Author Topic: Permissions problems [solved]  (Read 3648 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mikep

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
  • Karma: 1
  • Gender: Male
  • Me again!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Permissions problems [solved]
« on: April 16, 2017, 06:57:59 pm »
I've just uninstalled vn 5.0.36 of Virtualbox, and installed vn 5.1.18. At least I think I have.. However, when I use the 'search your computer' feature in Ubuntu 16.04, it still seems to find the old version, although it says it's installed 'nowhere'.

Confused? Me too, but it gets better, or rather, worse.

Immediately after installing the new version I was able to add a VM from the previous version, start it, use it and suspend it while I went out to the Co-Op (I live life in the fast lane..)

Now I open Virtualbox to find the welcome screen and no existing VMs. What's more, I can't add the same VM again. I get the following message...




Runtime error opening '/home/mike/VirtualBox VMs/XP/XP.vbox' for reading: -38(Access denied.).
/home/vbox/vbox-5.1.18/src/VBox/Main/src-server/MachineImpl.cpp[485] (nsresult Machine::initFromSettings(VirtualBox*, const com::Utf8Str&, const com::Guid*)).


Result Code:
NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
Component:
MachineWrap
Interface:
IMachine {b2547866-a0a1-4391-8b86-6952d82efaa0}
Callee:
IVirtualBox {0169423f-46b4-cde9-91af-1e9d5b6cd945}



I've tried moving the VM to my home folder in case that helped, but Ubuntu tells me I don't own it, so I can't move it.

I'm the only user of this PC and I created the old VM, so how can I not be the owner?

As always, thanks in advance for any/all help..
« Last Edit: April 28, 2017, 01:07:15 am by mikep »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16966
  • Karma: 429
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Permissions problems
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2017, 03:09:05 am »
What's the output from
Code: [Select]
dpkg -l | grep virtualbox
and
Code: [Select]
ls -l "/home/mike/VirtualBox VMs"
and
Code: [Select]
ls -l "/home/mike/VirtualBox VMs/XP"
?
« Last Edit: April 17, 2017, 07:15:02 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline mikep

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
  • Karma: 1
  • Gender: Male
  • Me again!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Permissions problems
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2017, 02:48:03 pm »
Outputs below Mark,

mike@mike-ubuntu:~$ dpkg -l | grep virtualbox
ii  unity-scope-virtualbox                               0.1+13.10.20130723-0ubuntu1                   all          VirtualBox scope for Unity
ii  virtualbox-5.1                                       5.1.18-114002~Ubuntu~xenial                   amd64        Oracle VM VirtualBox
mike@mike-ubuntu:~$ ls -l "/home/mike/VirtualBox VMs"
total 4
drwxrwxr-x 4 mike mike 4096 Apr 16 17:40 XP
mike@mike-ubuntu:~$ ls -l "/home/mike/VirtualBox VMs/XP"
total 10485824
drwx------ 2 mike mike        4096 Apr 16 17:37 Logs
drwx------ 2 mike mike        4096 Apr 16 17:37 Snapshots
-rw------- 1 root root        3083 Apr 16 17:40 XP.vbox
-rw------- 1 root root        3083 Apr 16 17:37 XP.vbox-prev
-rw------- 1 mike mike 10739515392 Apr 16 17:40 XP.vdi
mike@mike-ubuntu:~$ ^C
mike@mike-ubuntu:~$



As far as I can tell from this, the new version is the only one installed and I have read, write permissions to the VM, but root owns it..

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16966
  • Karma: 429
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Permissions problems
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2017, 07:10:48 pm »
Try this...

Open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo chown -R mike:mike "/home/mike/VirtualBox VMs/XP"
Now see if you can start the XP VM ?

If not, post the output from:
Code: [Select]
ls -l "/home/mike/VirtualBox VMs/XP
again
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline mikep

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
  • Karma: 1
  • Gender: Male
  • Me again!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Permissions problems
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2017, 11:07:40 pm »
Thanks Mark,

The change of ownership seems to have worked. The VM now appears in the Virtualbox list of VMs and I can start it.

Next step is to create another VM and see who the owner is..  I'll try that in the next couple of days. I'll wait till then to mark this thread solved, although I think it is.

Thanks again.

PS: I'm now starting to read resources about the command line. Bit like learning DOS all over again.. Happy days. Then along came Windows 3.1...
« Last Edit: April 17, 2017, 11:20:55 pm by mikep »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16966
  • Karma: 429
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Permissions problems
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2017, 02:38:15 pm »
You're welcome Mike .. If I had to guess, I'd guess you copied the VM from another machine and did it with elevated privileges ?

Or you somehow started Vbox with elevated privileges when you first ran that VM ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline mikep

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
  • Karma: 1
  • Gender: Male
  • Me again!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Permissions problems
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2017, 01:01:23 am »
Everything seems to be working ok now. I created a new VM and the owner was 'me'.

The old VM works as does a clone I made of it.

I didn't copy from another machine, and the only way I can think I was running with elevated privileges would be if I'd elevated them to do updates immediately before creating the old VM. Is that even plausible?

Thanks Mark. I'll make this solved now..

PS: the weird thing is still that when I use the 'search your computer' feature it finds only the old version. Although it says it's installed 'nowhere', I still have the uninstall option available..
« Last Edit: April 28, 2017, 01:06:21 am by mikep »

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal