Author Topic: Printer Problem(Solved)  (Read 10818 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Degsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I am getting there, but it is very slow going!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Printer Problem(Solved)
« on: February 21, 2014, 04:10:53 pm »
Hi Guys,
Having a problem again with my HP Photosmart 5520 All-in One, cant get it to print on either my Laptop or Desktop.
Laptop is running Peppermint 4 64 bit, and the printer has worked in the past. Desktop running Ubuntu 12.04, again been able to print and scan etc in the past now get the same error on both machines as follows:
HPLIP Device Status. Photosmart_5520_series Printer (192.168.1.2)
Device Communication Error (5012)
The printer is connected wirelessly, and just for info, prints no problem from my iPad2.

Your help and input, as always would be much appreciated.


Many thanks in advance,
Degsy.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2014, 04:49:49 pm by Degsy »

Offline Degsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I am getting there, but it is very slow going!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Printer Problem(Solved)
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2014, 04:48:53 pm »
Hi Everyone,
Very pleased to say that I Have managed to sort this problem out now, it was as simple as setting up the Printer again in Device Manager, though why this went awry in the first place I just don't know, anyway the outcome is satisfactory and I am now able to print again from the Laptop. I assume the problem will be solved in the same way on the Desktop, just haven't had time to try iot yet.


Thanks again, Degsy

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Printer Problem(Solved)
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2014, 04:53:47 pm »
Is this a networked printer .. if so the IP address it gets from the router may have changed .. give it a static IP address ;)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Degsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I am getting there, but it is very slow going!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Printer Problem(Solved)
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2014, 06:00:31 pm »
It is network printer, how do I give it a static address please Mark?

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Printer Problem(Solved)
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2014, 06:16:43 pm »
OK to do it properly, you'll need to know -

a) your routers IP address
b) the start and finishing addresses of the routers DHCP pool
c) how to change the printers IP address from the printers own control panel

Do you know these things ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Degsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I am getting there, but it is very slow going!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Printer Problem(Solved)
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2014, 06:23:32 pm »
Hi Mark, to answer your questions in a word, No, I don't know these things.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Printer Problem(Solved)
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2014, 06:32:36 pm »
OK, right-click the networkmanager icon in the system tray, and select "Connection Information" .. what does it say next to

IP Address: ??.??.??.??
and
Default Route: ??.??.??.??
« Last Edit: February 21, 2014, 06:35:53 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Degsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I am getting there, but it is very slow going!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Printer Problem(Solved)
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2014, 06:41:01 pm »
IP Address: 192.168.1.2, and
Default Route: 192.168.1.1.

Hope this is alright,
Degsy

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Printer Problem(Solved)
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2014, 07:25:41 pm »
OK, your routers IP is likely to be

192.168.1.1

What is the make/model of your router ? .. was it supplied by your ISP ? .. and have you changed it's default login password at any stage ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Degsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I am getting there, but it is very slow going!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Printer Problem(Solved)
« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2014, 07:51:06 pm »
Hi Mark,
The router is Huawei Echolife HG520s and was supplied by talktalk, my ISP. I have not changed the login password, only the Security Password.

Degsy

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Printer Problem(Solved)
« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2014, 08:12:20 pm »
So if you enter this into your web browsers address bar:

192.168.21.1

then hit enter .. are you prompted for the router login/password .. and are you able to log into the router ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Degsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I am getting there, but it is very slow going!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Printer Problem(Solved)
« Reply #11 on: February 21, 2014, 08:18:40 pm »
I assume that you meant 192.168.1.1 and yes can log in to the router,

Degsy

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Printer Problem(Solved)
« Reply #12 on: February 21, 2014, 08:50:20 pm »
Opps .. bear with me, half way into a bottle of 12 year old Appleton Estate Rum :)

Yeah that's what I meant.

OK. log into the router and see if you can find anything that references "DHCP Pool" or DHCP range" which gives you an IP range similar to

192.168.1.2  --->  192.168.1.254

And let me know what those starting and finishing addresses are.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Degsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I am getting there, but it is very slow going!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Printer Problem(Solved)
« Reply #13 on: February 21, 2014, 09:08:39 pm »
Hi Mark,
Logged in and hopefully this is the info you asked for:
Client IP Pool Starting Address: 192.168.1.2
Size of Client Pool: 253

Does that look like the right thing?


Degsy

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Printer Problem(Solved)
« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2014, 09:17:47 pm »
Yeah that looks right :) .. if a bit weird (normally they'd give the starting snd ending IP rather than the number of IP's.

But who cares .. is it possible to change the

"Size of client pool" to say 200
(which I figure will represent 192.168.1.2 --> 192.168.1.201 [inclusive])

?
« Last Edit: February 21, 2014, 09:20:36 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal