The Linux Community Forum

Support => General Help & Advice => Topic started by: Mel on October 06, 2017, 06:56:14 pm

Title: NO FLASH!- SOLVED BY AWESOME MARK!
Post by: Mel on October 06, 2017, 06:56:14 pm
This is Melissa- I'm on my Mint Dell inspiron mini and I have no flash! I can't log into my usual account as it is saved on my chromebook and the charger died for it. I am going crazy having no access to you tube or being able to use audacious to play oggs and mp3s. The firefox I had on here made me update it but now there is no flash,
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Mel on October 06, 2017, 06:57:44 pm
specs:

karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $ Code: Select all
Code:: command not found
karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System: Host: karij-Inspiron-1011 Kernel: 3.2.0-23-generic i686 (32 bit, gcc: 4.6.3)
Desktop: N/A Distro: Linux Mint 13 Maya
Machine: System: Dell (portable) product: Inspiron 1011 version: A06
Mobo: Dell model: CN0Y53 version: A06 Bios: Dell version: A06 date: 07/29/2009
CPU: Single core Intel Atom CPU N270 (-HT-) cache: 512 KB flags: (nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3) bmips: 3192.25
Clock Speeds: 1: 1600.00 MHz 2: 1600.00 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Mobile 945GSE Express Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1024x600@60.0hz
GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945GME x86/MMX/SSE2 GLX Version: 1.4 Mesa 8.0.4 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio: Card: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: 1.0.24
Network: Card-1: Broadcom BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY driver: wl bus-ID: 03:00.0
IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter>
Card-2: Realtek RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller
driver: r8169 ver: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 2000 bus-ID: 04:00.0
IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives: HDD Total Size: 168.1GB (17.6% used) 1: /dev/sda SAMSUNG_SSD_UM41 8.0GB
2: USB /dev/sdc OneTouch_III 160.0GB
Partition: ID: / size: 6.5G used: 4.6G (75%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 1.06GB used: 0.17GB (16%) fs: swap
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 51.0C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 139 Uptime: 4:58 Memory: 481.2/992.5MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.6.3 Client: Shell inxi: 1.7.33
karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on October 06, 2017, 07:18:50 pm
What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
dpkg -l | grep flash
?
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Mel on October 06, 2017, 08:01:57 pm
karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $ dpkg -l | grep flash
rc  adobe-flashplugin                      1:20170411.1-0ubuntu0.12.04.1           Adobe Flash Player plugin
rc  flashplugin-installer                  25.0.0.148ubuntu0.12.04.1               Adobe Flash Player plugin installer
ii  mint-flashplugin                       2016.12.14                              Metapackage for Adobe Flash plugin
ii  mint-flashplugin-10.2                  10.2.153.1                              Adobe Flash plugin 10.2
ii  mint-flashplugin-24                    25.0.0.127                              Adobe Flash plugin 24
karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $




Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Mel on October 06, 2017, 08:05:34 pm
Thanks Mark- see the output results above. I will be taking this netbook to the computer shop when I can afford it. I was told on a Mint forum that this netbook probably can't have the RAM added to, but we shall see..

I can't afford a new SSD foir it for awhile- would a new HD make a difference? It must have had one when it was new ( got this second hand) as it says 160GB hard drive on a sticker by the mouse panel.
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on October 06, 2017, 08:07:27 pm
Does running:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install adobe-flashplugin adobe-flash-properties-gtk
then closing ALL web browser instances, and reopening Firefox result in working flash ?
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Mel on October 06, 2017, 08:16:00 pm
No, it just endlessly buffers! I wish I hadn't updated the firefox I had on here, but when prompted I thought it might make the netbook faster- well it has only there is now no working flash.
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on October 06, 2017, 08:18:27 pm
run:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get remove --purge mint-flashplugin-24 mint-flashplugin-10.2 mint-flashplugin
then restart firefox

Any difference ?
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Mel on October 06, 2017, 08:35:16 pm
Nope, sad to say. Still buffering. They told me on the Mint forum my version of Mint is too old to be updated, but to get it back to the old firefox I couldn't understand the instructions.
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on October 06, 2017, 08:46:21 pm
In Firefox go to
about:plugins

Is there a section similar to this:-

Quote
Shockwave Flash

    File: libfreshwrapper-flashplayer.so
    Path: /usr/lib/browser-plugin-freshplayer-pepperflash/libfreshwrapper-flashplayer.so
    Version: 25.0.0.171
    State: Enabled
    Shockwave Flash 25.0 r0

If so, what does it say ?
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Melissa on October 06, 2017, 09:07:44 pm

Flash Player Plugin on Linux 26.0.0.131 and older (click-to-play) has been blocked for your protection.

Why was it blocked?
    Old versions of the Flash Player plugin have known vulnerabilities. All users are strongly recommended to check for updates on Adobe's Flash page.
Who is affected?
What does this mean?

    The problematic add-on or plugin will be automatically disabled and no longer usable.
    When Mozilla becomes aware of add-ons, plugins, or other third-party software that seriously compromises Firefox security, stability, or performance and meets certain criteria, the software may be blocked from general use. For more information, please read this support article.

Blocked on Aug 25, 2017. View block request.
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on October 06, 2017, 09:14:11 pm
In Firefox, go to
about:addons

Then select the "Plugins" tab on the left.

Now next to "Shockwave Flash" choose "Always Enabled" from the drop menu.

.
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Melissa on October 06, 2017, 09:31:05 pm
I already did that many times last night and it says to update it then takes me to that page I posted which says it can't be updated.
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on October 06, 2017, 09:33:24 pm
Run:
Code: [Select]
sudo updatedb
now what's the output from:
Code: [Select]
dpkg -l | grep firefox
and
Code: [Select]
locate libflash
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Melissa on October 06, 2017, 09:34:09 pm
Is there not another flash or browser that would work with my old version of Mint that is easily installed? I will get Peppermint 8 put on here at the computer shop when I can.
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!- SOLVED BY AWESOME MARK!
Post by: Melissa on October 06, 2017, 09:36:49 pm
karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $ sudo updatedb
[sudo] password for karij:
karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $ dpkg -l | grep firefox
ii  firefox                                52.0.2+build1-0ubuntu0.12.04.1          Safe and easy web browser from Mozilla
ii  firefox-gnome-support                  22.0+build2-0ubuntu0.12.04.2            Safe and easy web browser from Mozilla - GNOME support
ii  firefox-locale-en                      52.0.2+build1-0ubuntu0.12.04.1          English language pack for Firefox
karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $ locate libflash
/usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin/libflashplayer.so
/usr/lib/libreoffice/program/libflashlo.so
karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on October 06, 2017, 09:46:12 pm
No... there's no 32bit chrome any more, and chromium(or any other browser) will use the same flashplayer .. so if you wanna solve this you're gonna have to answer my questions I'm afraid.
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on October 06, 2017, 09:47:22 pm
Can you post the output from:
Code: [Select]
dpkg -l | grep adobe-flashplugin
and
Code: [Select]
cat /usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin/manifest.json | grep version
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Melissa on October 06, 2017, 09:57:53 pm
arij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $ kg -l | grep adobe-flashplugin
kg: command not found
karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $ cat /usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin/manifest.json | grep version
cat: /usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin/manifest.json: No such file or directory
karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Melissa on October 06, 2017, 09:59:25 pm
No... there's no 32bit chrome any more, and chromium(or any other browser) will use the same flashplayer .. so if you wanna solve this you're gonna have to answer my questions I'm afraid.

Huh yeah, found that out last night Mark when I tried to load Chromium! I remembered from a post a few months ago on here you mentioned that Chromium has its own built in flash.
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Melissa on October 06, 2017, 10:03:04 pm
I'm just going in the shower and putting my pjs on- will be back in a few mins Mark.
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on October 06, 2017, 10:05:52 pm
Okay try this, run these commands in sequence:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get remove --purge adobe-flashplugin adobe-flash-properties-gtk
then
Code: [Select]
mkdir ~/.mozilla/plugins
then
Code: [Select]
cd ~/.mozilla/plugins
then
Code: [Select]
wget https://fpdownload.adobe.com/get/flashplayer/pdc/27.0.0.130/flash_player_npapi_linux.i386.tar.gz
then
Code: [Select]
tar xvf flash_player_npapi_linux.i386.tar.gz
now restart firefox and test flash.
Title: Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
Post by: Melissa on October 06, 2017, 10:48:26 pm
YAY IT WORKS! THANK YOU VERY MUCH MARK!!! Now I can watch the rest of the 1936 Flash Gordon series I've been watching tomorrow he he.
Title: Re: NO FLASH!- SOLVED BY AWESOME MARK!
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on October 06, 2017, 10:57:08 pm
You're most welcome, glad I could help :)
Title: Re: NO FLASH!- SOLVED BY AWESOME MARK!
Post by: Melissa on October 06, 2017, 11:04:11 pm
Much appreciated Mark as I'm a big you tube user- they have so many vintage tv shows and cool docus on there. I hadn't seen Buster Crabbe's Flash Gordon since I was a child in the 1970s- I forgot he went about in tiny shorts lol.
Title: Re: NO FLASH!- SOLVED BY AWESOME MARK!
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on October 06, 2017, 11:15:21 pm
When men were men :)

[EDIT]

And shorts were in danger of proving it.
Title: Re: NO FLASH!- SOLVED BY AWESOME MARK!
Post by: Melissa on October 06, 2017, 11:35:47 pm
When men were men :)

[EDIT]

And shorts were in danger of proving it.

 ;D I get ya Mark LOL. What makes me laugh is the fact that back then the filming people were told that Princess Aura's dress was too provocative so they had to make it less revealing, but nobody seems to have said anything about a topless  Buster Crabbe in tight shorts shoveling coal into a furnace, sweatiing heavily and getting whipped as he shovelled LOL!
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal