Author Topic: New Netbook - Opinions on Linux for a newbie?  (Read 5835 times)

Offline Malkaiah

• Dragon
  • Shadow Wolf Writing
    • View Profile
    • Awards
New Netbook - Opinions on Linux for a newbie?
« on: December 19, 2010, 07:23:03 pm »
Hi all!

I've recently bought myself a new Netbook.  Packard Bell dot s2.  It came with Windows 7 Starter pre-installed, but after using it for a while (and having used Windows all my computing life) I'm wanting to change to Linux.

So my main questions are:

Considering the specs (listed below), would it be possible to install Linux on my Netbook?  Obviously I'd want to wipe all trace of Windoze from my system.

As I've never used Linux before, what distribution of Linux would be best for me to use?  I'm mainly going to be using the Netbook for word processing (I'm a Writer and it's better to write with than my laptop/PC).  And not even internet browsing.  I already use OpenOffice.org so no problem with using that.

Thanks in advance!

Processor: Intel Atom Processor N450
Memory: 1GB
Graphics: Integrated GMA 3150
« Last Edit: December 19, 2010, 07:54:49 pm by Malkaiah »
"May your dreams take flight on the wings of a dragon."

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

• Administrator
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: New Netbook - Opinions on Linux for a newbie?
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2010, 08:24:00 pm »
I can't seem to find a definitive answer to how well the intel GMA 3150 graphics card is supported in Linux, past some references to the drivers working (with 3D support) on kernels 2.6.33 onwards.

It WILL work on earlier kernels for what you want, but won't give full 3D support for games etc.