Author Topic: NO FLASH!- SOLVED BY AWESOME MARK!  (Read 23345 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
NO FLASH!- SOLVED BY AWESOME MARK!
« on: October 06, 2017, 06:56:14 pm »
This is Melissa- I'm on my Mint Dell inspiron mini and I have no flash! I can't log into my usual account as it is saved on my chromebook and the charger died for it. I am going crazy having no access to you tube or being able to use audacious to play oggs and mp3s. The firefox I had on here made me update it but now there is no flash,
« Last Edit: October 06, 2017, 10:51:49 pm by Mel »

Offline Mel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2017, 06:57:44 pm »
specs:

karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $ Code: Select all
Code:: command not found
karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System: Host: karij-Inspiron-1011 Kernel: 3.2.0-23-generic i686 (32 bit, gcc: 4.6.3)
Desktop: N/A Distro: Linux Mint 13 Maya
Machine: System: Dell (portable) product: Inspiron 1011 version: A06
Mobo: Dell model: CN0Y53 version: A06 Bios: Dell version: A06 date: 07/29/2009
CPU: Single core Intel Atom CPU N270 (-HT-) cache: 512 KB flags: (nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3) bmips: 3192.25
Clock Speeds: 1: 1600.00 MHz 2: 1600.00 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Mobile 945GSE Express Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1024x600@60.0hz
GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945GME x86/MMX/SSE2 GLX Version: 1.4 Mesa 8.0.4 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio: Card: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: 1.0.24
Network: Card-1: Broadcom BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY driver: wl bus-ID: 03:00.0
IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter>
Card-2: Realtek RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller
driver: r8169 ver: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 2000 bus-ID: 04:00.0
IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives: HDD Total Size: 168.1GB (17.6% used) 1: /dev/sda SAMSUNG_SSD_UM41 8.0GB
2: USB /dev/sdc OneTouch_III 160.0GB
Partition: ID: / size: 6.5G used: 4.6G (75%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 1.06GB used: 0.17GB (16%) fs: swap
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 51.0C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 139 Uptime: 4:58 Memory: 481.2/992.5MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.6.3 Client: Shell inxi: 1.7.33
karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2017, 07:18:50 pm »
What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
dpkg -l | grep flash
?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Mel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2017, 08:01:57 pm »
karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $ dpkg -l | grep flash
rc  adobe-flashplugin                      1:20170411.1-0ubuntu0.12.04.1           Adobe Flash Player plugin
rc  flashplugin-installer                  25.0.0.148ubuntu0.12.04.1               Adobe Flash Player plugin installer
ii  mint-flashplugin                       2016.12.14                              Metapackage for Adobe Flash plugin
ii  mint-flashplugin-10.2                  10.2.153.1                              Adobe Flash plugin 10.2
ii  mint-flashplugin-24                    25.0.0.127                              Adobe Flash plugin 24
karij@karij-Inspiron-1011 ~ $





Offline Mel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2017, 08:05:34 pm »
Thanks Mark- see the output results above. I will be taking this netbook to the computer shop when I can afford it. I was told on a Mint forum that this netbook probably can't have the RAM added to, but we shall see..

I can't afford a new SSD foir it for awhile- would a new HD make a difference? It must have had one when it was new ( got this second hand) as it says 160GB hard drive on a sticker by the mouse panel.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2017, 08:07:27 pm »
Does running:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install adobe-flashplugin adobe-flash-properties-gtk
then closing ALL web browser instances, and reopening Firefox result in working flash ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Mel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2017, 08:16:00 pm »
No, it just endlessly buffers! I wish I hadn't updated the firefox I had on here, but when prompted I thought it might make the netbook faster- well it has only there is now no working flash.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2017, 08:18:27 pm »
run:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get remove --purge mint-flashplugin-24 mint-flashplugin-10.2 mint-flashplugin
then restart firefox

Any difference ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Mel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2017, 08:35:16 pm »
Nope, sad to say. Still buffering. They told me on the Mint forum my version of Mint is too old to be updated, but to get it back to the old firefox I couldn't understand the instructions.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2017, 08:46:21 pm »
In Firefox go to
about:plugins

Is there a section similar to this:-

Quote
Shockwave Flash

    File: libfreshwrapper-flashplayer.so
    Path: /usr/lib/browser-plugin-freshplayer-pepperflash/libfreshwrapper-flashplayer.so
    Version: 25.0.0.171
    State: Enabled
    Shockwave Flash 25.0 r0

If so, what does it say ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Melissa

  • Vintage geek
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1484
  • Karma: 1
  • Gender: Female
  • Been a Linux user since around 2010
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2017, 09:07:44 pm »

Flash Player Plugin on Linux 26.0.0.131 and older (click-to-play) has been blocked for your protection.

Why was it blocked?
    Old versions of the Flash Player plugin have known vulnerabilities. All users are strongly recommended to check for updates on Adobe's Flash page.
Who is affected?
What does this mean?

    The problematic add-on or plugin will be automatically disabled and no longer usable.
    When Mozilla becomes aware of add-ons, plugins, or other third-party software that seriously compromises Firefox security, stability, or performance and meets certain criteria, the software may be blocked from general use. For more information, please read this support article.

Blocked on Aug 25, 2017. View block request.
My computer: Asus notebook x102B, running on Peppermint 9.


In a world without fences and walls, who needs Gates and Windows?

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
« Reply #11 on: October 06, 2017, 09:14:11 pm »
In Firefox, go to
about:addons

Then select the "Plugins" tab on the left.

Now next to "Shockwave Flash" choose "Always Enabled" from the drop menu.

.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2017, 09:28:35 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Melissa

  • Vintage geek
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1484
  • Karma: 1
  • Gender: Female
  • Been a Linux user since around 2010
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
« Reply #12 on: October 06, 2017, 09:31:05 pm »
I already did that many times last night and it says to update it then takes me to that page I posted which says it can't be updated.
My computer: Asus notebook x102B, running on Peppermint 9.


In a world without fences and walls, who needs Gates and Windows?

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
« Reply #13 on: October 06, 2017, 09:33:24 pm »
Run:
Code: [Select]
sudo updatedb
now what's the output from:
Code: [Select]
dpkg -l | grep firefox
and
Code: [Select]
locate libflash
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Melissa

  • Vintage geek
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1484
  • Karma: 1
  • Gender: Female
  • Been a Linux user since around 2010
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: HELP PLEASE NO FLASH!
« Reply #14 on: October 06, 2017, 09:34:09 pm »
Is there not another flash or browser that would work with my old version of Mint that is easily installed? I will get Peppermint 8 put on here at the computer shop when I can.
My computer: Asus notebook x102B, running on Peppermint 9.


In a world without fences and walls, who needs Gates and Windows?

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal