Author Topic: How to remount /proc to be writeable  (Read 930 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline anddontyoucomebacknomore

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
How to remount /proc to be writeable
« on: March 06, 2019, 02:19:34 am »
I'm scared of just doing the classic

mount -o rw, remount

because proc has a special filesystem, so is there a way to remount proc in order to let a script execute stuff in it?

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18208
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: How to remount /proc to be writeable
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2019, 02:02:54 pm »
I don't get you .. you're scared of remounting it read/write. but you wanna remount it read/write ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline anddontyoucomebacknomore

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: How to remount /proc to be writeable
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2019, 04:14:05 pm »
I wanted it to be writeable, so I could run a script. This is now no longer necessary, but I'll create a new topic on the subject.

And for those who it may interest: yes you can remount proc as rw just like the /system folder and it will not screw your system (even if it did because proc is temporary you would be fine after reboot)

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal