Author Topic: Cloning my HDD  (Read 4277 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cicero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Cloning my HDD
« on: October 10, 2014, 07:41:31 am »
Hi, everyone,

I would like to clone my current HDD in order to replace it with a larger one and save a lot of  time and effort reinstalling programmes at the same time.

I've seen a programme called EZ gig iv which seems to make the job very simple and presumably that would have to be installed or run from a USB stick
or disk to work?  This would be OK for my wife's Windows laptop but is not suitable for use with Peppermint. ( I want to upgrade both machines
over time)

Also seen a product called All in 1 but also various comments from people saying they didn't work very well and aren't reliable.

I have done a search on the site for some advice but some basic simple instructions would be really useful.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2014, 07:43:06 am by cicero »

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1166
  • Karma: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Cloning my HDD
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2014, 08:32:48 am »

Offline cicero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Cloning my HDD
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2014, 01:08:51 pm »
Hi,

Looking for something more basic than that thread which was over complicated by other factors so for my purpose like what kit do I need to buy and which is the most user friendly software to use.

Cheers.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Cloning my HDD
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2014, 01:59:37 pm »
Clonezilla (LiveCD) is about as easy as it gets .. and the best tool for the job.

There are videos/tutorials available online for clonezilla.



What "kit" you require depends on your hardware ..

on a desktop .. probably no extra kit is required

on a laptop .. some way of connecting the new HDD/SSD to a USB socket
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline cicero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Cloning my HDD
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2014, 03:28:35 pm »
Hi, guys

I could probably do it easily on my aged desktop but as it's on my laptop I've never tried it before and will need a cable plus power supply etc. presumably.

I've seen one or two on Ebay but don't know how good they areand it's just a case of taking a chance on them being OK I suppose.

Will use Clonezilla as you both suggest it's useful to know there is a tutorial on the site that might save me making a cock of it!!

Thanks to both of you for taking the trouble to respond very much appreciated.

As an aside Peppermint 5 is still working A1 with no issues and dead easy for mugs like me to use well done to everyone who contributed to creating it.


Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1166
  • Karma: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Cloning my HDD
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2014, 03:37:24 pm »

Offline cicero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Cloning my HDD
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2014, 05:32:54 pm »
Hi, chemicalfan,

That looks like the very thing I need, is it a product you have used yourself?

Reading the review it seems you put the old HDD in the kit and clone the new one with it in the laptop. Do I have that right?

Thanks for the info.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Cloning my HDD
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2014, 09:53:59 pm »
Egg Zactly :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Emegra

  • Guest
Re: Cloning my HDD
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2014, 08:19:49 am »
@Mark

If I remember correctly you used to be an advocate of Redo for cloning images. any particular reason for the change of view ?




Graeme

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Cloning my HDD
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2014, 04:05:16 pm »
Redo is great at taking a disk *image* for backup purposes, then restoring that image to a drive (which can also be larger)

But it doesn't do *direct* disk to disk cloning.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1166
  • Karma: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Cloning my HDD
« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2014, 08:40:38 am »
Hi, chemicalfan,

That looks like the very thing I need, is it a product you have used yourself?


I've used a very similar product but I'm unsure of the make & model. I'd tend to use the duck method on this (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Duck_test, just replace the word "duck" with "USB enclosure")

Offline cicero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Cloning my HDD
« Reply #11 on: June 05, 2015, 05:47:13 am »
Just thought I'd update this thread to a conclusion have now "cloned" my 160gig to a new 500gig disk using Acronis True image. (free copy from WD website)

Went without a hitch and now planning to update my wife's laptop in similar fashion.

Thanks to everyone for the advice given on this topic. 

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Cloning my HDD
« Reply #12 on: June 05, 2015, 01:36:41 pm »
Cool, didn't realise WD were giving that away :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline cicero

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Cloning my HDD
« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2015, 11:34:39 pm »
Hi, Mark

Don't get too excited it's a much reduced version of Acronis 2013 but it does clone a disk which is all I needed.

Also you have to have a WD HDD installed in order to download the file - which by chance I did.

I believe Seagate also offer a version of Acronis in the same way.

Regards,

Doug.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Cloning my HDD
« Reply #14 on: June 07, 2015, 12:37:56 pm »
OK, I'll try no to :)

Personally I use Clonezilla or Redo Backup & Recovery depending on my needs anyway :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal