Author Topic: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem - SORTED  (Read 8718 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18236
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
« Reply #15 on: December 13, 2012, 05:16:58 pm »
Is there a setting in the HomeHub 3 for which type of encryption to use ?

eg.

WPA2 (TKIP)
and/or
WPA2 (AES)

?

if you can't find anything .. send the output from:
Code: [Select]
iwlist scanning
Hopefully it will be able to see both your and your neighbours routers .. and we can see if the encryption type is the same.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline freddie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Greybeard programmer but Linux virgin
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
« Reply #16 on: December 14, 2012, 06:39:47 am »
Thanks Mark - an interesting tool - will experiment and get back to you

The BT Homehub Router has auto 'smart' channel selection to avoid clashes (ho ho)
- seems to work in that it selects different channel to neighbours

The BT Homehub 3 Router settings are:
- WPA&WPA2 (recommended)
- WPA2 only
- WPA only
- WEP
- none

Wireless interface settings:
- 802.11 b/g/n (recommended)
- 802.11 n 40Mhz
- 802.11 b/g
AA1 with SSD. Running Peppermint 3 (formerly on Linpus). Really grateful to Mark for keeping me going!

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18236
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
« Reply #17 on: December 14, 2012, 11:33:02 am »
Nothing in the Homhub settings the mentions "TKIP" or "AES" ?

In my Sky router, when I select WPA/WPA2 it then has an option to set the WPA Encryption type .. options are:-

AES
TKIP+AES

Nothing like that in the Homehub ?



Anyway, I'm using AES, which iwconfig shows as:-

Group Cipher : CCMP
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline freddie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Greybeard programmer but Linux virgin
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
« Reply #18 on: December 14, 2012, 11:57:51 am »
Sorry - no.
AA1 with SSD. Running Peppermint 3 (formerly on Linpus). Really grateful to Mark for keeping me going!

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18236
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
« Reply #19 on: December 14, 2012, 01:00:59 pm »
Check if when you run "iwlist scanning" there's any difference between the

Group Cipher :
and
Pairwise Cypher:
and
Authentication Suites:

Lines for your router, and your neighbours.

Or post the output here .. the output doesn't contain any keys ;)

.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2012, 01:05:47 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline freddie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Greybeard programmer but Linux virgin
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
« Reply #20 on: December 17, 2012, 07:59:55 am »
Mark

Thanks for your help on this

I attach the output from the BT Homehub that I can connect to automatically., and also the one I cannot connect to automatically.

The thing that stands out is that my homehub now has BTFON etc. I dunno if that affects matters or how it got there and I can't get rid of it  - it seems I have to contact BT and it might take a month   :( :( >:( >:(
« Last Edit: December 17, 2012, 08:02:30 am by freddie »
AA1 with SSD. Running Peppermint 3 (formerly on Linpus). Really grateful to Mark for keeping me going!

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18236
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
« Reply #21 on: December 17, 2012, 03:08:39 pm »
Have you tried this .. in the non-working homehub try turning off "smart channel selection" and set channel 6

those BT-FON/BT-WiFi thingies are where your router is acting as a hotspot for others .. BT decided to implement this as an opt-out service .. so to disable it, you're supposed to follow the instructions here:
http://btsupport.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/12958

It *may* help .. it may not.

Or you could get another router.

WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1832
  • Karma: 142
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
« Reply #22 on: December 17, 2012, 09:06:54 pm »
So just to get this right, BT is piggybacking their FREE BT-FON/BT-WiFi onto their unsuspecting customers (wich is using up their bandwith?) :o
Should that not be kinda risky for peeps. When the knock on the door comes, would they say "it was not me sir, it was my Homehub" :-\

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18236
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
« Reply #23 on: December 18, 2012, 12:38:09 am »
Yup, that's exactly what I'm saying .. and so are they (if you know to look, that is):
http://btsupport.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/10992

Not knowing the full way it works, it will be interesting to see if it could ever be used as a legal defence, as the BT-FON/BT-WiFi connection appears to have the same MAC address as the "private" part of the connection.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline freddie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Greybeard programmer but Linux virgin
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
« Reply #24 on: December 18, 2012, 06:22:11 am »
SeZo
Yes, you are right about eating up your bandwidth, but BT claim it doesn't affect your data allowance (a measely 10Gig).
Also they claim you will be protected from that dreaded knock on the door, but I dunno how!

Mark
I had already tried all the recommended channels with no success, and yes I had already tried to opt out, but they say they need 48 hours (can you believe it)
Will be back when I get this sorted. BTW I forgot to say this was a replacement hub, but BT hubs do have a reputation for being c**p! Maybe another replacment needed
AA1 with SSD. Running Peppermint 3 (formerly on Linpus). Really grateful to Mark for keeping me going!

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18236
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
« Reply #25 on: December 18, 2012, 09:16:42 am »
Just a thought freddie .. can you send the output from:
Code: [Select]
lsmod
and
Code: [Select]
modinfo ath5k

Also are you absolutely sure that when you set "WPA2 only" in the homehub it doesn't then ask you what type of encryption AES or TKIP ?

.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2012, 09:24:32 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline freddie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Greybeard programmer but Linux virgin
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
« Reply #26 on: December 18, 2012, 02:29:07 pm »
Yipee!
Finally got BT to turn off their BT-FON/BT-WiFi on my router and I can now connect automatically with WPA (YES!!!)
What a waste of space BT are....
BTW did I say they took EIGHT WEEKS to fix our phone line (yes!!!)

Mark
When I  set "WPA2 only" in the homehub it doesn't  ask what type of encryption
The first I heard of  AES or TKIP was when yiu asked - and then on the outputs.
Attached the outputs you asked for

Thanks for all your help.
AA1 with SSD. Running Peppermint 3 (formerly on Linpus). Really grateful to Mark for keeping me going!

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18236
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem
« Reply #27 on: December 18, 2012, 03:52:28 pm »
Ahh .. thanks for the output, but who cares now if it's working :)

I would add though that Linpus Lite is obviously using much older (and different) driver(s) than those Peppermint uses .. our neighbour used to have a BT homehub 2 & 3 that i could connect to without issue with Peppermint.

I'm not trying to sell Peppermint .. just sayin ;)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline freddie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Greybeard programmer but Linux virgin
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Acer Aspire One and BT Homehub - WiFi with Linpus - WPA problem - SORTED
« Reply #28 on: December 19, 2012, 06:50:55 am »
Yeah Mark. I know.

I accept that Peppermint is the way ahead (as you constantly remind me  ;)), but I need a spare netbook to set it up on because I can't live without my Linpus Acer - it is in constant use for general email and browsing - it is so handy to carry round and fast to get online.

I have a spare Acer I was using for Win7 but it has developed a mega h/w problem and I just need the time to strip it down and see what it is - I suspect the expansion memory is faulty - but that as they say is another story.

Anyway, thanks for all your support!

May I take this opportunity of wishing you and everyone else on here a relaxed and Happy Christmas and a preposterous New Year  ;)
- try taking some time offline!
AA1 with SSD. Running Peppermint 3 (formerly on Linpus). Really grateful to Mark for keeping me going!

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal