The Linux Community Forum

Support => General Help & Advice => Topic started by: anette on January 21, 2013, 05:10:55 pm

Title: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 21, 2013, 05:10:55 pm
Thanks for reading!!.I am not good at pc so I beg you to forgive my way of expressing myself on computers.I use 10.04 (lucid) kerne linux 2.6.32-45 generic Gnome.
 2.30.2
The problem: The Pc turns up as usually.I see my desk,my docs and and it goes to the net. I am able to surf (i using this pc to write now) but the rest is no responding.NADA.The process line, opening the docs even turning de pc off do no work.The green light of the HD is no flicking so the hd is no spinning.
What shall I do?.There is no safe mode as in windows as I read somewhere.Thanks in advance for your time and patient.Anette
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on January 21, 2013, 05:16:03 pm
Hi anette, and welcome to the forum :)

When you boot your PC to the desktop are you able to open a terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T) ?
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 22, 2013, 10:14:50 am
Mark,
Thanks for your reply.Yes,I can open the terminal using Ctr+alt+T.Anette
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on January 22, 2013, 11:42:55 am
Open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo touch /forcefsck

You willl be prompted for your password, but when you enter it nothing will be echoed to screen (not even ******) but the password is going in, so just type the password and hit enter.

Once you've done that .. REBOOT.

During booting, the system should run a file system check.

Let us know if this corrected the issue or not.
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 22, 2013, 10:46:07 pm
Mark,
Nothing happened.Tried several times.Anette
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on January 22, 2013, 11:15:06 pm
OK .. Can you list what doesn't work.
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 23, 2013, 11:46:44 am
Mark,
The PC starts as usually.It shows the docs and folders I have on my desk.It connects to the web and I can surf.And that,s all!!.
The command line where the icon (batteries,skype,net,on and off bottom) and the docs on the desk are no responding.Neither do programs,system,firefox and help icons. I can see them but they do not respond to anything.Nada.
The command lines on firefox don't work so every time that I surf i have to open a new bowser.(book marks works). There`s no noise or funny klicking from the HD.It looks like I  have been looked out from the the pc.
Using skype,I can chat but no use the "phone".
Is there anything you would like me to check?. Thaks Mark.Anette
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on January 23, 2013, 12:34:51 pm
You could look in Disk Utilities SMART data fro your hard drive to see if there are any errors .. you can start Disk Utility from the terminal (Ctrl+ALt+T) by running:
Code: [Select]
palimpsest

But I'm more inclined to think this is a user config issue in your home directory somewhere .. can you add a new user account, and test if everything works in there.

To add a new user account ..

Open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
users-admin
In the window that appears, hit the Add button (you wil be prompted for your password) .. in the next Window, give the Account a name and username, then click OK .. in the next window, set a password by hand but DO NOT tick "don't ask for password at login", click OK.

Back in the original "Users Settings" window .. click Change next to "Account Type", and change it to Administrator.

Now close "Users Settings" .. and log off .. you should be offered the new account at the login screen, log on as the new user and tell me if everything works in that account.
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: SeZo on January 23, 2013, 05:54:16 pm
There is another option, it is possible that the filesystem had errors, and went into read-only state because of it.
You could test it it in Terminal (Ctrl+ALt+T) (and post the output):
Code: [Select]
touch foo.txt
If that gives a response like
touch:  cannot touch `foo.txt':  Read-only file system
then it is confirmed.
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 23, 2013, 06:08:30 pm
Mark,
I did as you wrote :I created a new account, and after several on and off I could log on as a new administrator.I created a new doc and I was able to save on my desk.
How can I recover all my docs,videos and folder created under my old account? Is it possible?
Can I access to skype from my new account?.I don`t see the icon on the process line.

Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 23, 2013, 06:13:10 pm
Hello SeZo,
Thanks for your time.
I did as you wrote but nothing happened after writing the command. It just asking me to write again.
Should the terminal "answer" something else?.
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: SeZo on January 23, 2013, 08:55:56 pm
Quote
Should the terminal "answer" something else?.

No, if the command run successfully, then nothing would have been returned.

However just to make certain that in fact it created the "foo.txt" file in your home directory:
Code: [Select]
ls | grep .txt
That would be lowercase L

On the other hand , as Mark intimated, it might be a permission problem on your account.
to check what groups you belong to (on both accounts) type in the terminal:
Code: [Select]
groups
This shold return the list of groups you belong to.

Also you could try to start a fresh with say Firefox, by renaming the .mozilla directory in your home folder
(it will be re created automatically when firefox starts up)
Code: [Select]
mv ~/.mozilla ~/.mozilla.back
Restart Firefox and see if you can use it properly.
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on January 23, 2013, 09:41:36 pm
Mark,
I did as you wrote :I created a new account, and after several on and off I could log on as a new administrator.I created a new doc and I was able to save on my desk.
How can I recover all my docs,videos and folder created under my old account? Is it possible?
Can I access to skype from my new account?.I don`t see the icon on the process line.

Isn't Skype in the menus ?
Applications>Internet>Skype

Can you open a terminal and send the output from:
Code: [Select]
ls /home
so I can see what your user accounts are called .. can you also indicate which is the old account and which is the new account.
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 24, 2013, 11:06:41 am
SeZo,
the terminal shows :

gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ ls | grep .txt
C:\nppdf32Log\debuglog.txt
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ groups
gustavo59 adm dialout fax cdrom floppy tape dip video plugdev fuse lpadmin admin sambashare

I have not tried firefox  "trick" yet.
Thanks:Anette

Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 24, 2013, 11:08:36 am
Mark,
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ ls /home
gustavo59  hanne

hanne:         it is the old one
gustavo59: it is the new one
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 24, 2013, 11:19:59 am
Mark,
Yes, skype is on the application panel.
What I ment, it was how I could use Skype from my "old account" because I had tanked some money for connecting to land lines. I guess I have to tank again on my new one.
Thanks. Anette
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on January 24, 2013, 11:55:02 am
As far as I'm aware if you log into Skype using the old username and password, any money you've paid should still be there.

If not, let me know and we'll try moving the old .Skype directory to the new account and see what happens.



Firefox bookmarks etc.

Whilst logged onto the gustavo59 account and with Firefox CLOSED, open a terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T) and run:
Code: [Select]
mv -v ~/.mozilla ~/.mozilla-old
then:
Code: [Select]
cp -vr /home/hanne/.mozilla ~/.mozilla

Now open Firefox .. are al your bookmarks etc. now in the new account ?



To copy any other documents etc. .. it will probably be easier to copy these through the file manager (nautilus)

Open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
nautilus /home/hanne
A file manager window will open in the OLD home directory .. copy whatever you want from there to the new home directory .. but ONLY from the Documents, Downloads, Music, Video, etc. directories .. in other words DO NOT copy anything (file or folder) that starts with a "."



Can you also whilst logged onto the new gustavo59 account, send the output from:
Code: [Select]
groups
so I can check the new account is in the sudo group.

.
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 24, 2013, 11:11:35 pm
Mark,
Here is the terminal to firefox :

gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ mv -v ~/.mozilla ~/.mozilla-old
'/home/gustavo59/.mozilla' -> '/home/gustavo59/.mozilla-old/.mozilla'
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ cp -vr /home/hanne/.mozilla ~/.mozilla
'/home/hanne/.mozilla' -> '/home/gustavo59/.mozilla'
cp: kan ikke tilgå '/home/hanne/.mozilla': Adgang nægtet     ( DENIED LOG IN)

It has NOT been allowed.

Here is the terminal to groups:

gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ groups
gustavo59 adm dialout fax cdrom floppy tape dip video plugdev fuse lpadmin admin sambashare

About skype,it worked fine. I could log with my username and pasword and everything was there.

When the pc is turn on, what shall I do to log onto my new account (gustavo59)?
Wil be okay to delete the old account once I copy all my data in the new directory?
Many thanks Mark
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on January 24, 2013, 11:57:16 pm
OK, first you need to add the gustavo59 account to the sudo group ..

Log into the old account (hanne), open a terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T) and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo usermod -aG sudo gustavo59

Then log off, and log back on as gustavo59 .. now (WITH FIREFOX CLOSED) run:
Code: [Select]
mv -v /home/gustavo59/.mozilla /home/gustavo59/.mozilla-old2
then
Code: [Select]
sudo cp -vr /home/hanne/.mozilla /home/gustavo59/.mozilla
then
Code: [Select]
sudo chown -R gustavo59:gustavo59 /home/gustavo59/.mozilla

Now check if Firefox has your bookmarks etc.



Quote
When the pc is turn on, what shall I do to log onto my new account (gustavo59)?

Why .. does it automatically log you into the hanne account ?

Quote
Wil be okay to delete the old account once I copy all my data in the new directory?

YES .. but DO NOT delete it until you're 100% SURE that the gustavo59 account is a member of the sudo group

Here's 2 way to check gustavo59 is a member of the sudo group:-

1) run:
Code: [Select]
groups gustavo59
is sudo in the list ?

2) Whilst logged on as gustavo59 .. open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo gedit /opt/sudo-test.txt
SAVE that file and run:
Code: [Select]
nautilus /opt
is there a file called sudo-test.txt in the file manager that just opened ?
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 26, 2013, 09:40:03 am
Thanks Mark,
Before proceeding on to the next step, I tried to copy the docs and folder onto a extern HD. Coping the docs was pain free but  i was not able to copy the folders with small videos (very shorts). Neither could be copied one at the time.The message is: "there is no enough place on the disk. (which is no true and i tried 2 hd to be sure)".
Another thing that I encounter it was that the system did not react as it happened when i logged onto using my old account name. I had to reboot several times.
How do I solve the problem with the folders?.
Thanks Mark and have a nice week end.Anette

Note: i tried to post this message and the pc hanged again


Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on January 26, 2013, 10:02:52 am
Firstly, did you manage to add the gustavo59 to the sudo group ?

What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
groups gustavo59

And have you got an Ubuntu 10.04 LiveCD (or LiveUSB) ?

Also, with your external HDD plugged in, can you post the output from:
Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -l

and can you tell me where the videos are in the old home folder.
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 28, 2013, 10:52:04 am
Hello Mark,

The bookmarks in firefox worked fine!

This is the output of terminal:
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ groups gustavo59
gustavo59 : gustavo59 adm dialout fax cdrom floppy tape sudo dip video plugdev fuse lpadmin admin sambashare
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ sudo gedit /opt/sudo-test.txt
error: line 72922: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 107585: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 118041: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122327: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122464: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122464: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122513: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122550: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122550: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122619: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122619: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122629: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122629: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122657: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122657: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122678: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122678: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122679: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122679: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122704: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122704: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122707: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 122707: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141324: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141324: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141326: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141326: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141363: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141363: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141391: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141391: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141403: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141403: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141443: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141443: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141514: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141514: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141675: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 141675: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 150491: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 150491: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 150816: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 150816: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 150826: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 150826: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 150877: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 150878: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 150878: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 150892: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 150892: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 150919: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 150919: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 150988: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 150988: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151059: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151059: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151077: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151121: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151122: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151122: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151154: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151156: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151161: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151161: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151162: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151162: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151163: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151163: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151188: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151188: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151206: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151206: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151207: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151207: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151208: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151208: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151209: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151209: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151210: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151210: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151211: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151211: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151212: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151212: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151213: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151213: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151214: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151214: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151607: 0 is wrong flag id
error: line 151607: 0 is wrong flag id
As you see, there is something wrong and gustavo59 is a no member of the sudo group

When I turn on the pc,it does log me automatically into my old account (hanne) 

When logging into my new account ,on and off , I experience the same problem (nothing responds,just the network works) as I had with the old account (hanne).

I do not have Ubuntu 10.04 live CD (neither live)usb

here is the output of terminal
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ groups gustavo59
gustavo59 : gustavo59 adm dialout fax cdrom floppy tape sudo dip video plugdev fuse lpadmin admin sambashare
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$

gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ sudo fdisk -l
[sudo] password for gustavo59:

Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 Gb, 160041885696 byte
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylindre of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000bd741

    Enhed Opstart   Start         Slut     Blokke   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1       19087   153309184   83  Linux
/dev/sda2           19087       19458     2978817    5  Udvidet
/dev/sda5           19087       19458     2978816   82  Linux swap / Solaris
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$

The videos on my old account (hanne) are placed on my desk and on "home folders".

Thanks mark for your time.
Anette

Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 28, 2013, 10:56:54 am
Mark,
I turned  the pc off and on again and the output of terminal with the usb hd connected is:
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ sudo fdisk -l
[sudo] password for gustavo59:

Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 Gb, 160041885696 byte
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylindre of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000bd741

    Enhed Opstart   Start         Slut     Blokke   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1       19087   153309184   83  Linux
/dev/sda2           19087       19458     2978817    5  Udvidet
/dev/sda5           19087       19458     2978816   82  Linux swap / Solaris

Disk /dev/sdb: 160.0 Gb, 160041885696 byte
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylindre of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x9a4e397d

    Enhed Opstart   Start         Slut     Blokke   Id  System
/dev/sdb1               1       19457   156288321    7  HPFS/NTFS
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$

Thanks.Anette
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on January 28, 2013, 01:23:44 pm
I'm getting lost here ..

Are you saying the NEW account doesn't work correctly either now ?
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 28, 2013, 06:23:17 pm
mark,
Works fine but once in while, the process line does not respond.Neither do the on-off buttom so I have to shut down de pc using ctrl+alt+del.Anette
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: SeZo on January 28, 2013, 08:20:02 pm
mark,
Works fine but once in while, the process line does not respond.Neither do the on-off buttom so I have to shut down de pc using ctrl+alt+del.Anette

I still think it could be a filesystem error.
Could you post the output from the following (from Terminal):
Code: [Select]
cat /etc/fstab
then
Code: [Select]
df -h
then
Code: [Select]
free -m
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 29, 2013, 10:01:12 am
Thanks SeZo,
Here you are;

gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ cat /etc/fstab
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid -o value -s UUID' to print the universally unique identifier
# for a device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name
# devices that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
proc            /proc           proc    nodev,noexec,nosuid 0       0
# / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=1b61af08-7ca2-46a0-a131-fd9d23849881 /               ext4    errors=remount-ro,user_xattr 0       1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=9a19e52c-c718-42d1-b6fb-89cec84cbda9 none            swap    sw              0       0
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ df -h
Filsystem            Størr Brugt  Tilb Brug% Monteret på
/dev/sda1             144G   20G  118G  15% /
none                  493M  284K  493M   1% /dev
none                  497M  1,8M  495M   1% /dev/shm
none                  497M  300K  497M   1% /var/run
none                  497M     0  497M   0% /var/lock
none                  497M     0  497M   0% /lib/init/rw
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ free -m
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:           993        811        181          0         71        358
-/+ buffers/cache:        381        611
Swap:         2908          0       2908
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$

Regards,Anette
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on January 29, 2013, 01:00:27 pm
Try this again:
Code: [Select]
sudo touch /forcefsck
then run:
Code: [Select]
ls -a /
if forcefsck is listed in the output .. REBOOT .. a file system check will be run at bootup (you should see it running as text at the bottom of the bootup splash screen).

If the file system check still doesn't run you're going to need a LiveCD/LiveUSB (preferably the same version of Ubuntu).

Beyond that, it may be a good idea to start "Disk Utility", select your hard drive, and click the "SMART Data" button .. and see if there are any reported errors.
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 30, 2013, 11:01:23 am
Thanks Mark,
Here you have the input from terminal:
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ sudo touch /forcefsck
[sudo] password for gustavo59:
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$ ls -a /
.     cdrom      home            lib         opt   selinux  usr
..    dev        initrd.img      lost+found  proc  srv      var
bin   etc        initrd.img.old  media       root  sys      vmlinuz
boot  forcefsck  .kde            mnt         sbin  tmp      vmlinuz.old
gustavo59@Gus-laptop:~$

When I reboot, it goes back to my old account (hanne) and then I have to reboot again. There is not a text file, just ubuntu telling me that is doing some check (100 % in a seconds).

Everytime I shut down from my new account ,it logs into my old account (hanne).

Still I can not move/copy videos from my old account to the usb HD.(Docs no problems) .

I run disk utility and the output was OK.

Thanks again for your support.Anette
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on January 30, 2013, 12:02:29 pm
Quote
There is not a text file, just ubuntu telling me that is doing some check (100 % in a seconds).

That's the text I meant .. it ran fsck at bootup, that was the file system check running :)



OK, let's sort this autologin issue first .. then we'll get to the videos

1) Load the Gnome Administration utility by clicking on
System -> Administration -> Login Screen Settings

2) Unlock the window by hitting the "Unlock" button (you will be asked for your password)

3) Make sure "Log in as <<UserName>> automatically" is selected (and select gustavo59 from the drop-down list of users).

4) Click "Close".

Now reboot to test.

See here:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/AutoLogin
Be sure to read the entry for 10.04 ;)



The other option would be to disable Auto login .. so you "Show the screen for choosing who will log in"



Let me know if that works, and we'll move on to the videos :)

..
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on January 30, 2013, 12:46:47 pm
mark,
I did as you wrote and when I turn on the pc ,it logs onto my new account (gustavo59) but everything frozen(as happened when logging into Hanne)..even worse...the firefox frozen as well.In order to write now I have to log into Hanne (from gustavo 59) .I have to reverse the steps. 
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on January 30, 2013, 01:03:45 pm
OK, what happens if you disable autologin altogether .. so you have to choose the user from the login screen ?

BTW, have you burned an Ubuntu 10.04 LiveCD yet ? .. I think at this point it would be good to:-

a) test your RAM (Memtest86+)
and
b) to see if everything works from a LiveCD

..
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on February 01, 2013, 09:02:26 am
mark,
I disabled the auto log in. When logged onto Hanne account, i have to switch to gustavo59  in order to work with the pc.  When the pc starts, and  logged into  gustavo59 ;I have to switch onto Hanne account to run the pc. As you can see, the account logged into at first does not react and I have to log on to the other account to proceed .

I just DL ubuntu 10.04 ISO and I will burn it on to a disk aspa. Will it work from a usb dongle instead of burning on a disc (sometimes ago I couldn't burn docs as I remember)?
Thanks.Anette
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on February 01, 2013, 11:56:01 am
That's some weird problem ??? .. I'm seriously beginning to wonder if it would be quicker to just copy your docs/videos/firefox profile/etc. to an external drive .. then just reinstall.

Maybe even take this opportunity to move to a more recent version of Ubuntu .. or Mint (MATE) .. or PeppermintOS 3

I'm going to do a bit of research on reinstalling the login tools .. but we could be here forever trying to track down what the problem is .. I *would* ask you to post the logs, but I'm guessing they'd be in Danish (?) and fairly useless to me.



It may work from a USB stick depending on your PC .. some old PC's don't like booting from USB sticks.

Do you know how to burn the ISO image to a USB stick ?

--
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: anette on February 01, 2013, 06:36:31 pm
mark,
I will try to burn to the usb stick and on to a disc ,and see if it works.
In case of moving to a recent system, how would I solve the problem of moving video folders to an external hd?
Thanks,Anette
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: SeZo on February 01, 2013, 08:21:24 pm
Quote
In case of moving to a recent system, how would I solve the problem of moving video folders to an external hd?
You might be trying to copy files which are too big for the external HDD
To find out the file sizes in the videos contained in the video folders you can run (substituting the <path to Videos> with the correct path):
Code: [Select]
du -ach <path to Videos>
This should give you the sizes per file and for the directory containing it.
Please also see what space is available on the external HDD (must be plugged in first)
Code: [Select]
df -h
and look for /dev/sdb*
Title: Re: Did I get a virus or the HD is dead?
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on February 01, 2013, 09:17:42 pm
Quote
how would I solve the problem of moving video folders to an external hd?

If there's enough room, we'll try copying them from a root prompt .. or a file manager running with root permissions.

Have you got an external drive with enough space ?
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal