Author Topic: Is kernel upgrade possible ? (Solved again)  (Read 35857 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 944
  • Karma: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Is kernel upgrade possible ?
« Reply #15 on: April 21, 2015, 09:09:09 am »
Hi Mark,
My connection is "VM185937-2G".
I don't know the device, can I check it somewhere ?
I will need to wait until the problem strikes again to try that command.
The computer started ok this morning, I logged in and there was an Internet connection.
I have a bit of work to do today so I will let the computer go to sleep until I get back.
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 7    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17680
  • Karma: 457
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Is kernel upgrade possible ?
« Reply #16 on: April 22, 2015, 02:18:04 pm »
run:
Code: [Select]
ifconfig
you'll see output similar to

Quote
mark@AA1-Blue ~ $ ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1e:68:d5:92:04 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:5025 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:5025 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:522153 (522.1 KB)  TX bytes:522153 (522.1 KB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:23:4d:3d:36:01 
          inet addr:172.16.0.11  Bcast:172.16.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::223:4dff:fe3d:3601/64 Scope:Link
          inet6 addr: fdb8:fa2f:97c0:0:223:4dff:fe3d:3601/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fdb8:fa2f:97c0:0:71ae:97f8:4302:a914/64 Scope:Global
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:170844 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:120926 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:173407397 (173.4 MB)  TX bytes:23624556 (23.6 MB)

Or you could run:
Code: [Select]
nmcli dev status
which will list the devices and their current status

Quote
nmcli dev status
DEVICE     TYPE              STATE       
wlan0      802-11-wireless   connected   
eth0       802-3-ethernet    unavailable
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 944
  • Karma: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Is kernel upgrade possible ?
« Reply #17 on: April 22, 2015, 06:33:59 pm »
Mark,
I have switched on and there is no connection.
I ran the nmcli -p con up id "VM185937-2G" iface wlan0 command and it says
connecting (configuring) and then it says
disconnected then it says
Error: Timeout 90 sec. expired and puts me back to the prompt.

I ran ifconfig and it says wlan0
I also ran nmcli dev status and it returns
DEVICE            TYPE                         STATUS
eth0              802-3-ethernet         unavailable
wlan0            802-11-wireless        disconnected

Last night I was on t'internet playing Backgammon and twice the programme hung and said I had lost the server.
Over the past couple of weeks I  have had this problem a few times and wonder if it is connected.
The little signal level thingy was sitting was showing it still had a signal so I never bothered.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2015, 08:23:11 pm by donwatson »
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 7    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 944
  • Karma: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Is kernel upgrade possible ?
« Reply #18 on: April 22, 2015, 08:21:50 pm »
Mark,
I have shutdown the computer before having a shower and now I'm back and logged in and everything is working fine.
When the internet connection came on it showed 100%, this has now dropped to 52% ?
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 7    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17680
  • Karma: 457
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Is kernel upgrade possible ?
« Reply #19 on: April 23, 2015, 10:14:54 am »
We're quickly approaching the point where I say "get a USB wireless adapter".

Have we tried disabling IPv6 and giving your wireless connection a static IP ?

Have you got a USB wireless adapter you could test it with .. just to be sure it *is* actually the wireless card ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline chemicalfan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1166
  • Karma: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • I've been here a little while!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Is kernel upgrade possible ?
« Reply #20 on: April 23, 2015, 11:09:54 am »
We're quickly approaching the point where I say "get a USB wireless adapter".
Have you got a USB wireless adapter you could test it with .. just to be sure it *is* actually the wireless card ?

I was thinking this, it sounds like the onboard wireless card is seriously flaky, either by driver design or some kind of hardware fault

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 944
  • Karma: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Is kernel upgrade possible ?
« Reply #21 on: April 23, 2015, 05:34:46 pm »
Hi Mark,
What is a USB wireless adaptor ?
I don't think I have tried disabling IPv6 ?
@ chemicalfan, I bought the machine 14 months ago I use Virgin Media Super Hub (wireless). Is it not a bit soon to be experiencing problems with the hardware.
Or should I invest in another wireless card ?
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 7    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline Rich J

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
  • A Linux Luvvie!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Is kernel upgrade possible ?
« Reply #22 on: April 23, 2015, 07:32:24 pm »
Hi Mark,
What is a USB wireless adaptor ?
I don't think I have tried disabling IPv6 ?
@ chemicalfan, I bought the machine 14 months ago I use Virgin Media Super Hub (wireless). Is it not a bit soon to be experiencing problems with the hardware.
Or should I invest in another wireless card ?


Ah, grasshopper!  Problem may be due to Virgin (not so) Superhub!

I had similar problems with wifi - have a read through this little lot!

http://linuxforums.org.uk/index.php?topic=12238.msg99629#msg99629

Virgin have brought out another (improved) router which I've been upgraded to and am waiting on delivery as we speak.  I'll post any info on improvements to wifi (if there are any........) ::)

Possibly you could be in line for an upgrade too?  Worth asking.........

Rich

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 944
  • Karma: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Is kernel upgrade possible ?
« Reply #23 on: April 23, 2015, 08:58:41 pm »
Hi Rich,
I have had a look at that thread.
This is the second thread I have started about this problem.
It could well be Virgin (not so) Superhub as you mention I don't think it's 6 months old yet.
I will see what Mark comes up with  ;)
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 7    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 944
  • Karma: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Is kernel upgrade possible ?
« Reply #24 on: April 24, 2015, 04:54:29 pm »
Hi All,
I received an email from Novatech today welcoming me to their forum.
I did try almost 6 weeks ago to join as I was having problems with the wifi connection.
I had a quick look on their site and it seems I am not the only one with problems.
They support windross back to XP but the Linux support looks a bit thin, I will have a look anyway and let you know what is happening.
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 7    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 944
  • Karma: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Is kernel upgrade possible ?
« Reply #25 on: April 25, 2015, 04:53:25 pm »
As the title says, I have upgraded the kernel successfully
Thanks for the help chaps  :)
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 7    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17680
  • Karma: 457
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Is kernel upgrade possible ? (Solved)
« Reply #26 on: April 25, 2015, 05:00:48 pm »
Is it a USB wireless card or a built in one ?

Has it worked properly previously under Linux ? .. if so, what changed, have you updated to a newer version of Linux ? .. has the router been changed/adjusted ?

Quote
I bought the machine 14 months ago I use Virgin Media Super Hub (wireless). Is it not a bit soon to be experiencing problems with the hardware.

So you've never had anything fail inside the guarantee period (or as soon as you got it home) .. man you've led a charmed life ;)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 944
  • Karma: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Is kernel upgrade possible ? (Solved)
« Reply #27 on: April 25, 2015, 10:05:07 pm »
Hi Mark,
I am sure I already replied to this but I can't see it anywhere (disappeared into the ether I Suppose)
It is a built in wireless card.
I have upgraded the kernel recently but I have been running Peppermint 5 since it came out.
It is a new (6 months old) wireless router. Virgin Media Super ? Hub
Hope this helps.
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 7    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17680
  • Karma: 457
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Is kernel upgrade possible ? (Solved)
« Reply #28 on: April 26, 2015, 07:27:08 am »
Is the problem a new one .. ie has Peppermint (or any other Ubuntu based distro) ever worked properly with this wireless card ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 944
  • Karma: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Is kernel upgrade possible ? (Solved)
« Reply #29 on: April 26, 2015, 10:11:15 am »
Hi Mark,
This problem started in February

My WiFi won't connect (Solved)
« on: February 18, 2015, 12:48:18 pm »

I don't know when I installed the Virgin Media Super Hub. I reckon about November 2014. Before that I had a cable connection. I can connect via cable and it seems ok, it hasn't dropped the connection to my knowledge, and when the wireless fails I can use the cable without problem.
I have another (Acer Aspire) computer running Windows 7 in the same room, that my grandson uses on a regular basis and that has never shown any problems connecting to wifi, in fact I use it when I lose the wifi on this machine.
I think this looks like it may be more of a Novatech computer problem ? Could I be correct ?
I await your thoughts  ;)

take care
Don W

Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 7    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal