Author Topic: [SOLVED] Unable to find root device  (Read 23464 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline glitch

  • digital jedi
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
  • Karma: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • age of the geek!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
[SOLVED] Unable to find root device
« on: June 01, 2012, 06:02:45 pm »
Hey guys

I've just got back from a course and powered my PC up.  After the GRUB menu it start loading up then suddenly;

Code: [Select]
Waiting 10 secs for device /dev/sda2 ...
ERROR: device '/dev/sda2' not found.  Skipping fsck.
ERROR: Unable to find root device '/dev/sda2'.
You are being dropped to a recovery shell
  Type 'exit' to try and continue booting
sh: can't access tty; job control turned off
[rootfs /]#

I tried typing 'exit' but the keyboard doesn't seem to be working.

I took the drive out and booted it through an external caddy on my laptop, I managed to type 'exit' but it still didn't work.

I managed to find this solution online but when I boot systemrescuecd and choose 'boot from first hard drive' the same error occurs.  There isn't an option on systemrescuecd to 'boot into installed linux'.

I'm trying to find another solution but so far the internet is firing blanks.  Any help from you guys would be appreciated.

Oh yeah, I'm running Arch.
« Last Edit: June 05, 2012, 10:58:18 am by glitch »
//glitch

END OF LINE_

@g1i7ch

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18231
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Unable to find root device
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2012, 06:18:27 pm »
Have you booted to a LiveCD/LiveUSB and checked the contents of /dev/sda2 are accessible ?

Have you booted to a LiveCD/LiveUSB and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo fsck /dev/sda2
? (be sure the partition isn't mounted)

If so, can you boot to a LiveCD/LiveUSB .. then run:
Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -l
and post the output.

can you also run:
Code: [Select]
sudo blkid
and post the output.

then can you post the contents of /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Question .. does Arch use GRUB legacy, or GRUB2 ?
« Last Edit: June 01, 2012, 06:24:49 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline glitch

  • digital jedi
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
  • Karma: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • age of the geek!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Unable to find root device
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2012, 06:59:42 pm »
Quote
Have you booted to a LiveCD/LiveUSB and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo fsck /dev/sda2
? (be sure the partition isn't mounted)

Code: [Select]
% fsck /dev/sda2
fsck from util-linux 2.20.1
e2fsck 1.42.3 (14-May-2012)
/dev/sda2: clean, 243737/6045696 files, 6589397/24178198 blocks


Quote
If so, can you boot to a LiveCD/LiveUSB .. then run:
Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -l
and post the output.

Code: [Select]
% fdisk -l

[output omitted]

Disk /dev/sda; 115.0 GB, 115032071680 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 13985 cylinders, total 224672015 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xd72482d3

    Device  Boot           Start               End           Blocks   Id    System
/dev/sda1                      63      31246424    15623181   83    Linux
/dev/sda2      *   31246425   224672014    96712795   83    Linux

[output omitted]


Quote
can you also run:
Code: [Select]
sudo blkid
and post the output.

Code: [Select]
% blkid
/dev/loop0: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/sdb1: LABEL="data_01" UUID="6EFE21B712CAEE3F" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sda1: UUID="3f1277d3-e29f-4130-a716-d536ff50a202" TYPE="swap"
/dev/sda2: UUID="df3ff109-97fc-404b-a9c1-8db12980a29d" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdc1: LABEL="data_02" UUID="2648C8CA6A5E3C08" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sdd1: UUID="853dfd2f-162d-489d-96d9-2bcc85af4269" TYPE="swap"
/dev/sdd2: UUID="001f212b-e777-40d3-ba7d-3a49d6469cf8" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sde1: LABEL="windows" UUID="3AA65BA2A65B5E07" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sr0: LABEL="sysrcd-2.7.1" TYPE="iso9660"


Quote
then can you post the contents of /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Question .. does Arch use GRUB legacy, or GRUB2 ?

Apologies, I'm using syslinux not grub.

Output of sda2: /boot/dev/syslinux.cfg
Code: [Select]
# Config file for Syslinux -
# /boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg
#
# Comboot modules:
#   * menu.c32 - provides a text menu
#   * vesamenu.c32 - provides a graphical menu
#   * chain.c32 - chainload MBRs, partition boot sectors, Windows bootloaders
#   * hdt.c32 - hardware detection tool
#   * reboot.c32 - reboots the system
#   * poweroff.com - shutdown the system
#
# To Use: Copy the respective files from /usr/lib/syslinux to /boot/syslinux.
# If /usr and /boot are on the same file system, symlink the files instead
# of copying them.
#
# If you do not use a menu, a 'boot:' prompt will be shown and the system
# will boot automatically after 5 seconds.
#
# Please review the wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Syslinux
# The wiki provides further configuration examples

DEFAULT arch
PROMPT 0        # Change to 1 if you do not want to use a menu
TIMEOUT 50
# You can create syslinux keymaps with the keytab-lilo tool
#KBDMAP de.ktl

# Menu Configuration
# Either menu.c32 or vesamenu32.c32 must be copied to /boot/syslinux
UI menu.c32
#UI vesamenu.c32

# Refer to http://syslinux.zytor.com/wiki/index.php/Doc/menu
MENU TITLE Arch Linux
#MENU BACKGROUND splash.png
MENU COLOR border       30;44   #40ffffff #a0000000 std
MENU COLOR title        1;36;44 #9033ccff #a0000000 std
MENU COLOR sel          7;37;40 #e0ffffff #20ffffff all
MENU COLOR unsel        37;44   #50ffffff #a0000000 std
MENU COLOR help         37;40   #c0ffffff #a0000000 std
MENU COLOR timeout_msg  37;40   #80ffffff #00000000 std
MENU COLOR timeout      1;37;40 #c0ffffff #00000000 std
MENU COLOR msg07        37;40   #90ffffff #a0000000 std
MENU COLOR tabmsg       31;40   #30ffffff #00000000 std

# boot sections follow
#
# TIP: If you want a 1024x768 framebuffer, add "vga=773" to your kernel line.
#
#-*

# (0) Arch Linux
LABEL arch
    MENU LABEL Arch Linux
    LINUX ../vmlinuz-linux
    APPEND root=/dev/sda2 ro
    INITRD ../initramfs-linux.img

# (1) Arch Linux Fallback
LABEL archfallback
    MENU LABEL Arch Linux Fallback
    LINUX ../vmlinuz-linux
    APPEND root=/dev/sda2 ro
    INITRD ../initramfs-linux-fallback.img

# (2) Windows
#LABEL windows
#COM32 chain.c32
#APPEND hd0 0

LABEL hdt
    MENU LABEL HDT (Hardware Detection Tool)
    COM32 hdt.c32

LABEL reboot
    MENU LABEL Reboot
    COM32 reboot.c32

LABEL off
    MENU LABEL Power Off
    COMBOOT poweroff.com

Cheers for the help.
//glitch

END OF LINE_

@g1i7ch

Offline BkS

  • BkS Media Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
  • Karma: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • sudo service reality-check start
    • View Profile
    • BkS Media
    • Awards
Re: Unable to find root device
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2012, 08:17:47 pm »
Sounds like someone's bootloader has screwed up. ::) Either that, or your filesystem has went and corrupted itself.

 Are you able to mount your drives when using a LiveCD?
If you try to look through Windows, you can see what the person is doing.
If you try to look through a Penguin, it WILL bite you.

Offline glitch

  • digital jedi
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
  • Karma: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • age of the geek!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Unable to find root device
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2012, 08:24:24 pm »
Yeah I can mount it fine and access them without any problems.  I thought it was corrupted at first as well but I don't think it is now.

I can't see any problems with the bootloader either.

Luckily I back everything up onto another hard drive, the one I normally use is my SSD.  I want to try and fix the problem first though instead of just giving up! :P
//glitch

END OF LINE_

@g1i7ch

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18231
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Unable to find root device
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2012, 08:34:09 pm »
OK, looks like this has been popping up in Arch quite a lot recently.

See posting 4 here:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=135288
for a possible fix

Similar in post 6 here, but with added stuff for people with seperate /boot partitions etc.
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1060681

[EDIT]

Don't ask me what those pcman commands are doing though ???

OK, this is helping it make sense (a bit)
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Mkinitcpio
« Last Edit: June 01, 2012, 08:54:30 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline glitch

  • digital jedi
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
  • Karma: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • age of the geek!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Unable to find root device
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2012, 09:34:14 pm »
See posting 4 here:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=135288
for a possible fix

Cheers Mark.  I ran through that solution, and everything else in that topic but I'm still not able to boot up.  It's the same error.
//glitch

END OF LINE_

@g1i7ch

Offline BkS

  • BkS Media Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
  • Karma: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • sudo service reality-check start
    • View Profile
    • BkS Media
    • Awards
Re: Unable to find root device
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2012, 10:18:07 pm »
The problem seems to be an update of colorizer.

So try removing /usr/bin/cw and then do:

Code: [Select]
sudo mkinitcpio -p linux


then

Code: [Select]
pacman -S linux

See bug report here
« Last Edit: June 01, 2012, 10:21:09 pm by BkS »
If you try to look through Windows, you can see what the person is doing.
If you try to look through a Penguin, it WILL bite you.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18231
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Unable to find root device
« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2012, 11:14:56 pm »
Oddly enough, if you follow some of the links is post 18 here:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1062638#p1062638

They seem to suggest a downgrade of mkinitcpio so that ties in well with BkS's bug link.

Others suggest downgrading BOTH mkinitcpio and the kernel .. but it may be that they didn't know which of those fixed the issue.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1832
  • Karma: 142
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Unable to find root device
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2012, 11:32:31 pm »
Quote
Apologies, I'm using syslinux not grub.

Would you consider replacing syslinux with grub2 to see if it makes any difference?
HowTo on installing GRUB2 From a linux live CD:
http://my.opera.com/nikbhardwaj/blog/show.dml/9678911
I have also read somewhere that changing boot order in bios can upset the actual booting sequence.

Offline glitch

  • digital jedi
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
  • Karma: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • age of the geek!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Unable to find root device
« Reply #10 on: June 01, 2012, 11:53:01 pm »
Cheers for the help guys.

I'm too tired to try anything now.  I'll try it again tomorrow and let you know how I get on.
//glitch

END OF LINE_

@g1i7ch

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18231
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Unable to find root device
« Reply #11 on: June 02, 2012, 12:04:46 am »
Okey dokey .. good luck :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline glitch

  • digital jedi
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
  • Karma: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • age of the geek!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Unable to find root device
« Reply #12 on: June 04, 2012, 10:47:49 pm »
SOLVED!

I was away all weekend, got roped into helping a friend move shops... friends eh!!

Anyway I managed to go through everything again.  It didn't seem to work the first time.

I had to run

Code: [Select]
pacman-key --init

before I could update the system properly but then I ran the following a second time

Code: [Select]
cd /mnt/arch
mount -t proc proc proc/
mount -t sysfs sys sys/
mount -o bind /dev dev/
chroot . /bin/bash
dhcpcd eth0
                      <-- [inserted pacman-key --init here]
pacman -Syy
pacman -Syu
pacman -S udev
pacman -S mkinitcpio
mkinitcpio -p linux
reboot

Source: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=135288&p=1

Thanks for all the help guys, glad I could get it sorted with out dragging out my backups!
//glitch

END OF LINE_

@g1i7ch

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18231
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Unable to find root device
« Reply #13 on: June 04, 2012, 11:58:54 pm »
So am I cause this pacman stuff is gibberish to me ;)
« Last Edit: June 05, 2012, 02:07:37 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline BkS

  • BkS Media Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
  • Karma: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • sudo service reality-check start
    • View Profile
    • BkS Media
    • Awards
Re: Unable to find root device
« Reply #14 on: June 05, 2012, 04:02:48 am »
This is why I stay firmly in my roots with Nautilus... XD
If you try to look through Windows, you can see what the person is doing.
If you try to look through a Penguin, it WILL bite you.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal