The Linux Community Forum

The Forums => General Discussion => Topic started by: freelancehelp on November 15, 2017, 02:22:17 pm

Title: Bug in Chromium
Post by: freelancehelp on November 15, 2017, 02:22:17 pm
Can anyone please help with the following problem ?
Is there a work around ?

No response when clicking to get a drop down menu on various websites.

System : Jessie
Chromium : 57.0.2987.98 amd64
Title: Re: Bug in Chromium
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on November 15, 2017, 08:57:09 pm
Can you give us an example site ?

Have you tried...

a) clearing your browser chache and restarting Chromium ?
or
b) renaming your Chromium profile directory so a new one gets created .. be aware this will effectively set Chromium back to defaults so you'll loose save passwords/bookmarks/etc.
(but as long as you RENAME it rather than delete it, you can always undo this)
Title: Re: Bug in Chromium
Post by: freelancehelp on November 16, 2017, 02:12:45 pm
Many thanks for your suggestions, Mark.

I am a bit mystified, though, as to why you think these suggestions might help.

So I would be very grateful if you could explain a bit about the reasoning behind your suggestions.

Thanks.
Title: Re: Bug in Chromium
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on November 16, 2017, 06:09:53 pm
Well as far as I know nobody else is experiencing the same thing, and I'm assuming you haven't experienced it since you installed.

So that would suggest a corrupt profile.

a) as i said it's easy enough to test my theory, and can easily be reversed.
and
b) what makes you think it ISN'T a profile issue, and why are you against testing the theory ?

at the very least it should be the first thing to rule out.
Title: Re: Bug in Chromium
Post by: freelancehelp on November 17, 2017, 01:39:25 pm
 A similar problem with Chromium has been reported before :-

 https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=856573

 although the above bug was found in chromium-browser/56.0.2924.76-4 amd64  in a Debian 9.0 system,
 whereas I am reporting a problem in chromium 57.0.2987.98 amd64 in a Debian 8.0 (Jessie) system.

 The problem I am having has been present since Chromium was installed as part of the installation of Jessie.

 I have reported my problem to bugs.debian.org as a follow up to bug 856573, but have not heard back.

 
Title: Re: Bug in Chromium
Post by: Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) on November 17, 2017, 05:50:32 pm
Gonna be hard to troubleshoot this if you're not willing to try things ;)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal