Author Topic: Who remembers Betamax ?  (Read 55547 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Emegra

  • Guest
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #15 on: December 24, 2012, 12:00:15 am »
Quote
If it's capture only which you didn't answer BTW .. were you feeding it a signal ?

I did answer Mark I said i wasn't 100% sure and I wasn't  feeding it a signal at the time

Thanks

Graeme

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #16 on: December 24, 2012, 12:08:14 am »
[EDIT]

IGNORE THIS POSTING .. I hadn't seen your output to Sezo's questions

[END EDIT]

dmesg seems to suggest there's no tuner, so I'm guessing it's a capture only card without a TV tuner.

Erm, you WILL only get a blue screen unless you're feeding it a signal.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2012, 12:11:29 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #16 on: December 24, 2012, 12:08:14 am »

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1865
  • Karma: 145
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #17 on: December 24, 2012, 12:11:24 am »
Try to run:
Code: [Select]
xawtv -device /dev/video0

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #18 on: December 24, 2012, 12:14:32 am »
He's not likely to get a TV signal, as it will be an analoge TV card (analogue TV broadcasting was stopped in the UK a while ago), and I doubt if he has an ariel attached.

I'd attach the betamax, hit play, then see what cheese does.

Not that I have the first clue what xawtv does ;)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Emegra

  • Guest
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #19 on: December 24, 2012, 12:17:42 am »
[email protected] ~ $ xawtv -device /dev/video0
This is xawtv-3.102, running on Linux/i686 (3.5.0-17-generic)
xinerama 0: 1600x900+0+0
WARNING: No DGA direct video mode for this display.
WARNING: keeping fbuf pitch at: 6400, as no base addr was detected
WARNING: couldn't find framebuffer base address, try manual
         configuration ("v4l-conf -a <addr>")
v4l2: WARNING: framebuffer base address mismatch
v4l2: me=(nil) v4l=(nil)
Alsa devices: cap: (null) (/dev/video0), out: default

Quote
Erm, you WILL only get a blue screen unless you're feeding it a signal.


Youre right I'm sorry I was on crossed lines

Anyway I set the recorder to rest signal and I got the black and white lines I then switched over and I had video but it's still not working in Cheese but we're getting there :)



The Linux Community Forum

Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #19 on: December 24, 2012, 12:17:42 am »

Emegra

  • Guest
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #20 on: December 24, 2012, 12:31:22 am »
Ok it's working now I tuned the test signal into channel 97 in tvtimer and it locked in so now it's also working in cheese at least video is but I'll worry about the sound tomorrow

thank you both so much for all your help

If I have problems with sound can I just post back on this thread or should I start another ?

Sorry about the misunderstanding :)


Many thanks


Graeme


Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #21 on: December 24, 2012, 12:34:45 am »
Stick with this topic .. it may as well all be in one place ;)

remember you'll have to set that bttv card=2 after each reboot, unless you add it as an "option" in a .conf file in /etc/modprobe.d

Wanna do that now, or tomorrow ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Emegra

  • Guest
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #22 on: December 24, 2012, 12:38:26 am »
Quote
remember you'll have to set that bttv card=2 after each reboot, unless you add it as an "option" in a .conf file in /etc/modprobe.d

Wanna do that now, or tomorrow ?

Yes I would like to do that tomorrow :)

Once again thanks for your help and SeZo

Graeme
« Last Edit: December 24, 2012, 12:00:22 pm by Emegra »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #23 on: December 24, 2012, 12:39:30 am »
okey dokey :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #23 on: December 24, 2012, 12:39:30 am »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #24 on: December 24, 2012, 09:55:33 am »
OK, to load the bttv driver with the "card=2" option set at each boot .. open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/bttv.conf
a BLANK file should open.

add this single line:-

options bttv card=2

SAVE the file, and exit gedit.

Now to test .. REBOOT .. then send the output from:
Code: [Select]
dmesg | grep card=



There's still the chance that "card=2" is incorrect, as the vendor:device ID string your card is providing is a generic one .. but that can be experimented with later .. for now we know it at least gives you video.

Oh .. who the hell bought Betamax over VHS anyway  ::) .. did you also fall for miniDisk over CD-R/W and HD-DVD over BlueRay ? ;)
(though in all 3 cases the inferior technology won out)

.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2012, 10:26:30 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Emegra

  • Guest
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #25 on: December 24, 2012, 11:46:11 am »
Hi Mark

Thanks for the info, I'm at work just now but I'll try your instructions when I get home and report back

Quote
Oh .. who the hell bought Betamax over VHS anyway   .. did you also fall for miniDisk over CD-R/W and HD-DVD over BlueRay ?
(though in all 3 cases the inferior technology won out)

I bought a Betamax recorder because I'm a sucker for the underdog, why do you think I use Linux ?

But seriously as I remember Betamax and VHS were about equal in popularity for a while, and I was also led to believe that Betamax was a actually a better system, I never really understood the difference other than Betamax tapes being slightly smaller or why VHS ended up dominating but no doubt big business and big money were probably behind it somewhere.

Once again thanks for your help


Graeme



Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #26 on: December 24, 2012, 12:09:16 pm »
Hey, I fell for Philips CD-i as a games console .. what a mistake that was  :-[
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Emegra

  • Guest
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #27 on: December 24, 2012, 12:38:06 pm »
I forgot about the Phillips V2000 system that was also going around at the time, I never had one I was too smart :)

or was I ? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Video_2000  :)

Emegra

  • Guest
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #28 on: December 24, 2012, 02:36:53 pm »
OK I followed your instructions and here's the output you asked for   

Code: [Select]
[email protected] ~ $ dmesg | grep card=
[   16.466181] bttv: 0: using: Hauppauge (bt848) [card=2,insmod option]
[email protected] ~ $

The video will play in both tvtime & cheese although i have no sound in either, however if i try to record cheese will instantly shut down

I ran cheese from the terminal the output when I try to record it big so I've posted it to pastebin if it's any help  http://pastebin.com/Hzs6hbPy

Many thanks

Graeme
« Last Edit: December 24, 2012, 02:38:41 pm by Emegra »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Who remembers Betamax ?
« Reply #29 on: December 24, 2012, 02:52:17 pm »
Is this Mint 13, 14, or Peppermint 3 ?

32 or 64bit ?

.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2012, 02:54:45 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal