Author Topic: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer (Solved)  (Read 9759 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 9
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
WiFi dropped on Novatech computer (Solved)
« on: June 26, 2016, 08:33:31 pm »
Hi Mark,
I have been using WiFi on my computer downstairs for a while now. For the second time this week the WiFi has disappeared.
I have taken a note of your advice from last time and am posting the results here. Is there anything that can be done to cure this. I still have the TP-Link hardware I purchased the last time I had this problem.
PS I switched off and restarted the computer and the WiFi was ok, I was able to send this without having to go upstairs and plug in a cable.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2016, 02:51:11 pm by donwatson »
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 9    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space
External 2TiB HD

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2016, 11:13:39 pm »
Is this a new wireless adapter ?, or have you/we tried any fixes previously ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

The Linux Community Forum

Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2016, 11:13:39 pm »

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 9
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2016, 09:06:14 pm »
Hi Mark,
I had this problem start about February. I am connected to a Virgin Superhub and I/we have been through quite a few trials since the problem started. I am back to my original setup I had in February ie I am using the Virgin Superhub. I can't understand why it drops the WiFi connection ?
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 9    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space
External 2TiB HD

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2016, 10:39:14 pm »
Did we ever try WiCD instead of networkmanager ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 9
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2016, 11:38:22 pm »
Dunno. Don't think so.
We tried quite a few things over a couple of months but I settled on reverting to my original Virgin Superhub and living with the problems it threw up. I can live with it but it would be nice to know what is causing this problem and if it could be sorted. I could go through all the suggestions from the beginning as I may have reset something when I took the TP-LINK 300Mbps Router (TL-WR841N) off. I still have that but I don't think it made any difference to my problems last time plus it took a bit of room for the extra cabling that reduced the working space on my desktop.

take care
Don W
PS I have just been to Peppermint Forums and I want Pep 7 ;)
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 9    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space
External 2TiB HD

The Linux Community Forum

Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2016, 11:38:22 pm »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2016, 11:38:40 am »
So which do you want to try first

Peppermint 7
or
Replacing NetworkManager with WiCD
?

Might be worth trying Peppermint 7 or Ubuntu 16.04 or Mint 18 as a LiveCD/LiveUSB first.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2016, 11:40:23 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 9
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2016, 08:06:39 pm »
Whatever would be best.
I would like to install Pep 7 first. Would it be possible to purchase a USB Pen Drive with the necessary files on it ?

take care
Don W
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 9    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space
External 2TiB HD

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2016, 11:19:21 pm »
Peppermint aren't selling USB sticks at the moment, but if you have one 2GB or larger lying around I can talk you through creaating one if you want ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 9
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2016, 10:15:10 am »
I have a 2GB pen drive that says it is a Boot Disk, I think it was for reinstalling XP. I can wipe that if that would be suitable ?

Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 9    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space
External 2TiB HD

The Linux Community Forum

Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2016, 10:15:10 am »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #9 on: June 30, 2016, 05:23:59 pm »
If it's a 2GB USB stick, and you're happy to wipe it, yeah we can continue ..

a) will we be using Windows or Linux to make this USB stick ?

b) how old is the PC .. or gimme the spec

c) do you want 64bit or 32bit .. personally I'd advise 64bit if you're CPU isn't 32bit only

If you're already running Ubuntu and don't know the answers to the above questions, post the output from
Code: [Select]
uname -a
and
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep pae
and
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep model
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 9
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #10 on: June 30, 2016, 08:46:46 pm »
Mark,
I will be using this Linux machine to create this USB stick.
I can use 64 bit on this machine
Does this help
[email protected] ~ $ uname -a
Linux ldwatson 3.16.0-76-generic #98~14.04.1-Ubuntu SMP Fri Jun 24 17:04:54 UTC 2016 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
[email protected] ~ $ cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep pae
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf eagerfpu pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer xsave lahf_lm arat epb xsaveopt pln pts dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid fsgsbase smep erms
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf eagerfpu pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer xsave lahf_lm arat epb xsaveopt pln pts dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid fsgsbase smep erms
[email protected] ~ $ cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep model
model      : 58
model name   : Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1037U @ 1.80GHz
model      : 58
model name   : Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1037U @ 1.80GHz
[email protected] ~ $

take care
Don W

Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 9    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space
External 2TiB HD

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #11 on: July 03, 2016, 01:06:32 am »
Okay, creating the USB stick is extremely easy in Peppermint 6

Just plug in the USB stick, then right click on the Peppermint 7 ISO and select "Make Bootable USB Stick" .. then selcet the USB stick from the dropmenu .. then click write.

That's all there is to it.

Sorry I'm being a bit slow to respond but things are a bit manic since the Peppermint 7 release .. it'll quieten down soon.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 9
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #12 on: July 03, 2016, 02:06:14 pm »
Thanks Mark,
I have carried out the above instructions. Should Pep 7 boot from this stick ?
I have tried to boot from the USB stick but the computer just gives a ' MACHINE CHECK ERROR' that continually loops.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2016, 03:25:59 pm by donwatson »
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 9    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space
External 2TiB HD

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #13 on: July 04, 2016, 12:21:35 am »
See here:
https://askubuntu.com/questions/362063/machine-check-error-when-booting-from-usb

try disabling secureboot and toggling virtualization setting off/on in the BIOS

Theoretically this shouldn't be necessary, but it seems to work for some.

You might also want to try a different USB slot.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 9
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: WiFi dropped on Novatech computer
« Reply #14 on: July 04, 2016, 05:00:13 pm »
Thanks Mark,
I did think of using another slot, but I will see what happens with these suggestions.

I have now used all 3 slots on this machine to no avail. I have been into BIOS but it sadly (to me) has no sensible information to impart.

When I go to BOOT OPTIONS in the Bios at the bottom of the page it says
>OS Select and when I highlight that it says
'If OS Select set Windows8 and UEFI Boot set Enable, it's in Windows8 UEFI Mode with secure boot.'

If I click on it it goes to another page with the option Windows8/Others and a line below that says
UEFI Boot              disabled.
I am giving up for a while as I am caught up in an attack of the Winter Vomiting Bug
PS I have had a look at Pep 7 on this machine, it finally burst into life. I don't know if I'm ready to do a complete reinstall as it looks like a lot of work and I am not up to it at the moment.
Thanks again for your help.
« Last Edit: July 04, 2016, 08:57:29 pm by donwatson »
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 9    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space
External 2TiB HD

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal