Author Topic: Problem with 14.04 (Solved)  (Read 19339 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with 14.04
« Reply #45 on: October 13, 2014, 04:16:00 pm »
I'm getting the feeling that the nvidia drivers haven't been reinstalled yet, but for some reason the "neuoueveouiouxe" drivers just work better with the old kernel.
(as they needed xforcevesa in his other topic)

An older kernel only really makes sense if he's going to stick with "new-voe" drivers.. but sure can't hurt anything :)

BTW, you may have noticed I hate the name "nouveau" and not being French can never remember how to spell the damn thing  ::)
« Last Edit: October 13, 2014, 04:22:45 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Degsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I am getting there, but it is very slow going!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with 14.04
« Reply #46 on: October 13, 2014, 05:16:27 pm »
Hi Gents,
Sorry for the delay in responding, Monday is grandchildren pick up day.
Right here is the output Mark asked for from Ubuntu:

derek@derek-System-Product-Name:~$ dpkg -l | grep nvidia
derek@derek-System-Product-Name:~$ sudo lshw -C display
[sudo] password for derek:
  *-display               
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a]
       vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
       physical id: d
       bus info: pci@0000:00:0d.0
       version: a2
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 66MHz
       capabilities: pm msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
       configuration: driver=nouveau latency=0
       resources: irq:21 memory:de000000-deffffff memory:c0000000-cfffffff memory:dd000000-ddffffff memory:dffc0000-dffdffff
derek@derek-System-Product-Name:~$

Will do the output from Peppermint ina minute.

Degsy

Offline Degsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I am getting there, but it is very slow going!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with 14.04
« Reply #47 on: October 13, 2014, 05:20:34 pm »
And from peppermint:

derek@derek-System-Product-Name ~ $ dpkg -l | grep nvidia
derek@derek-System-Product-Name ~ $ sudo lshw -C display
[sudo] password for derek:
  *-display               
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a]
       vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
       physical id: d
       bus info: pci@0000:00:0d.0
       version: a2
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 66MHz
       capabilities: pm msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
       configuration: driver=nouveau latency=0
       resources: irq:43 memory:de000000-deffffff memory:c0000000-cfffffff memory:dd000000-ddffffff memory:dffc0000-dffdffff
derek@derek-System-Product-Name ~ $
 Degsy

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with 14.04
« Reply #48 on: October 13, 2014, 06:11:09 pm »
OK, boot to Ubuntu using the xforcevesa kernel boot parameter (not the old kernel), then go to "Additional Drivers" and install the nvidia drivers it's offering you (331 from updates).

Once that's done (and it may take a few minutes), reboot.

Does Ubuntu work properly now ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Degsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I am getting there, but it is very slow going!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with 14.04
« Reply #49 on: October 13, 2014, 08:16:30 pm »
Hi Mark,
Have tried to do as you suggest but there is nothing happening once I click the nvidia driver box and then click update, the progress bar just sits there with about a half centimetre of orange and doesn't go any further.
I am getting to the point now where maybe this is time to call it a day with this, what do you think?


Regards,
Degsy

Emegra

  • Guest
Re: Problem with 14.04
« Reply #50 on: October 13, 2014, 09:27:27 pm »
Hi Degsy

You may not be giving it enough time to update, I had a similar issue a while ago and it must have took fully 25 minutes to install the nvidia driver

Just a thought



Graeme

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with 14.04
« Reply #51 on: October 13, 2014, 10:05:36 pm »
What Emegra said .. sometimes it appears to hang for quite some time before completing.

How long have you given it to complete ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Degsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I am getting there, but it is very slow going!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with 14.04
« Reply #52 on: October 13, 2014, 10:43:26 pm »
A couple of hours and it hadn't moved at all.

Degsy

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with 14.04
« Reply #53 on: October 13, 2014, 11:19:43 pm »
OK, try this

first you MUST be booted into the latest kernel, not an earlier kernel.

Now open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install linux-headers-generic build-essential dkms synaptic
once that lot's done .. CLOSE the terminal

Open the Synaptic Package Manager, and search for the nvidia-331-updates package, and install it.

Once installed, close Synaptic .. now go to "Additional Drivers" and see if it'll activate the 331 "updates" driver.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Degsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I am getting there, but it is very slow going!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with 14.04
« Reply #54 on: October 13, 2014, 11:46:49 pm »
First of all, I am unable to boot into the latest kernel and get an active mouse or keyboard, if I use Recovery mode then I can boot in, however once in the terminal with the requested command running I am asked to insert the "Ubuntu 14.04 LTS disc into the media drive. I do this but there is no response on pressing enter.

Sorry,

Degsy

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with 14.04
« Reply #55 on: October 14, 2014, 12:47:13 am »
I thought you said you could boot from recovery mode > low graphics mode ?

or with xforcevesa as a kernel boot parameter ?



If necessary try the same thing from the old kernel .. then reboot
« Last Edit: October 14, 2014, 01:04:14 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Degsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I am getting there, but it is very slow going!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with 14.04
« Reply #56 on: October 14, 2014, 11:32:24 am »
Hi Mark,
I tried your last suggestion using the old Kernel and the result was as before, I was asked to insert the 14.04 disc in the drive and press enter, this I did but nothing further happens, the request is just repeated ad nauseam.
I really don't know where I am up to with this any more as there have been so many suggestions ( thank you all very much, they are much appreciated) of things to try out. There was an occasion when I did manage to boot into the new kernel using xforcevesa but that doesn't happen any more. It somehow feels as if the whole installation is not right somehow, would it be easier to go back and start again or even just reinstall Peppermint 5 on its own using the whole of the hard drive rather than dual boot?

Regards and many thanks,

Degsy

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1166
  • Karma: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with 14.04
« Reply #57 on: October 14, 2014, 11:55:28 am »
That's a call you have to make - do you like Unity, and do you wish to keep the facility to use both desktop enviroments?
If you're not too fussed about Unity, then you could just delete the Ubuntu partition, and expand the Peppermint one to fill the space after backing up your stuff (no need to reinstall Peppermint)

If you want to keep both, it may well be simpler to reinstall Ubuntu over the top of the existing (being very careful with which partition you are targetting!). I fear some of these issues may have been caused by the upgrade process, as although Canonical advocate it as safe, isn't without these kind of risks.

Offline Degsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I am getting there, but it is very slow going!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with 14.04
« Reply #58 on: October 14, 2014, 01:02:10 pm »
Thanks Chemicalfan. I have to say I am not fussed about Unity, the whole hing has been a real odd saga from beginning to end, if I can just recap, I have a laptop which was running Pep 4 and the desktop running originally Ubuntu 12.04, tried to install Pep 5 on the laptop and it would not run, even from a live Dvd, tried it in the desktop and it was fine, so nothing wrong with the disc. Tried to run 14.04 on the desktop and that would not run, tried it on the a Laptop and it was fine, so I ended up installing 14.04 on my laptop and it's running fine. Then put Oeppermint 5 on the desktop alongside 12.04 which is also fine. I then tried the update route which has lead to the trouble I have now.
If I decide, which is likely, to ditch the 14.04 on the desktop, can you give me the "idiots guide" to removing the partition and expanding Pep 5 into the who.e of the hard drive?

Regards,
Degsy

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with 14.04
« Reply #59 on: October 14, 2014, 02:25:36 pm »
Is there anything on the Ubuntu partition you need to keep ?  ... if not it'll probably be easier to remove Ubuntu and reinstall it from scratch.



I'm gonna guess it keeps asking for the 14.04 Disk because it's set as an active repository in your sources.

What's the contents of:
Code: [Select]
gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

Can you also confirm that you can connect to the internet when booted to the old kernel ?
« Last Edit: October 14, 2014, 02:29:30 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal