Author Topic: [SOLVED] Export/Import to Thunderbird  (Read 3983 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Export/Import to Thunderbird
« Reply #15 on: August 03, 2012, 05:14:21 pm »
just entered your last command, now rebooting.

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18231
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Export/Import to Thunderbird
« Reply #16 on: August 03, 2012, 05:15:35 pm »
OK, run:
Code: [Select]
sudo killall thunderbird
then
Code: [Select]
sudo chown -Rv pooky2483:pooky2483 ~/.thunderbird

Then try starting Thunderbird, and tell me what happens.

[EDIT]

This may not have worked if thunderbird was runnng .. we may have to start again .. let me know what happens when you restart thunderbird.

And you're getting ahead of me again .. where did I say reboot ?
« Last Edit: August 03, 2012, 05:18:10 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Export/Import to Thunderbird
« Reply #17 on: August 03, 2012, 05:18:00 pm »
Entered last command, rebooted, now got this;

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Export/Import to Thunderbird
« Reply #18 on: August 03, 2012, 05:18:48 pm »
Thunderbird started OK and I can see the e-mails.

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Export/Import to Thunderbird
« Reply #19 on: August 03, 2012, 05:20:39 pm »
OK, run:
Code: [Select]
sudo killall thunderbird
then
Code: [Select]
sudo chown -Rv pooky2483:pooky2483 ~/.thunderbird

Then try starting Thunderbird, and tell me what happens.

[EDIT]

This may not have worked if thunderbird was runnng .. we may have to start again .. let me know what happens when you restart thunderbird.

And you're getting ahead of me again .. where did I say reboot ?

When I say last command, I mean the one before this one

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18231
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Export/Import to Thunderbird
« Reply #20 on: August 03, 2012, 05:26:07 pm »
If thunderbird is working .. create a new topic for the HPLIP service status error .. and mention which desktop environment you're running Unity/Gome/Gnome (classic) etc.

Also mention if that was the first reboot after installing hplip-gui
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal