Author Topic: [SOLVED] Upgraded to VM SH2 with 150Mb BB and now getting speeds as low as 16Mb  (Read 3334 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
I recently moved and had a SH2 installed and opted for the top tier speed of up to 152Mb. All was fine on the first day with speeds of 136-156Mb, but now I'm getting speeds as low as 16Mb.
Just spent 40 mins on the phone to VM to try and sort out the problem, all the readings for the speed and other settings are fine but as I'm not a slave to Window$, they cant run checks from my end.
Is there anything I can do to check things my end to see if there is any sort of problem!
« Last Edit: July 13, 2014, 01:47:56 pm by pooky2483 »

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1832
  • Karma: 142
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
That depends how you are measuring it.
Actually, 150Mbps is represented in bit and 16MBytes.
if you divide 150Mbit / 8 = 18.75 MByte
because 1Byte = 8bits
So your 16 MByte is not far off your max.
You could try to measure your avg. download speed with lftp
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install lftp
then download a fairly big dist.iso (syntax)
Code: [Select]
lftp -e 'pget http://something.com/distro.iso; exit; '
When finished it should give you the throughput and time it taken:
xxx bytes transferred in 75 seconds (11.47M/s)
« Last Edit: June 28, 2014, 05:55:13 pm by SeZo »

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
I get;
pooky2483@pooky2483-Kubuntu-1204-3:~$ lftp -e 'pget http://something.com/distro.iso; exit; '
pget: something.com: Name or service not known 
pooky2483@pooky2483-Kubuntu-1204-3:~$


Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1832
  • Karma: 142
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
That is fully expected, that line provided you with the syntax, all you need is to replace the http://something.com/distro.iso with a real url like: http://www.peppermintos.com/iso/Peppermint-5-20140623-amd64.iso

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
pooky2483@pooky2483-Kubuntu-1204-3:~$ lftp -e 'pget http://www.peppermintos.com/iso/Peppermint-5-20140623-amd64.iso; exit; '
624953846 bytes transferred in 244 seconds (2.44M/s)                                       
pooky2483@pooky2483-Kubuntu-1204-3:~$   

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18231
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Be aware, the Peppermint 5 ISO's are currently not the best file(s) to use for download speed testing ... it's only just been released and the servers are getting a hammering, so it may be slow no matter what connection you have ;)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Since you mentioned that Mark, I went to http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/confirmation.aspx?id=24 and downloaded XP SP3 Network Install, it downloaded at 2.7Meg - 3.2 and it shot up to 3.5 near the end for a little bit.

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Just been looking at my download history for system updates in Kubuntu and just thought, I tried the speedtest in Ubuntu and got the same results - low speed, not as it was on 19th when we first had it installed (check the screenshot in a previous message).

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1832
  • Karma: 142
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Perhaps peppermint was a bad example, you could try Kubuntu 14.04 (1.0G), that should be stale enough but well supported.
Get it from a UK Mirror Service (University of Kent):
http://www.mirrorservice.org/sites/cdimage.ubuntu.com/cdimage/kubuntu/releases/14.04/release/kubuntu-14.04-desktop-amd64.iso

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18231
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
As is being suggested, having a super fast internet connection does NOT mean you'll always get fast downloads .. the limiting factor (bottleneck) could be at the other end, or anywhere in between.

Your broadband connection "speed", as quoted by the ISP sales blurb, is a theoretical maximum and rarely achieved.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1166
  • Karma: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Do you have a seperate wireless router, or do you just have the superhub?
VM superhubs are known for being anything but super, Virgin will never admit it, but they are an embarressment to the company.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
You're gonna love this...
They installed the **NEW** SH2 and they said I don't need my Netgear router after I said I would be using the SH2 in modem mode.
He said that I don't need anything else as the SH2 is far superior and can block anything, I did ask if it can block specific sites/keywords like my Netgear can.  What a load of b******, I can't see anywhere in the SH2 settings where I can evter specific keywords or sites to block.
Then when it came to calling VM about the slow speeds, they said to remove the Netgear and to have the SH2 back in the standard mode as it was the Netgear causing the problems.Again, What a load of b******.

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18231
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Once you call something "Super" and write it everywhere, it becomes a hard statement to back away from...

And this one is twice as "Super" .. probably not that hard to achieve ;)

VM aren't very good with names

a) According to users it's NOT "Super"
and
b) It's a router and ethernet switch, not a "Hub"

I'll give them the "2"
« Last Edit: July 09, 2014, 02:26:05 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1166
  • Karma: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Once you call something "Super" and write it everywhere, it becomes a hard statement to back away from...

And this one is twice as "Super" .. probably not that hard to achieve ;)

VM aren't very good with names

a) According to users it's NOT "Super"
and
b) It's a really crummy router and ethernet switch, not a "Hub"

I'll give them the "2"

Fixed  ;)

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Once you call something "Super" and write it everywhere, it becomes a hard statement to back away from...

And this one is twice as "Super" .. probably not that hard to achieve ;)

VM aren't very good with names

a) According to users it's NOT "Super"
and
b) It's a router and ethernet switch, not a "Hub"

I'll give them the "2"

And... I'm one of their 'customers' (have been since March 2009).
Being a customer who doesn’t use Window$, I'd rate their 'customer service' a 3 as they don't cater for 'buntu users.


Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal