Author Topic: [SOLVED] Boot without password  (Read 2194 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2000
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
[SOLVED] Boot without password
« on: September 28, 2017, 09:31:52 pm »
I need to set my desktop PC to boot without needing to enter my password as I am mainly on my laptop and use teamviewer to access my desktop PC.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2017, 12:19:38 pm by pooky2483 »

Kubuntu 14.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.14.13|QT 4.8.6|Linux 4.2.0-42-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17261
  • Karma: 436
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Boot without password
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2017, 09:48:18 pm »
Which distro/version ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2000
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Boot without password
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2017, 02:54:29 pm »
In my 'tag' lol!

But I'll let you off as most people don't bother reading them ::) :P.

Kubuntu 14.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.14.13|QT 4.8.6|Linux 4.2.0-42-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Kubuntu 14.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.14.13|QT 4.8.6|Linux 4.2.0-42-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17261
  • Karma: 436
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Boot without password
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2017, 03:13:04 pm »
It's not that I didn't read it, it's that I have no way of knowing if that's the PC you're talking about (or if indeed the sig still applies) .. you mentioned "on my desktop PC", so I figured as you'd mentioned it maybe your sig was from another PC.
(I'm sure I've said this before .. it'd help when asking a question if you said something like "system specs in my signature" if that is indeed the PC you're talking about)

Try this...

Run:
Code: [Select]
sudo kate /etc/sddm.conf
when a blank file opens, make it read:-
Code: [Select]
[Autologin]
User=YourUsername
Session=plasma.desktop
(replacing "YourUsername" with your actual login username)

SAVE the file, and reboot to test.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2017, 03:18:28 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2000
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Boot without password
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2017, 07:13:04 pm »
Understandable, I can't see you sitting at the PC all day answerin questions on here.
I tried the commands and I still had to enter my password at boot.

Kubuntu 14.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.14.13|QT 4.8.6|Linux 4.2.0-42-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17261
  • Karma: 436
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Boot without password
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2017, 08:01:24 pm »
I take it you've tried this:-
  • Go to KDE settings.
  • Go to the "Login Screen" menu.
  • Go to the "Convenience" tab.
  • Put a tick in the "Auto-Login" tick box.
  • Select your username from the dropdown menu.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2017, 12:34:40 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2000
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Boot without password
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2017, 12:05:33 pm »
No, as I didn't know about that or where to look as I since using 16.04 I'm lost, But now I've changed the settings.

Sorry, I've got mixed up there, I changed 16.04's settings and not 14.04. I'll just use Teamviewer to change them on 14.04.

I'll have to remove the automount settings for one of the drives as it's power (plug) has failed, before I can try a reboot.

Thanks
« Last Edit: October 01, 2017, 12:07:30 pm by pooky2483 »

Kubuntu 14.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.14.13|QT 4.8.6|Linux 4.2.0-42-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2000
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Get your FREE Ubuntu stickers here. I'm the UK address
    • Awards
Re: Boot without password
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2017, 12:19:12 pm »
It worked, thanks Mark :-)

Kubuntu 14.04LTS 64bit|KDE 4.14.13|QT 4.8.6|Linux 4.2.0-42-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17261
  • Karma: 436
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: [SOLVED] Boot without password
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2017, 12:27:57 pm »
No problem my mate :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal