Author Topic: Upgrading to 64bit Mint  (Read 8105 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Rich J

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
  • A Linux Luvvie!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Upgrading to 64bit Mint
« on: August 02, 2017, 04:01:40 pm »
Hi All.  I've decided to have a go at upgrading my machine from 32bit to 64 bit (currently Mint 17 32bit, going to Mint 18 64bit). 

I currently have installed a 160Gb HDD with Mint 17 on it and a 40Gb slave HDD that is blank (i.e. unallocated space).  In preparation, I've downloaded the Mint 18 iso and burned it to disk.  This boots ok and works as expected so I expect the install to be the same.

My plan is to install Mint 18 on the 40Gb HDD, move everything over to it from the 160Gb HDD then, if all goes well, wipe the 160Gb HDD and do a fresh install of Mint 18 on that.  (The current data only takes up a fraction of the available space on the 160Gb HDD so I hope will not be an issue moving it to a smaller drive).  If all goes well I'll move everything back again.

Q  Is this method feasible or appropriate?  (My fear is losing the data and messing up the settings of 2 users (self and wife - and I really don't want to risk the wrath of Khan!!)  Or would it be better/easier to create a partition and move the data only over?  If I could preserve the settings also it would save a lot of work.

Q  Can the whole drive be cloned/copied and moved over?  I think there is scope to shrink the partition on the 160Gb drive to make it 'appear' smaller than 40Gb but I daren't try that without help!!

I'm not fussed about Mint 18 either - it's just the latest incarnation - if a straight change to Mint 17 64bit is better then that would be ok too.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts/advice/opinions etc ;)

Rich




Offline wishbone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Upgrading to 64bit Mint
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2017, 08:16:19 pm »
Hi Rich,

Don`t know if this will be of help but here we go.

I back up my system with FSArchiver to a hard drive and a usb drive, belt and braces approach.

http://linux.softpedia.com/get/Linux-Distributions/qt4-fsarchiver-Live-CD-DVD-103665.shtml

I have also just come across Aptik which is supposed to be a back up and restore of packages and software.

 http://www.teejeetech.in/2014/01/introducing-aptik.html

I haven`t tried Aptik as a restoration as yet, but I have used the back up part and that seems to have gone OK. FSArchiver I use on a regular basis and it works like a charm. Mainly used after trying out different packages that don`t work or I feel that isn`t right for me. Also used after a large(ish) update.

Anyway, that`s a couple of my thoughts, good luck.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17252
  • Karma: 436
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Upgrading to 64bit Mint
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2017, 11:10:22 pm »
If you're worried about installing on the wrong drive and loosing data, why not

a) format the 40GB with a single data partition

b) Copy your user files (docs, piics, etc.) to it.

c) Once you're sure they're there and safe .. shut down and remove that drive entirely (putting it aside for now).

d) Install Mint 18 64bit allowing the installer to wipe the 160GB drive and "replace" Mint 17.

e) once installed, shut down.

f) reattach the 40GB drive, and copy the user files back to the 160GB drive.

g) decide what you want to do with the 40GB .. here's a suggestion:
https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,1835.0.html
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Rich J

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
  • A Linux Luvvie!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Upgrading to 64bit Mint
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2017, 11:06:26 am »
Hi - and thanks for the replies.  I've had a couple of issues that you may be able to help with?

Briefly - I've removed the 40GB drive as there were problems trying to install Mint 18 to it.  So, my next thought is to dual-boot Mint 17 and 18 on the same (160GB) drive.  I prefer to try out a full install of 18 on a HDD firstly a) to see if it works and b) to see if there are any performance advantages.  I know from the live session of 18 that it will install ok alongside 17 by shrinking the drive and it says no personal data will be affected BUT I need to backup 17 first, just in case.

In preparation, I cloned the entire disk image of 17 (via Clonezilla) on to a 500GB USB 2 external HDD (Seagate GoFlex) as a backup for 17.  All seems ok with the operation. 

Issue 1 - When I plug in the Seagate, it doesn't mount (it did mount ok before, when it was a blank drive).  Is it supposed to mount?  Disk manager sees it and shows the partitions and labels etc.  I assume that, if I need to reinstall/repair 17 from that drive, I would use Clonezilla to reverse the process?

Issue 2 (coincidence?) - for some reason, after cloning, when I fire up 17 the wired internet connection wouldn't work, ditto wireless when I plugged in a dongle.  I checked the connection details and all seemed ok there. I re-booted the router. (Other devices, phones etc work ok). I re-booted the computer and the connection worked for about 30 seconds, then dropped. I rebooted again and this lasted several minutes.  Is it possible that cloning the disk has altered something in the Network Manager?  (I realise this topic may need a separate post)

Thanks in advance

Rich


Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17252
  • Karma: 436
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Upgrading to 64bit Mint
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2017, 12:54:01 pm »
1) The best way to test a backup would be to try booting from it.

2) NO, cloning a drive should not change anything on the source drive.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Rich J

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
  • A Linux Luvvie!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Upgrading to 64bit Mint
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2017, 01:43:23 pm »
1) The best way to test a backup would be to try booting from it.

2) NO, cloning a drive should not change anything on the source drive.

Thanks Mark - I'll try booting my laptop from the backup - my main computer will only boot from HDD or CD/DVD unfortunately.

Can you advise please re the internet connection?  I had to reboot again to get it to fire up for this session.  At present it is running but may drop out at any time.  I suspect it's Mint's Network Manager at fault as it's the same with wired and wireless connections.  Is there a work-round/ reinstall or alternative Manager that might stabilise it?

Thanks again

Rich

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17252
  • Karma: 436
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Upgrading to 64bit Mint
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2017, 03:22:11 pm »
What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
sudo lshw -C network
and
Code: [Select]
ifconfig
and
Code: [Select]
iwconfig
and
Code: [Select]
iwlist scan
and
Code: [Select]
rfkill list
and
Code: [Select]
sudo lspci -vnn | grep -i net
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Rich J

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
  • A Linux Luvvie!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Upgrading to 64bit Mint
« Reply #7 on: August 11, 2017, 03:36:58 pm »
What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
sudo lshw -C network
and
Code: [Select]
ifconfig
and
Code: [Select]
iwconfig
and
Code: [Select]
iwlist scan
and
Code: [Select]
rfkill list
and
Code: [Select]
sudo lspci -vnn | grep -i net

As requested

*-network               
       description: Ethernet interface
       product: RTL-8100/8101L/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter
       vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
       physical id: 3
       bus info: pci@0000:02:03.0
       logical name: eth0
       version: 10
       serial: 00:15:58:c1:7c:f4
       size: 100Mbit/s
       capacity: 100Mbit/s
      width: 32 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
       configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=8139too driverversion=0.9.28 duplex=full ip=192.168.0.2 latency=32 link=yes maxlatency=64 mingnt=32 multicast=yes port=MII speed=100Mbit/s
       resources: irq:16 ioport:ee00(size=256) memory:fddff000-fddff0ff

Just a thought here - would this device work if I install Mint 18 64 bits on this computer?

ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:15:58:c1:7c:f4 
          inet addr:192.168.0.2  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::215:58ff:fec1:7cf4/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:43296 errors:8 dropped:38 overruns:5 frame:0
          TX packets:29592 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:44949068 (44.9 MB)  TX bytes:3122872 (3.1 MB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:2062 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2062 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:205254 (205.2 KB)  TX bytes:205254 (205.2 KB)

iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

iwlist scan
lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.

eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.

richard@richard-Ei-306 ~ $ rfkill list
richard@richard-Ei-306 ~ $               Nothing returned

sudo lspci -vnn | grep -i net
02:03.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8100/8101L/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter [10ec:8139] (rev 10)






Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17252
  • Karma: 436
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Upgrading to 64bit Mint
« Reply #8 on: August 11, 2017, 03:40:21 pm »
The 32bit network width has nothing to do with the CPU/Memory bus architecture.

Why am I seeing no wireless hardware ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Rich J

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
  • A Linux Luvvie!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Upgrading to 64bit Mint
« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2017, 09:09:56 am »
The 32bit network width has nothing to do with the CPU/Memory bus architecture.

Right - thank you.

Why am I seeing no wireless hardware ?

There is no on board wireless on this desktop. It's a vintage XP machine that I converted to Linux about 5 years ago and still sings along merrily - until now that is!  It sits, literally, 3 feet from the router so a cable connection is fine.  I do have a wireless dongle that does work well with it but I only use that, very rarely, for testing.  It was the cable connection that kept dropping (and then the dongle when I tried that) but as of now seems to have settled down.  It was definitely something amiss with this m/c as our phones and other laptops connect through the same router and they were fine.




 

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17252
  • Karma: 436
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Upgrading to 64bit Mint
« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2017, 12:39:41 pm »
I'm thinking this might be 2 separate problems.

a) maybe the cable itself, or the port it's plugged into (PC or router).
and
b) a separate wireless issue, maybe the drivers.

Do you still need to troubleshoot this ? .. and if so, which first ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Rich J

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
  • A Linux Luvvie!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Upgrading to 64bit Mint
« Reply #11 on: August 12, 2017, 08:14:26 pm »
I'm thinking this might be 2 separate problems.

a) maybe the cable itself, or the port it's plugged into (PC or router).
and
b) a separate wireless issue, maybe the drivers.

Do you still need to troubleshoot this ? .. and if so, which first ?

Hi Mark - this issue seems to have cured itself  ??? so can be shelved for now, and thank you.

Going back to the main topic -

I installed Mint 18 alongside 17 as a dual-boot as per the instructions on the install disk.  This seemed to go ok until I restarted and got a 'no partition' error.  I found your instructions for re-installing Grub (May 2014) and that worked ok.  Grub 'sees' both M17 and M18.  M17 boots ok and a quick check shows all appears intact. M18, however doesn't boot - it's the old 'black screen' problem again which IIRC is to do with the NVidia graphics.  There is a signal to the monitor, the green light is on, but nothing on the screen itself. I've tried a few methods to sort it (nomodeset, no splash etc) but no joy!

There's no M18 'Recovery' option in the Grub list - just an 'Advanced Settings' one so I can't find a way to get to a proper edit screen.

GParted (from the live session disk) shows the drive divided into 2 equal parts with 17 on the 1st one and 18 on the 2nd.  But 18 only lists 2 partitions and I'm wondering if it has actually installed fully?  I used the slider to shrink the space and then let the installer 'get on with it' rather than manually partition it - it's worked fine that way before.

Any advice would be great!

Cheers

Rich

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17252
  • Karma: 436
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Upgrading to 64bit Mint
« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2017, 09:19:03 pm »
You tried nomodeset on the Mint 18 kernel boot line ?

From Mint 17, what's the output from:
Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -l
and
Code: [Select]
sudo blkid
and the contents of
Code: [Select]
gedit /boot/grub/grub.cfg
If Mint 17 uses some other text editor than gedit, you'll need to adjust that last command accordingly.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Rich J

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
  • A Linux Luvvie!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Upgrading to 64bit Mint
« Reply #13 on: August 13, 2017, 07:42:40 am »
You tried nomodeset on the Mint 18 kernel boot line ?

Yes, but the screen is nothing like I've seen before so I'm not sure if it's the correct place to edit it. And the change doesn't survive a reboot

From Mint 17, what's the output from:
Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -l
and
Code: [Select]
sudo blkid
and the contents of
Code: [Select]
gedit /boot/grub/grub.cfg
If Mint 17 uses some other text editor than gedit, you'll need to adjust that last command accordingly.

richard@richard-Ei-306 ~ $ sudo fdisk -l
[sudo] password for richard:

Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders, total 312581808 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x0001ba51

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *        2048      980991      489472   83  Linux
/dev/sda2          983038   312580095   155798529    5  Extended
/dev/sda5          983040   152638097    75827529   83  Linux
/dev/sda6       304693248   312580095     3943424   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda7       152639488   304689151    76024832   83  Linux

Partition table entries are not in disk order
richard@richard-Ei-306 ~ $

richard@richard-Ei-306 ~ $ sudo blkid
/dev/sda1: UUID="bd41cb59-1633-4957-8b92-e85530ad0662" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda5: UUID="fd7a3f3e-5d95-48cb-ab1b-0a7415cfd185" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda6: UUID="eed0839a-eded-443d-91b6-f1c239008fe0" TYPE="swap"
/dev/sda7: UUID="1d962daa-7189-4b02-876d-238a8e6cc474" TYPE="ext4"
richard@richard-Ei-306 ~ $

gedit /boot/grub/grub.cfg - nothing returned in the config file, page is blank 

(this appeared in terminal though - ** (gedit:3366): WARNING **: Could not write gedit state file: Failed to create file '/home/richard/.gnome2/gedit/gedit-2.O2LG4Y': Permission denied)

I tried the same command but with 'sudo' before it but with the same result.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17252
  • Karma: 436
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Upgrading to 64bit Mint
« Reply #14 on: August 13, 2017, 11:00:20 am »
Quote
gedit /boot/grub/grub.cfg - nothing returned in the config file, page is blank 

Well that makes no sense  :-\

What happens if you run:
Code: [Select]
sudo update-grub
then
Code: [Select]
gedit /boot/grub/grub.cfg
is it still blank ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal