Author Topic: Sky Broadband/Linux (Solved)  (Read 1413 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Jocklad

  • Guest
Sky Broadband/Linux (Solved)
« on: January 08, 2014, 03:13:20 pm »
 Thinking of ditching my 3G dongle and having Sky Broadband installed.

 Will a Sky router work on Linux.....?

 Jocklad
« Last Edit: January 08, 2014, 04:22:58 pm by Jocklad »

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
  • Karma: 55
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Sky Broadband/Linux
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2014, 03:21:14 pm »
Hi Jocklad

Quote
Will a Sky router work on Linux.....

Can't see any reason why not as far as I'm aware routers are not OS dependent, routers should work with any OS






Graeme

If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Jocklad

  • Guest
Re: Sky Broadband/Linux
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2014, 03:27:03 pm »

 Thanks Graeme.

 Was thinking about wireless drivers ect.

 Jocklad

Offline Cortezz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Switched to Linux fully and not looked back!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Sky Broadband/Linux
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2014, 03:48:44 pm »
I'm on sky broadband and only run linux, works for me ;)
Cortezz

Online Emegra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
  • Karma: 55
  • Gender: Male
  • Devilishly Handsome
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Sky Broadband/Linux
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2014, 03:58:39 pm »
Quote
Was thinking about wireless drivers ect.

That's not really anything to do with the router you only connect to the router not install it

If you post the output of

Code: [Select]
lshw -c network

we can see if you have any wireless adaptors installed and we can take it from there


Graeme
« Last Edit: January 08, 2014, 07:22:39 pm by Emegra »
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs, then you're not quite grasping the situation

Jocklad

  • Guest
Re: Sky Broadband/Linux
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2014, 04:00:42 pm »
 Thanks Cortezz.

 Will get installation ordered.

 Jocklad  :) :)

Jocklad

  • Guest
Re: Sky Broadband/Linux
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2014, 04:07:36 pm »
Quote
Was thinking about wireless drivers ect.

That's not really anything to do with the router you only connect to the router not install it

If you post the out put of

Code: [Select]
lshw -c network

we can see if you have any wireless adaptors installed and we can take it from there

.......................................

Think we are ok to go here.

Was just Sky was not sure about.

Thanks Guys.

Jocklad



Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14304
  • Karma: 356
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Sky Broadband/Linux (Solved)
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2014, 08:15:33 pm »
I too am on Sky broadband.

But realistically ANY broadband should work with Linux.

The router uses 802.11(x) standard for wireless communication .. so as long as the wireless card you choose works with Linux it should communicate with the router.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Jocklad

  • Guest
Re: Sky Broadband/Linux (Solved)
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2014, 08:59:58 pm »

 Thanks Mark. ;D
 

Offline Mad Penguin

  • #Mad_Penguin_UK
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
  • Karma: 10017
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Linux in the UK
    • Awards
Re: Sky Broadband/Linux (Solved)
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2014, 12:49:46 am »
What sort of speed do you get with Sky??

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14304
  • Karma: 356
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Sky Broadband/Linux (Solved)
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2014, 01:17:33 am »


That's obviously over copper :)
« Last Edit: January 17, 2014, 01:24:56 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Mad Penguin

  • #Mad_Penguin_UK
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
  • Karma: 10017
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Linux in the UK
    • Awards
Re: Sky Broadband/Linux (Solved)
« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2014, 04:32:56 pm »
Ok, this is BT .. it's slowed down a lot in the last year ...  >:(




Offline Cortezz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Switched to Linux fully and not looked back!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Sky Broadband/Linux (Solved)
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2014, 04:43:55 pm »
My download speed at home (on sky) only ever really gets to 1.3Mbps. I want optics :) ... But they don't do it for my area so I can't unfortunately :(
Cortezz

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal