Author Topic: Using LCD TV as a monitor  (Read 2920 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13984
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Using LCD TV as a monitor
« Reply #30 on: April 29, 2014, 07:51:15 am »
What happens if you run:
Code: [Select]
nvidia-settings
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13984
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Using LCD TV as a monitor
« Reply #31 on: April 29, 2014, 09:03:54 am »
First see my last posting .. nvidia-settings might have what you need .. if not, see below



If 1920 x 1080 fits the screen, you could try changing the DPI setting to make the fonts larger

Create a file in your home folder called .Xresources
Code: [Select]
gedit ~/.Xresources
and make it read:
Code: [Select]
Xft.dpi: 125
Xft.antialias: true
Xft.rgba: rgb
Xft.hinting: true
Xft.hintstyle: hintslight
SAVE the file.

Log off/on to test.

Changing the number 125 should change the font size .. (96 is default).

Deleting that file and logging off/on will bring you back to defaults.



If this is Peppermint, you can change the icon size in File Manager > Edit > Preferences > Display

and panel size by right-clicking the panel, selecting Panel Settings > Geometry > Size

--
« Last Edit: April 29, 2014, 09:06:41 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Toonman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 893
  • Karma: 15
  • Freeing the World form the Microsoft scurge!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Using LCD TV as a monitor
« Reply #32 on: April 30, 2014, 06:43:05 am »
Hi Mark.

The Nvidia settings offered very little and unfortunately after following your instructions the font size hasn't changed.

Mint 16, but may switch back to peppermint when 5 comes out.
Life is for living.  RIP Keith Floyd.   ;)

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13984
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Using LCD TV as a monitor
« Reply #33 on: April 30, 2014, 11:12:02 am »
What's the contents of your
Code: [Select]
gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
?

Are you sure they didn't change, just not by much ? .. did you try a higher number, I dunno say 200.

Remember if anything goes wrong, booting from a LiveCD/LiveUSB then removing that file from your home folder will fix things .. so feel free to experiment with that number in .Xresources

--
« Last Edit: April 30, 2014, 11:15:01 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Toonman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 893
  • Karma: 15
  • Freeing the World form the Microsoft scurge!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Using LCD TV as a monitor
« Reply #34 on: May 01, 2014, 01:31:04 pm »
Working away for a couple of days will try when I get back.

I did try 200 and 250 and wasn't any differnt Mark.
Life is for living.  RIP Keith Floyd.   ;)

Offline Toonman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 893
  • Karma: 15
  • Freeing the World form the Microsoft scurge!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Using LCD TV as a monitor
« Reply #35 on: May 03, 2014, 07:40:38 am »
Here are the contents.

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 304.88  (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-06)  Wed Mar 27 15:32:58 PDT 2013


Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
Life is for living.  RIP Keith Floyd.   ;)

Offline Toonman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 893
  • Karma: 15
  • Freeing the World form the Microsoft scurge!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Using LCD TV as a monitor
« Reply #36 on: May 05, 2014, 09:01:09 am »
Re-visited the VGA option and took out graphics card to see why it would not work.  The connector was not fully pressed into socket.  it now works OK.  I'll wait and see what happens when I install PM5 in a few weeks.

Thanks for your help.   :)
Life is for living.  RIP Keith Floyd.   ;)

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13984
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Using LCD TV as a monitor
« Reply #37 on: May 06, 2014, 08:54:10 am »
Is there no DPI adjustment in nvidia-settings ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Toonman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 893
  • Karma: 15
  • Freeing the World form the Microsoft scurge!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Using LCD TV as a monitor
« Reply #38 on: May 08, 2014, 07:14:54 am »
Yes there are DPI settings in there Mark. All seems OK now (cross fingers).   :)

When I install PM5 soon I assume that there should be no problems.

Thanks
Adam
Life is for living.  RIP Keith Floyd.   ;)

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13984
  • Karma: 347
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Using LCD TV as a monitor
« Reply #39 on: May 08, 2014, 10:20:28 am »
Well I hope not :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline Contra

  • Make It Happen
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Taller than a person who is only 6'0"
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Using LCD TV as a monitor
« Reply #40 on: May 08, 2014, 03:30:58 pm »
I use a 40 inch Toshiba 1080 at native resolution, and it looks great
Ubuntu 13.10 32 bit, and other junk in my black cube

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal