Author Topic: Update showing error - what does it mean? [Solved]  (Read 265 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ahead

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Update showing error - what does it mean? [Solved]
« on: October 09, 2017, 10:03:57 am »
Hello - I tried to install 4 updates in Update Manager today and I got these 2 error messages:

E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' to correct the problem.
E: _cache->open() failed, please report.

What action should I take?

Thank you.



« Last Edit: October 09, 2017, 05:29:21 pm by ahead »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17261
  • Karma: 436
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Update showing error - what does it mean?
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2017, 01:31:00 pm »
Try running:
Code: [Select]
sudo dpkg --configure -a
and see if you get any errors ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline ahead

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Update showing error - what does it mean?
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2017, 02:23:37 pm »
[sudo] password for graham:
Setting up brscan-skey (0.2.4-1) ...
Setting up brscan4 (0.4.4-3) ...
This software is based in part on the work of the Independent JPEG Group.

This is the result, Mark.

EDIT: Updates have now worked!
« Last Edit: October 09, 2017, 02:28:20 pm by ahead »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17261
  • Karma: 436
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Update showing error - what does it mean?
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2017, 02:36:38 pm »
Yep all fixed .. for some reason brscan-skey and brscan4 didn't finish installing/configuring the first time, but they have now :)

Can you please remember to mark the topic (SOLVED) .. TIA :)

[EDIT]

You can do this by editing the FIRST posting in this topic and changing:-

Subject: Update showing error - what does it mean? (SOLVED)

.
« Last Edit: October 09, 2017, 02:41:24 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal