, with Linux 3.2.0-53-generic (on /dev/sda1)

and NOT

Ubuntu, with Linux 3.2.0-53-generic (recovery mode) (on /dev/sda1)

?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1620
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Corrupt fstab
« Reply #22 on: October 22, 2013, 09:52:39 pm »
That's a good point. How can I tell?
I'm looking in
12.04Boot/etc/fstab
Where is the other one?

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-68-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13978
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Corrupt fstab
« Reply #23 on: October 22, 2013, 09:54:57 pm »
When you turn ON your PC, and are offered the GRUB menu .. are you selecting the option

Ubuntu, with Linux 3.2.0-53-generic (on /dev/sda1)

and NOT

Ubuntu, with Linux 3.2.0-53-generic (recovery mode) (on /dev/sda1)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1620
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Corrupt fstab
« Reply #24 on: October 22, 2013, 10:13:54 pm »
The first one.
Are you saying there's TWO fstab's? If so, where are they? I know where one is,where's the other?

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-68-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13978
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Corrupt fstab
« Reply #25 on: October 22, 2013, 10:17:52 pm »
No .. dunno where you got that from ???

Anywho .. GRUB entries *look* correct.

So you'll have to explain better EXACTLY what you're seeing when you boot:-

Ubuntu, with Linux 3.2.0-53-generic (on /dev/sda1)

from the GRUB menu
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 756
  • Karma: 26
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Corrupt fstab
« Reply #26 on: October 23, 2013, 12:34:21 pm »
The first one.
Are you saying there's TWO fstab's? If so, where are they? I know where one is,where's the other?

There are - one per distro. Think about it - you've got multiple /home partitions, one for each distro, so you must have multiple fstabs in order to mount them properly

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1620
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Corrupt fstab
« Reply #27 on: October 23, 2013, 03:48:08 pm »
I know that, what I was on about was, are there two fstab's per distro, one for normal operation and another for the recovery mode.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-68-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13978
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Corrupt fstab
« Reply #28 on: October 23, 2013, 04:43:40 pm »
ONE fstab file per OS .. both normal and recovery options use the same one.

Now that's out of the way, do you want to answer my other question ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal