Author Topic: Multiple distro setup  (Read 7025 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16918
  • Karma: 426
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Multiple distro setup
« Reply #15 on: July 22, 2014, 09:55:11 am »
I'll answer the GRUB thing when I have a little more time .. but in thunar, just bookmark the two mountpoints.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline rc_mandar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Multiple distro setup
« Reply #16 on: July 22, 2014, 11:04:22 pm »
But please please please do answer my question regarding grub...

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16918
  • Karma: 426
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Multiple distro setup
« Reply #17 on: July 23, 2014, 12:23:56 am »
Oops forgot....

OK, are you saying the GRUB menu never displays when you boot ? .. and it just boots directly into the FIRST distro (the one on sda1) ?

If that's the case, how are you currently booting the second distro ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline rc_mandar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Multiple distro setup
« Reply #18 on: July 23, 2014, 07:53:30 am »
@Mark:

I haven't yet installed my second distro. This brings me to next question: yesterday i wanted to install finally my second distro of my x121e thinkpad. however i ran into this (see snap) i aborted just because i have invested many searches and apt-gets in flux debian install i didn't want to mess it up!

for further discussion:
Code: [Select]
mad@Xdeb:~$ sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders, total 625142448 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x0000f32c

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1            2048     1026047      512000   83  Linux
/dev/sda2         1026048     9414655     4194304   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3   *     9414656    93300735    41943040   83  Linux
/dev/sda4        93302782   625141759   265919489    5  Extended
Partition 4 does not start on physical sector boundary.
/dev/sda5        93304832   177190911    41943040   83  Linux
/dev/sda6       177192960   261079039    41943040   83  Linux
/dev/sda7       261081088   625141759   182030336    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

i want to install Ubuntu 12.04 on /dev/sda5

please please reply!

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16918
  • Karma: 426
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Multiple distro setup
« Reply #19 on: July 23, 2014, 03:19:02 pm »
The GRUB menu is skipped automagically unless there are 2 (or more) OS's installed .. then iit will be displayed.



OK, now I'm confused .. did you use a separate /boot partition for your first distro ?

And tell the second one to use it as well ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline rc_mandar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Multiple distro setup
« Reply #20 on: July 23, 2014, 10:51:29 pm »
Yes apparently i myself got confused while installing my first distro debian wheezy fluxbox.

I had googled a lot about how to install multiple distros and how to partition hdd to accommodate all the partitions needed.

I meant to do a bootloader which i can modify by modifying grub files so as to put my own boot options, background pictures and etc.

I am thinking to reinstall wheezy just cause thr fact that i have a 500mb /boot is annoying me.

Your suggestions Mark? Also i am waiting for your inputs regarding modifying grub.

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16918
  • Karma: 426
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Multiple distro setup
« Reply #21 on: July 24, 2014, 12:12:07 am »
Personalty unless I'd made major changes I'd probably reinstall and not bother with a separate /boot or /home .. but that's just me.

On a 500GB drive wanting 2 OS's, I'd just go with say
200GB primary partition EXT4 mounted as /
and a 4GB (or whatever is twice your RAM) primary partition mounted as swap
Then leave the rest unpartitioned

When you come to install Ubuntu it should just offer to install "Alongside" your first distro and create the extended partition and logical partitions automagically.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2014, 12:14:04 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline rc_mandar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Multiple distro setup
« Reply #22 on: July 27, 2014, 11:21:25 am »
Yes, well I didn't want a /boot but rather a dedicated Grub partition so that my linux distros can come and go...

Now that I understand /boot isn't the bootloader. Anyway, I feel doing installation again and I will follow something as follows:
1) making partitions using gparted!
200mb GRUB Partition
6gb swap(Question 1: do i have to have a swap??? i have 6 gigs of RAM and i never Hibernate my Laptop. I let it sleep that to very occasionally)
40Gb ext4    for debian wheezy with fluxbox
40gb ext4 logical Ubuntu 12.04LTS (Question 2: also just like debian can i do this install non gui???)
40gb ext4 logical some linux may be a fancy one like gentoo (Question 3: will it be too much for a beginner like me?)
rest as a data drive ntfs format...

2) installation of GRUB using the live Gparted itself. if it has terminal available.(Question 4: How?)

3) make grub config file (Question 5 How?)

4) installation of Debian fluxbox(here in installation i will choose no to question that says should it install Grub coz i have already installed one manually)
5) installation of Ub 12.04 LTS
6) setting up Grub files for Debian and Ub 12.04 using ubuntu live usb in the grub partition (Question 6 How?)

that's it!

steps 2-6 are really vaguely understood by myself... i am sure i will make mistakes however since the x121e is the lap for learning for me i would just wipe the hdd using gparted live and start again :) i need patience and i hope my hdd won't break due to repetitive formatting.

please answer my questions which i specified in brackets and numbered them as well.

Offline SeZo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1795
  • Karma: 136
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Multiple distro setup
« Reply #23 on: July 27, 2014, 11:54:46 am »
Hmm... I think you have read just a tad too much for your own good.
First of all, there is no need or use for a grub partition.
Second, grub cannot (should not) be istalled as a standalone application.
What you will have to   decide is which distro you want to designate as the KEEPER of grub, then install grub to the /dev/sda. from that.
When you install other distros then deny the grub installation or if it gives the choice then istall it to the same same partition they will reside on.
Once install is complete then boot to the grub KEEPER distro and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo update-grub

This will pick up all new installs, but would haveto repeat it after any subsequent installs too.

Swap is up to you, not compulsory but good practice.

Data drive, why ntfs?

I would advise against Gentoo. If you want to dip your toes into bleeding edge, then try Manjaro first (tamed Arch) and see how you are getting on without (or just a little) hand holding.

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1166
  • Karma: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Multiple distro setup
« Reply #24 on: July 28, 2014, 10:00:34 am »
Virtualbox is a wonderful thing, you won't risk trashing your other installs with a complicated install like Gentoo (which is hard enough for an experienced user, on a blank HDD!)

Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16918
  • Karma: 426
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Multiple distro setup
« Reply #25 on: July 28, 2014, 11:50:21 am »
Not mastered partitioning, GRUB, and mountpoints, and you're considering Gentoo .. sorry if this comes across as impolite and patronising, but "GOOD GOD" man Gentoo scares the sh*te outa me .. you're not ready for Gentoo  :o
(I'm going to shut up now before I soil myself)

--
« Last Edit: July 28, 2014, 11:54:27 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline rc_mandar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Multiple distro setup
« Reply #26 on: July 31, 2014, 01:04:34 am »
ok this is making me mad....

all i wanted to do is follow these steps as per the video but while booted into a Live USB of 12.04: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WawYFfTtqPc


what i did is as before i did partitioning using gparted live:
Code: [Select]
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders, total 625142448 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x0000f32c

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *        2048     1026047      512000   83  Linux
/dev/sda2         1026048    17803263     8388608   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3        17803264   101689343    41943040   83  Linux
/dev/sda4       101691390   625141759   261725185    5  Extended
Partition 4 does not start on physical sector boundary.
/dev/sda5       101691392   185577471    41943040   83  Linux
/dev/sda6       185579520   269465599    41943040   83  Linux
/dev/sda7       269467648   625141759   177837056    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

Disk /dev/sdb: 4009 MB, 4009754624 bytes
126 heads, 22 sectors/track, 2825 cylinders, total 7831552 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xbafc4f15

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1   *        2048     7831551     3914752    b  W95 FAT32

and afterwards i installed Ubuntu 12.04 via the link http://de.releases.ubuntu.com/12.04.4/
amd64 alternative version. I selected no when asked install grub to MBR.

after complete installation i did boot from a LIVE USB of 12.04 and i simply wanted to run following:

Code: [Select]
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo grub-install --root-directory=/media/grub2 /dev/sda
Installation finished. No error reported.
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo chmod 777 -R /media/grub2
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo grub-mkconfig -o /media/grub2/boot/grub/grub.cfg
[u][b]/usr/sbin/grub-probe: error: cannot find a device for / (is /dev mounted?).
[/b][/u]


why do i have the error how can i solve this?

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1166
  • Karma: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Multiple distro setup
« Reply #27 on: July 31, 2014, 09:07:23 am »
Do you have a seperate /boot partition?

I think your last command should be:
Code: [Select]
sudo grub-mkconfig -o /dev/sdaX/boot/grub/grub.cfg
sdaX = your /boot partition, or just your / partition if it's not seperate

However, you might have to mount the partitions before you can do it, and if it's a seperate boot partition, once you mount it, it'll just be:
Code: [Select]
sudo grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

The -o flag indicates the output destination - you don't want the live USB!

Offline rc_mandar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Multiple distro setup
« Reply #28 on: August 02, 2014, 10:54:56 am »
hey guys,

thanks for your inputs!!! I understood what i was doing wrong and by the time i read new replies here to my thread, it was confirmed. I shouldn't have done grub things thro' a live usb.

Here's what i did.

I cleaned my mistakes by gparted.
I installed Ub 12.04 normaly.
after installation when i did boot from newly installed Ub i followed the video:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WawYFfTtqPc

and installed grub2 in my grub2 dedicated partition which is /dev/sda1 of 500mb

then as we know i have installed only precise pangolin so i don't have a second distro to test my grub2 dedicated partition setup.

so i had read this thread: http://linuxforums.org.uk/index.php?topic=10264.0 so i decided to go for Simplicity 14.07 final just for a change.

i made a change in my partition table:
Code: [Select]
madmandy@Thinkpad-x121e:~$ sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders, total 625142448 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x0000f32c

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *        2048     1026047      512000   83  Linux
/dev/sda2         1026048    17803263     8388608   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3        17803264   101689343    41943040   83  Linux
/dev/sda4       101691390   625141759   261725185    5  Extended
Partition 4 does not start on physical sector boundary.
/dev/sda5       101691392   185577471    41943040   83  Linux
/dev/sda6       185579520   206551039    10485760   83  Linux
/dev/sda7       269467648   625141759   177837056    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda8       206553088   269465599    31456256   83  Linux

Partition table entries are not in disk order

and installed it on /dev/sda6 however, install procedure was not cool! shame on you simplicity! You do not make justice to your name as per install procedure. However, i can see why it is so. Being the os so light weight it may have many constraints on development, thus the complications!

Further, now i know on reboot i will not have grub menu now itself while i have a self setup grub which i need to update myself.
so i did boot in Ub 12.04 and followed grub-mkconfig part of the video again and there it was the unknown linux distribution in my grub menu. however, i had to change some timeout value to see the grub menu.

Now coming back to questions, i have two of them this time and i request you guys to play along and answer me in organised manner as i ask them in an organised manner.

Q1: while installing Simplicity it (i m not sure) detected my grub somehow and showed me a text file in which was written add following content to your menu.lst file in /boot/grub if you have grub already installed otherwise click in dialogue box to finish installation and run grub install seperately to install grub to your mbr......

What is menu.lst and why don't i have it?

Q2:see snap and what is that the dialogue box wants to tell me?


Online Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16918
  • Karma: 426
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Multiple distro setup
« Reply #29 on: August 02, 2014, 02:52:27 pm »
1) menu.lst is from GRUB legacy, and is no longer used in GRUB2
(replaced by /boot/grub/grub.cfg which is autogenerated by a bunch of scripts and configured through /etc/default/grub)

2) it's just telling you that Puppy is a "single user" system that runs with administrative privileges  all the time.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2014, 02:55:38 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal