Author Topic: HPLIP in Peppermint 5  (Read 4177 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #15 on: July 28, 2014, 11:39:36 am »
When you say you installed "HPLIP", did you install hplip-gui too ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Online Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1477
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #16 on: July 28, 2014, 12:12:44 pm »
Oh, yes.  And HPLIP appears to be working except for not finding the printer wirelessly.  It finds it alright when I plug it into the USB port. 

[EDIT] Perhaps this might be a clue.  In an earlier post I said:
Going into the user accounts to turn off my login password requirement, I discovered that I was not allowed to connect to wireless & ethernet devices! So I ticked that and tried again. 
And it turns out that I still have to enter my password at login - so if it's ignoring the password bit it may be simply ignoring my selection of being able to connect to wireless & Ethernet devices.  Except that I can use the Ethernet.............oh, well, just a thought. 
« Last Edit: July 28, 2014, 12:20:38 pm by Keith »

The Linux Community Forum

Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #16 on: July 28, 2014, 12:12:44 pm »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #17 on: July 28, 2014, 12:47:45 pm »
Run:
Code: [Select]
hp-setup
then select "Network/Ethernet/Wireless network connection (direct connection or jetdirect) .. and hit "next" .. is it discovered ?

if not, try connecting with a USB cable, then Run:
Code: [Select]
hp-setup
then select "Wireless/802.11" .. then click next.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1166
  • Karma: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #18 on: July 28, 2014, 01:53:14 pm »
If there's still an issue with not finding it, is it worth looking at the CUPS log? Or doesn't anything get written there at this stage?

Online Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1477
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #19 on: July 28, 2014, 03:30:02 pm »
The Ethernet option is the one that I have been using (and tried it again without success) - I hadn't tried the temporary USB method for this problem as as I had no success with previous PCs/printers. 
However:  The USB method did find the printer and the printer reported a very strong wireless signal - but it still declined to connect to it.  I attach a screen shot of the message.

The Linux Community Forum

Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #19 on: July 28, 2014, 03:30:02 pm »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #20 on: July 28, 2014, 03:43:58 pm »
OK, few things left to try

a) giving both the printer and PC static IP addresses, and possibly changing the DNS server address to that of your router.

b) installing SAMBA and configuring your Windows domain (and possibly netbbios name through there)

c) seeing if this will configure through CUPS

Do you know how to give both the PC and printer static IP addresses ? (preferably ones that won't conflict with your routers DHCP pool)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Online Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1477
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #21 on: July 28, 2014, 03:58:06 pm »
I seem to remember that the printer address is static - from your advice when I first installed it so long ago.  I think the router addresses start at 200 which why I chose 201 for the printer. 
I can change the PC from auto DHCP to manual in the Networks menu, but I'm not sure what to enter. 

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #22 on: July 28, 2014, 04:37:06 pm »
OK, I'm going to assume your routers IP is 192.168.2.1 if not change both the instances of that below to whatever it is .. if it's not even in the 192.168.2.x range, STOP now and tell me what it is.

I'm also assuming you don't have another PC with a static I of 192.168.2.225 .. and that is outside the routers DHCP pool

I thought you said your printer was 192.168.2.210 not 201 ?
 
On the IPv6 tab set

Method: Ignored

on the IPv4 tab set

Method: Manual
Address: 192.168.2.225
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.2.1

DNS Servers: 192.168.2.1
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Online Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1477
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #23 on: July 28, 2014, 05:47:01 pm »
The server address is 192.168.1.254
The server address pool is 192.168.1.64-253
The printer address is 192.168.1.201 (as in previous posts, but I had put .2. rather than .1.) 

However:  I am getting seriously out of my depth here and feel very reluctant to start assigning static addresses all my kit just to solve a problem for this one, very old, PC that will be replaced soon.  It really is very easy to screw up a router! 

Understanding networks is on my list of things to do, but I'm a slow learner, so I hope you don't mind if I chicken out at this point as I really don't understand what I am doing, and I'm not comfortable with that.  I shall upgrade the computer instead. 

My thanks as always for your patience. 
  Keith

The Linux Community Forum

Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #23 on: July 28, 2014, 05:47:01 pm »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #24 on: July 28, 2014, 06:17:02 pm »
Okey dokey :)

If I'm understanding you correctly, the Printers static IP is actually inside your routers DHCP pool .. and it shouldn't be
it should be something like 192.168.1.50

And you'd set the PC as

IPv6 tab

Method: Ignore

IPv4 tab
Method: Manual
Address: 192.168.1.51
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.254

DNS Servers: 192.168.1.254

But up to you ;)
« Last Edit: July 28, 2014, 06:34:26 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Online Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1477
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #25 on: July 28, 2014, 07:05:04 pm »
.............and that worked perfectly! 
The problem all along, as you have just pointed out, was that the printer address was within the DHCP address pool.  I am amazed that all other PCs have been able to access the printer without trouble. 
I notice that my P3 laptop has also set itself to the same manual status and the same settings entered on the P5 PC.  I really have no idea what's happening in this dark art but I am once more greatly in your debt. 

Thank you, Mark.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #26 on: July 28, 2014, 07:30:33 pm »
Great .. happy to hear it's all now working.

So I take it you can print now ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Online Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1477
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #27 on: July 28, 2014, 07:34:11 pm »
Yes, I can print with impunity.  And they can't touch you for it. 

I am at this moment searching the web for network tutorials in a bid to understand what I've done. 

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #28 on: July 28, 2014, 07:45:04 pm »
OK then .. see you in a year or two .. then you can teach it me  :o
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Online Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1477
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HPLIP in Peppermint 5
« Reply #29 on: July 28, 2014, 07:48:29 pm »
Ho!  Ho!  Ho!    I'll be back all right, but asking more questions, as usual.   Speaking of which ........ but that's another Topic. 

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal