The Linux Community Forum

Support => General Help & Advice => Topic started by: freddie on December 07, 2012, 05:10:48 pm

Title: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem - SORTED
Post by: freddie on December 07, 2012, 05:10:48 pm
A word of exlanation for those new to this thread...

My Acer running Linpus would not automatically connect to my replacement BT Homewhub via WPA or WEP, and I had to delete the SSID and reenter the password EVERY time before I could get online  >:(

The solution we discovered was to DISABLE BT-FON and BT-Wifi (which I had not realised are factory set 'enabled' these days)

After that, all was well.

You may read on if you want to, but it was a rather long story...

-----

My original email...

Hello Mark

Afraid I am still using Linpus. I keep bidding for another netbook on eBay to try Peppermint on, but keep getting outbid!

Anyway, my Acer connects fine to my Homehub using WEP.

The problem is when I switch to WPA...
I put in the 10 char wireless key and it works fine.
BUT when I next power up, it won't connect, and when I look at the settings the key has bloated to 20-30 (or more) characters!
I key in the correct key and I connect OK, but it is just a bit of a pain having to keep keying it in.

Am I doing something wrong?
Or is it a fault?
Have you any ideas?

Hope you can help

Thanks in advance
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: SeZo on December 07, 2012, 05:28:39 pm
Quote
BUT when I next power up, it won't connect, and when I look at the settings the key has bloated to 20-30 (or more) characters!
I key in the correct key and I connect OK, but it is just a bit of a pain having to keep keying it in.

It looks like you already had a saved password for that connection.

See i you could you try and delete the connection, then reboot.
When it tries to connect to your WPA connection. then key in the password, but do not save it at this time.
See if it connects. If OK then reboot, key in the password and the save it.
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: freddie on December 08, 2012, 09:44:40 am
Thanks for the suggestion. Maybe I wasn't clear, but that is what I have been doing.

The saved password just gets bloated to something very very long, so it can't connect next time
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on December 08, 2012, 07:25:45 pm
Can you open a terminal and send the output from:
Code: [Select]
lsmod | grep ath
and
Code: [Select]
sudo lshw -C network

Can you also explain the procedure you used for deleting the network profiles.

.
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: freddie on December 08, 2012, 08:49:32 pm
Thanks for getting back to me Mark.

I delete the profile using Connection Manager
- I select the network by clicking on it, and then click the Delete option there.

I am not clear when you want me to do the Terminal actions
- before I connect?, or
- when I connect successfully?, or
- when I can't connect?
- or all 3?

Actually there is a problem with the last command
- code select doesn't work
- when I put it in by hand it says lshw command not found
Am I doing something wrong?
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on December 08, 2012, 09:04:41 pm
Have you tried deleting ALL network connections (as both user and root) from the command line, then setting up your connection again ?

You can delete all network connections (as root) with:
Code: [Select]
sudo gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /system/networking

Then as user with:
Code: [Select]
gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /system/networking
BE AWARE .. those commands will clear ALL network settings, so you'll have to set up wireless again.

Those commands MUST be done from a terminal, NOT the "Run" dialog.

.
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: freddie on December 08, 2012, 11:55:56 pm
Sorry Mark. Can't do that - I have some 15 networks on here and I can't rebuild them all!
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on December 09, 2012, 02:04:02 am
No need to be sorry, but I don't think it's possible to fix this without clearing the network profiles as both user and root .. to tell the truth, I can't guarantee that would fix it anyway but it's the logical next step.
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: freddie on December 09, 2012, 05:46:47 am
Mark - Do you never sleep? (says me, getting up at 5.30am)

Thinking about this, I have been having a problem with a connection in London, and looking at the profile it is my only other password protected WPA network, and yes - you guessed, the password has got bloated to 20-30 (or more) characters.

I guess it may be a system fault

Can you explain what you mean by 'as both user and root'?
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on December 09, 2012, 09:28:20 am
Heh .. Yes I sleep .. but then I'm not known for getting up at 5:30 on a Sunday (or any other) morning ;)

Reading online suggests Linpus Lite may have a problem with WPA/WPA2 "Enterprise" (RADIUS) .. but should be fine with WPA/WPA2 "Personal" (No RADIUS Server).

[EDIT]

Ooops .. nearly missed the question at the bottom.

Network connections can be created in/by a normal "user" account, but they can also be created in/by the "root" (administrator) account .. the connection information is stored in different places for these 2 account types, and I can't remember where (in  Linpus Lite).

The commands I mention will delete them BOTH.

.
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: freddie on December 09, 2012, 10:51:13 am
Thanks Mark

Yes, I have Googled and see the issues now - I had only searched this site for solutions.

I will give your suggestion a spin and get back later today

The setting on my BT Homehub 3 that I have had problems with is: WPA & WPA2 (Recommended)

The others are:
WPA2 only
WPA only
WEP (64/40 bits) - which works fine!
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: freddie on December 10, 2012, 01:58:15 pm
No progress I am afraid.
Whatever I set the Homehub to (except WEP) the result is the same - stored password gets bloated on reboot
And even creating a new network via Connection Manager leads to the same conclusion.

Maybe I will pluck up the courage to wipe the data as you suggest, but that will really muck me up as I have no record of any of the passwords :-(

Easier to go back to WEP I think!
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: freddie on December 10, 2012, 03:01:25 pm
Mark
Afraid it just got worse - it now wouldn't autoconnect with WEP.
So I deleted all network connections as you suggested and started again.
Sadly still no autoconnect with either WEP or WPA, and that bloated stored password again.
Please don't tell me to reload the system - that's what Windows people do! ;-)
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on December 10, 2012, 04:32:42 pm
You may have no other option  ..

Normally I'd say reinstall the NetworkManager, and wpa_supplicant .. but as the software repos are now closed for Linpus Lite, I don't think you'll be able to do this.

A reinstall will *probably* fix it .. INSTALLING PEPPERMINT will definitely fix it ;)

Other than that I don't think I can offer much more help .. I can't even remember how to install/uninstall software through the Linpus Lite GUI, and as I've said before Linpus Lite refuses to load in a virtual machine, so I have no way of testing it without doing a full install myself .. and I aint overwriting Peppermint for anyone ;)
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: freddie on December 13, 2012, 11:02:03 am
Mark

You are not going to believe this....!

I borrowed a friend's BT Homehub 3 and got online using WPA with my Linpus Acer after entering the password.

I then disconnected and looked at the stored password - the usual mega string of *s
Reconnected again OK (without having to enter the password again)

I then turned off my Acer
Reconnected again OK (without having to enter the password again)

Went back to WEP and did the same sequence - no problems

I then unearthed my old CnM out and it couldn't even connect to my BT Homehub 3 with either protocol - although it was happy with my friend's hub

So it must be something to do with my BT Homehub 3 - but my wife's laptop has no problems connecting to it.

The settings of both Homehubs look the same. I wonder what is going on?
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on December 13, 2012, 05:16:58 pm
Is there a setting in the HomeHub 3 for which type of encryption to use ?

eg.

WPA2 (TKIP)
and/or
WPA2 (AES)

?

if you can't find anything .. send the output from:
Code: [Select]
iwlist scanning
Hopefully it will be able to see both your and your neighbours routers .. and we can see if the encryption type is the same.
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: freddie on December 14, 2012, 06:39:47 am
Thanks Mark - an interesting tool - will experiment and get back to you

The BT Homehub Router has auto 'smart' channel selection to avoid clashes (ho ho)
- seems to work in that it selects different channel to neighbours

The BT Homehub 3 Router settings are:
- WPA&WPA2 (recommended)
- WPA2 only
- WPA only
- WEP
- none

Wireless interface settings:
- 802.11 b/g/n (recommended)
- 802.11 n 40Mhz
- 802.11 b/g
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on December 14, 2012, 11:33:02 am
Nothing in the Homhub settings the mentions "TKIP" or "AES" ?

In my Sky router, when I select WPA/WPA2 it then has an option to set the WPA Encryption type .. options are:-

AES
TKIP+AES

Nothing like that in the Homehub ?



Anyway, I'm using AES, which iwconfig shows as:-

Group Cipher : CCMP
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: freddie on December 14, 2012, 11:57:51 am
Sorry - no.
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on December 14, 2012, 01:00:59 pm
Check if when you run "iwlist scanning" there's any difference between the

Group Cipher :
and
Pairwise Cypher:
and
Authentication Suites:

Lines for your router, and your neighbours.

Or post the output here .. the output doesn't contain any keys ;)

.
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: freddie on December 17, 2012, 07:59:55 am
Mark

Thanks for your help on this

I attach the output from the BT Homehub that I can connect to automatically., and also the one I cannot connect to automatically.

The thing that stands out is that my homehub now has BTFON etc. I dunno if that affects matters or how it got there and I can't get rid of it  - it seems I have to contact BT and it might take a month   :( :( >:( >:(
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on December 17, 2012, 03:08:39 pm
Have you tried this .. in the non-working homehub try turning off "smart channel selection" and set channel 6

those BT-FON/BT-WiFi thingies are where your router is acting as a hotspot for others .. BT decided to implement this as an opt-out service .. so to disable it, you're supposed to follow the instructions here:
http://btsupport.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/12958 (http://btsupport.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/12958)

It *may* help .. it may not.

Or you could get another router.

Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: SeZo on December 17, 2012, 09:06:54 pm
So just to get this right, BT is piggybacking their FREE BT-FON/BT-WiFi onto their unsuspecting customers (wich is using up their bandwith?) :o
Should that not be kinda risky for peeps. When the knock on the door comes, would they say "it was not me sir, it was my Homehub" :-\
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on December 18, 2012, 12:38:09 am
Yup, that's exactly what I'm saying .. and so are they (if you know to look, that is):
http://btsupport.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/10992 (http://btsupport.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/10992)

Not knowing the full way it works, it will be interesting to see if it could ever be used as a legal defence, as the BT-FON/BT-WiFi connection appears to have the same MAC address as the "private" part of the connection.
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: freddie on December 18, 2012, 06:22:11 am
SeZo
Yes, you are right about eating up your bandwidth, but BT claim it doesn't affect your data allowance (a measely 10Gig).
Also they claim you will be protected from that dreaded knock on the door, but I dunno how!

Mark
I had already tried all the recommended channels with no success, and yes I had already tried to opt out, but they say they need 48 hours (can you believe it)
Will be back when I get this sorted. BTW I forgot to say this was a replacement hub, but BT hubs do have a reputation for being c**p! Maybe another replacment needed
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on December 18, 2012, 09:16:42 am
Just a thought freddie .. can you send the output from:
Code: [Select]
lsmod
and
Code: [Select]
modinfo ath5k

Also are you absolutely sure that when you set "WPA2 only" in the homehub it doesn't then ask you what type of encryption AES or TKIP ?

.
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: freddie on December 18, 2012, 02:29:07 pm
Yipee!
Finally got BT to turn off their BT-FON/BT-WiFi on my router and I can now connect automatically with WPA (YES!!!)
What a waste of space BT are....
BTW did I say they took EIGHT WEEKS to fix our phone line (yes!!!)

Mark
When I  set "WPA2 only" in the homehub it doesn't  ask what type of encryption
The first I heard of  AES or TKIP was when yiu asked - and then on the outputs.
Attached the outputs you asked for

Thanks for all your help.
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on December 18, 2012, 03:52:28 pm
Ahh .. thanks for the output, but who cares now if it's working :)

I would add though that Linpus Lite is obviously using much older (and different) driver(s) than those Peppermint uses .. our neighbour used to have a BT homehub 2 & 3 that i could connect to without issue with Peppermint.

I'm not trying to sell Peppermint .. just sayin ;)
Title: Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem - SORTED
Post by: freddie on December 19, 2012, 06:50:55 am
Yeah Mark. I know.

I accept that Peppermint is the way ahead (as you constantly remind me  ;)), but I need a spare netbook to set it up on because I can't live without my Linpus Acer - it is in constant use for general email and browsing - it is so handy to carry round and fast to get online.

I have a spare Acer I was using for Win7 but it has developed a mega h/w problem and I just need the time to strip it down and see what it is - I suspect the expansion memory is faulty - but that as they say is another story.

Anyway, thanks for all your support!

May I take this opportunity of wishing you and everyone else on here a relaxed and Happy Christmas and a preposterous New Year  ;)
- try taking some time offline!
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal