Author Topic: [PART-SOLVED] Unable to set other 'monitor' to 'mirror'  (Read 2786 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
[PART-SOLVED] Unable to set other 'monitor' to 'mirror'
« on: December 15, 2015, 09:33:04 pm »
I am trying to set the TV in the front room to 'mirror' but I am unable to find the setting anywhere.

I'm running Kubuntu 14.04LTS
« Last Edit: December 16, 2015, 07:45:00 pm by pooky2483 »

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Unable to set other 'monitor' to 'mirror'
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2015, 11:07:49 pm »
which graphics drivers ?
Code: [Select]
sudo lshw -C display

if they're proprietary, is there no settings in their respective controls ?

and if they're not proprietary, have you tried installing arandr and using that to configure the monitors ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Unable to set other 'monitor' to 'mirror'
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2015, 02:59:13 am »
which graphics drivers ?
Code: [Select]
sudo lshw -C display

  *-display               
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: RS780L [Radeon 3000]
       vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]
       physical id: 5
       bus info: pci@0000:01:05.0
       version: 00
       width: 32 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
       configuration: driver=radeon latency=0
       resources: irq:18 memory:d0000000-dfffffff ioport:d000(size=256) memory:feaf0000-feafffff memory:fe900000-fe9fffff
Quote
if they're proprietary, is there no settings in their respective controls ?

and if they're not proprietary, have you tried installing arandr and using that to configure the monitors ?

What do you mean, sorry I'm a bit lost there.

Also, I've had them set up as one mirroring the other before.

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Unable to set other 'monitor' to 'mirror'
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2015, 04:32:26 am »
Are you being offered the fglrx drivers from within "Additional Drivers" (wherever that is in kubuntu) ?

Which distro/version did you have mirroring working on ?

Try installing arandr:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install arandr
then find ARandR in your menu, and use that to configure the monitors
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Unable to set other 'monitor' to 'mirror'
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2015, 01:20:03 pm »
Are you being offered the fglrx drivers from within "Additional Drivers" (wherever that is in kubuntu) ?

No as theres no additional drivers installed at all.

Quote
Which distro/version did you have mirroring working on ?

I'm positive it was the one I'm using now, Kubuntu14.04

Quote
Try installing arandr:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install arandr
then find ARandR in your menu, and use that to configure the monitors

I'll give that a go

Hold on... I’ve just remembered,  I've since got a new MoBo and using its on-board gfx & sound.
That may be why I'm unable to select mirror. But I can't see why as they're both ASUS MoBo's.

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Unable to set other 'monitor' to 'mirror'
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2015, 01:23:32 pm »
I installed ARandR and I still cant 'mirror'!

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Unable to set other 'monitor' to 'mirror'
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2015, 01:42:04 pm »
See here:
https://forum.kde.org/viewtopic.php?f=225&t=117052

First remove arandr, it's uneccessary:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get remove --purge arandr
Then in the Display configuration screen (the one you took a screenshot of at the top of this topic), drag the two monitors until they're on top of each other .. and apply
« Last Edit: December 16, 2015, 01:44:45 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Unable to set other 'monitor' to 'mirror'
« Reply #7 on: December 16, 2015, 04:10:27 pm »
Thanks Mark, it worked.
...You should have said to place the monitor that is required to be the mirror in FRONT of the one you want to mirror as I placed the one I want to have the mirrored display at the TOP of the one I want mirroring and nothing happened.

Mirroring not working


Mirroring working

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Unable to set other 'monitor' to 'mirror'
« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2015, 04:18:20 pm »
Surely when working with a "desk top" metaphor, your top image show the small screen ABOVE (or possibly BEHIND) the larger screen, not ON TOP of it ;)

If I said, "here's a kitchen table (or the top of  desk).. place one piece of paper on it, then place the other on top of the first"..... what would you have done ?

But yeah, as it's hard to describe, I included a link that showed what I meant .. perhaps I should have said "overlay one on top of the other".
.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2015, 10:00:58 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Unable to set other 'monitor' to 'mirror'
« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2015, 07:44:28 pm »
well, anyway, you helped put me i the righ direction to fix it (well sort of)
I may think that way because if you're working with sprites (old Commodore 64 there lol) you are working in layers in front of each other.
Just goes to prove that people have a different perception of what people say.

However, I'm still having problems getting the screens to be the same size in scale as they are both displaying different resolutions.

Imagine having a screen size 20" X 12" just for argument sake and you want to mirror it in a display 6" X 4".
What i happening with me is it is not scaling the display down but it's just displaying a section of the screen of the size of the mirror, it is not scaling it down.

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: [PART-SOLVED] Unable to set other 'monitor' to 'mirror'
« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2015, 10:02:54 pm »
Can you not select a resolution for each screen that they both support in the monitor settings (wherever that is in KDE)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: [PART-SOLVED] Unable to set other 'monitor' to 'mirror'
« Reply #11 on: December 17, 2015, 07:40:50 pm »
I can, yes. But that only works when I'm not mirroring the display, for some reason it does not scale it.

Kubuntu 16.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.36.0|QT 5.6.1|Linux 4.15.0-39-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal