Author Topic: Address Book in Thunderbird  (Read 563 times)

Offline Alen Gibb

• I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Address Book in Thunderbird
« on: February 18, 2019, 10:58:21 am »
I am very new to Linux - Linux Mint 19.1 Cinnamon - and realise I have a lot to learn. I want to make a success of it as I am very keen to move away from everything Microsoft. I am not very experienced on a computer other than word processing, internet browsing and emails. I am fortunate to have two computers - a desktop loaded with Linux and my laptop with Windows 10 - I will keep the Windows OS until I am conversant with Linux.
I am having great difficulty with transferring my Outlook Address Book to Thunderbird. This is important to me with over 300 contacts split into a dozen or so groups. I have no problem in exporting from Outlook with a .csv file on a flash drive. I have no problem loading that file on to Linux on the desktop. The problem is loading it on to Thunderbird. I get to the page under Import Address Book where there are two columns - "Address Book Fields" and " Record Data to Import" - and then I am lost. I only require five fields in my address book - first & last names, landline & mobile numbers and email addresses. Of these, only the first and last names options appear in both columns - how do I 'match up' the others in order all five fields appear in the imported address book.
I am sorry is this is a very elementary question but I would be very grateful for any assistance I can be given - please give any replies in 'layman's' language!
Alen G

Offline SeZo

• View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Address Book in Thunderbird
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2019, 08:42:59 pm »
You could read about migrating here:
http://write.flossmanuals.net/thunderbird/migrating/
and
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Moving_from_Windows_to_Linux
also
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Import_.pst_files

Long time ago this is how I have done it:
1) Install Thunderbird on Windows