Author Topic: Finally got around to networking the house  (Read 18119 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1623
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #195 on: August 07, 2012, 07:02:29 pm »
Ahh .. YES then .. the mounts and bootloader are all sorted now.

Many thanks for the help, it looks very complicated, what was done.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-70-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1623
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #196 on: August 28, 2013, 10:06:50 pm »
I've installed the Kubuntu desktop and for some reason I now, when I use the XboX to view the films on my PC  I can't see them.
I have given the XboX (wired) a fixed IP address of 192.168.1.203.

Ushare.conf
(click to show/hide)

This is a list of ushare -x in terminal. Could the reason the XboX is not seeing the files be 'UPnP MediaServer listening' being assigned a different port number than what is in the above config file? Why is it not assigning it the one in the config file?

(click to show/hide)

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-70-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 123
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #197 on: August 28, 2013, 10:21:11 pm »
Does this give you any clue?
Quote
root@pooky2483-ubuntu12:/home/pooky2483/Documents# ushare -x
Interface eth0 is down.
Recheck uShare's configuration and try again !

Try:
Code: [Select]
ip link
That should give you which network adapter you are using.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2013, 10:31:37 pm by SeZo »

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1623
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #198 on: August 28, 2013, 10:39:50 pm »
root@pooky2483-ubuntu12:/home/pooky2483/Documents# ip link
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:24:8c:bc:10:83 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: virbr0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN
    link/ether 46:63:1d:e8:93:ed brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
root@pooky2483-ubuntu12:/home/pooky2483/Documents#

'Interface eth0 is down'

That's a bug in the programming or something as it says that all the time as it has done in the past but still works, ask Mark about it and he'll say it's nothing to worry about.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-70-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: 123
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #199 on: August 28, 2013, 10:52:48 pm »
OK. Can you ping your Xbox from Kubuntu?
Where and how do you set the fixed IP addresses?
You need to set your DHCP pool on your router, then set each PC to a fixed address outside of that pool.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1623
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #200 on: August 28, 2013, 11:11:25 pm »
OK. Can you ping your Xbox from Kubuntu?
Where and how do you set the fixed IP addresses?

On the XboX itself

Quote
You need to set your DHCP pool on your router, then set each PC to a fixed address outside of that pool.

Already done, a couple of days ago. DHCP pool 192.168.1.2-200 so static IP's are 192.168.1.201-255

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-70-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1623
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #201 on: August 28, 2013, 11:13:56 pm »
Unable to give you a result on the Xbox ping, I'll be able to do it later.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-70-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1623
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #202 on: September 09, 2013, 09:07:42 pm »
Sorted it, jumped over to the Netgear forum and got it sorted, I had to set up a port forwarding rule for each XboX.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-70-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1623
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #203 on: October 05, 2013, 01:52:17 pm »
Correction on my last post... It's NOT working.

When I type:
Code: [Select]
sudo kate /etc/ushare.conf
I get
[sudo] password for pooky2483:
QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.
Error: "/var/tmp/kdecache-pooky2483" is owned by uid 1000 instead of uid 0.
Error: "/tmp/kde-pooky2483" is owned by uid 1000 instead of uid 0.
Error: "/tmp/ksocket-pooky2483" is owned by uid 1000 instead of uid 0.
kdeinit4: Shutting down running client.
Connecting to deprecated signal QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QString,QString,QString)
Error: "/tmp/ksocket-pooky2483" is owned by uid 1000 instead of uid 0.
Error: "/tmp/kde-pooky2483" is owned by uid 1000 instead of uid 0.
QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.
QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.
Error: "/var/tmp/kdecache-pooky2483" is owned by uid 1000 instead of uid 0.
kbuildsycoca4 running...
Error: "/var/tmp/kdecache-pooky2483" is owned by uid 1000 instead of uid 0.
Error: "/var/tmp/kdecache-pooky2483" is owned by uid 1000 instead of uid 0.
Error: "/tmp/kde-pooky2483" is owned by uid 1000 instead of uid 0.

Why is this and how can I correct it.
I am unable to share my content to either of my XboX's.
I have even given them static IP's - Front Room XboX is 192.168.1.203 and the Bedroom is 192.168.1.205
The Kubuntu PC static IP is 192.168.1.201

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-70-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14297
  • Karma: 355
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #204 on: October 05, 2013, 02:48:24 pm »
Dunno what the problem with Ushare is, but those error messages (from what I'm reading) can be safely ignored.

I take it the file IS opened ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1623
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #205 on: October 05, 2013, 03:00:15 pm »
I take it the file IS opened ?

Don't quite get what you mean there?

Also, I'm sure I installed Samba (if that's needed?) and how can I check it's working, if that's possible?

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-70-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1623
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #206 on: October 05, 2013, 03:01:15 pm »
I'm thinking it's a problem with the router but don't know how to fix it!!!

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-70-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14297
  • Karma: 355
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #207 on: October 05, 2013, 03:57:41 pm »
Quote
Don't quite get what you mean there?
When you ran the command that gave you all those errors .. I take it the file DID open for editing in kate ?

Quote
Also, I'm sure I installed Samba (if that's needed?) and how can I check it's working, if that's possible?
Code: [Select]
service smbd status

Quote
I'm thinking it's a problem with the router but don't know how to fix it!!!
so which ports did you forward through the router, and where to ?
I'm noty convinced anything needs forwarding .. though if you're running a firewall on the Kubuntu box, you may have to open some ports.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1623
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #208 on: October 05, 2013, 05:06:00 pm »
When you ran the command that gave you all those errors .. I take it the file DID open for editing in kate ?

Yes

Quote
Also, I'm sure I installed Samba (if that's needed?) and how can I check it's working, if that's possible?
Code: [Select]
service smbd status

pooky2483@pooky2483-ubuntu12:~$ service smbd status
smbd start/running, process 956
pooky2483@pooky2483-ubuntu12:~$

Quote
I'm noty convinced anything needs forwarding .. though if you're running a firewall on the Kubuntu box, you may have to open some ports.

I've forwarded it through port(s) 49200 - 49210. As sometimes ushare does not start back using port 49200 but increases the port number.
And I do NOT have a firewall running in Kubuntu, ONLY the router firewall.

Kubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.13.2|QT 4.8.6|Linux 3.2.0-70-generic|M3A76-CM|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|Realtek RTL8168C(P)|8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC|NVIDIA 128MB GeForce6200 Turbocache|8.0GB Single-Channel DDR2|

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14297
  • Karma: 355
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #209 on: October 05, 2013, 05:16:44 pm »
OK, what's the contents of your ushare.conf



I'm still not sure you need those firewall rules in your router AT ALL .. the routers firewall stands between the local network and the internet .. not between PC's on the local network.

and you still don't say WHERE the rules forward the ports to ?

My guess is you've forwarded those ports from the internet to your Kubuntu box (or Xboxes) .. so are now blocking ushare.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'

logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal