Author Topic: Skype needs to be upgraded  (Read 213 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline woodward

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Skype needs to be upgraded
« on: November 12, 2017, 08:27:38 am »
Dear All,

I have an Acer Aspire One and have had Peppermint 6 OS (32 Bit) since it was launched.

My only problem is that Skype now needs upgrading and I am told this cannot be done
because of the 32 Bit system.

What are my options ?   

Peppermint 6 OS - 64 Bit

or a more up to date Peppermint system ( 7 or above ? )

Looking through Forum - I received this reply to my query in July 2017

"Well you're out of luck then, the new Skype is 64bit ONLY I'm afraid.

That said, the new Skype Client for Linux is only a wrapper for their web client .. so if you're running Peppermint you could always just make an ICE SSB that points to https://login.skype.com/login it gives you everything the new Skype Client for Linux app does except the tray icons"

Does this still apply and if so please help me I am not literate enough to know to "make an ICE SSB etc"

Thanks in anticipation for your help,

Regards

Kevin Woodward

« Last Edit: November 12, 2017, 02:21:30 pm by woodward »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17312
  • Karma: 439
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Skype needs to be upgraded
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2017, 02:47:35 pm »
Give the web version of Skype a shot via an SSB (it can easily be removed if it isn't what you want)...

Open the ICE application in Peppermint.

In ICE set:-

Name the application = Skype (web)
Enter web address = https://login.skype.com/login
Where in the menu = Internet

Click the "Use site favicon" button, and wait for the Skype logo to appear.

Select the browser backend .. you'll probably want to choose chromium unless you don't have that installed, but you can choose Chrome or Firefox as long as you have them installed.

Click the  "Apply" button.

ICE will now have added a menu item in your main menu, so go to:-

Menu > Internet > Skype (web)

and see if the web version of Skype does what you need ?
« Last Edit: November 12, 2017, 02:52:57 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal