Author Topic: Scangearmp2 SOLVED.  (Read 2777 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline 19goalie50nxQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: 1
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #30 on: December 28, 2020, 01:09:14 pm »
Keith before I do anything silly, can you clarify what you mean by this :-" I suggest to use the text editor supplied by Mint (don't use LibreOffice!)".  I copied your Code command gedit .profile and pasted into Terminal then pressed Enter I hope this was okay.

Also again to clarify :- "When asking your editor to open .profile, don't forget to use Ctrl+h so you can see hidden files"  I'm not sure where use" .profile" is it in Terminal command after :- sudo apt install gedit.  Sorry to labour on this I don't want to mess things up can you let me have the command to proceed correctly.

Goalie.

Offline Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1430
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #31 on: December 28, 2020, 01:18:34 pm »
When you pasted the command gedit .profile into your terminal it produced an error because the text editor gedit is not installed on your computer.
You have two options:
1. install gedit as suggested or
2. look in your Mint menus to find your text editor - I think it might be called pluma

For simplicity I suggest using the one already installed.  After starting that editor, open .profile not forgetting to display "hidden files" so that you can see it!. 

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #31 on: December 28, 2020, 01:18:34 pm »

Offline 19goalie50nxQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: 1
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #32 on: December 28, 2020, 01:47:49 pm »
Keith I'm learning more each time you contact me, to be honest I've never used a text editor so don't know how to use it. However I've checked what is installed and it is Nano also in the Software Manager I notice there is Gedit so I can install it if this will make things easier.

Also I apologise for taking longer to reply sometimes its just that being "confined to barracks" so to speak, I have to help my wife with chores when she asks me. Plus she can't understand why I seem to be on the computer all the time mind, it doesn't matter that she's on WhatsApp all the time.lol

Goalie

Offline Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1430
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #33 on: December 28, 2020, 01:55:37 pm »
No problem Goalie.  You're doing fine.

As I am more familiar with gedit, let's install that.  Enter the following
Code: [Select]
sudo apt install gedit
You will be asked for your password.  As you type it nothing will appear on the screen.  This is normal, so you will have to be careful in your typing.  Don't forget to press "Enter"! 
As the screen fills up it may ask you if you are happy to proceed - type y (and press Enter if nothing happens).
When your user-prompt reappears, gedit is installed.  Let me know when that's done and we'll move on. 

Keith

Offline 19goalie50nxQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: 1
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #34 on: December 28, 2020, 02:25:02 pm »
Gedit fully installed.

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #34 on: December 28, 2020, 02:25:02 pm »

Offline Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1430
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #35 on: December 28, 2020, 02:31:30 pm »
Jolly good!

I've a thought.  Best check if you actually have a file called .profile.  Enter the following:
Code: [Select]
ls .profile
If the result looks like
[email protected]:~$ ls .profile
.profile
[email protected]:~$

Then we are in business. 

Offline 19goalie50nxQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: 1
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #36 on: December 28, 2020, 02:37:53 pm »
No joy see copy off Terminal :- [email protected]:~$ ls .profile
.profile
[email protected]:~$

Could I have done something wrong again?

Offline Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1430
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #37 on: December 28, 2020, 02:44:51 pm »
Perfect!!  The file .profile is listed. 

Now enter the following:
Code: [Select]
gedit .profile
This will start the gedit text editor and fill it with the .profile file. 
Go to the bottom of the page and you will see something like:
# set PATH so it includes user's private bin directories
PATH="$PATH:$HOME/.bin:$HOME/.local/bin

Whatever it says, please copy the whole of the last two lines and post them here.

Offline 19goalie50nxQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: 1
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #38 on: December 28, 2020, 02:47:49 pm »
Copy of last two lines :-

# set PATH so it includes user's private bin if it exists
if [ -d "$HOME/bin" ] ; then
    PATH="$HOME/bin:$PATH"
fi

# set PATH so it includes user's private bin if it exists
if [ -d "$HOME/.local/bin" ] ; then
    PATH="$HOME/.local/bin:$PATH"
fi

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #38 on: December 28, 2020, 02:47:49 pm »

Offline Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1430
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #39 on: December 28, 2020, 03:02:37 pm »
That's good: it means that no other additions have been made and we can add our .scangear directory to the PATH.

Copy the following lines and add them to the bottom of the file:
Code: [Select]
# set PATH so it includes user's .scangear directory if it exists
if [ -d "$HOME/.scangear" ] ; then
    PATH="$HOME/.scangear/scangearmp2-3.60-1-deb:$PATH"
fi
Then copy the last 12 lines or so and paste them here.  Don't close gedit yet!!

Keith

Offline 19goalie50nxQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: 1
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #40 on: December 28, 2020, 03:08:28 pm »
Hope these are correct:-

# if running bash
if [ -n "$BASH_VERSION" ]; then
    # include .bashrc if it exists
    if [ -f "$HOME/.bashrc" ]; then
   . "$HOME/.bashrc"
    fi
fi

# set PATH so it includes user's private bin if it exists
if [ -d "$HOME/bin" ] ; then
    PATH="$HOME/bin:$PATH"
fi

# set PATH so it includes user's private bin if it exists
if [ -d "$HOME/.local/bin" ] ; then
    PATH="$HOME/.local/bin:$PATH"
fi

if [ -d "$HOME/.scangear" ] ; then
    PATH="$HOME/.scangear/scangearmp2-3.60-1-deb:$PATH"
fi

Offline Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1430
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #41 on: December 28, 2020, 03:13:45 pm »
You omitted the comment line but it's not important. 
Yes; that's fine.  Now save the edited file and close gedit.

Then:
1. Reboot your computer
then
2. In a terminal, enter:
Code: [Select]
echo $PATH
and copy the output here.

Offline 19goalie50nxQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: 1
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #42 on: December 28, 2020, 03:20:48 pm »
Copy of Terminal after reboot:-

[email protected]:~$ echo $PATH
/home/kevin/.scangear/scangearmp2-3.60-1-deb:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/games:/usr/local/games:/snap/bin
[email protected]:~$

Offline Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1430
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #43 on: December 28, 2020, 03:24:59 pm »
Good.

Now in your terminal enter:
Code: [Select]
install.sh
You will need to enter your password when asked. 
Paste the output here.

Keith

Offline 19goalie50nxQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: 1
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Scangearmp2
« Reply #44 on: December 28, 2020, 03:28:23 pm »
Doesn't look good?

ScanGear MP
Version 3.60
Copyright CANON INC. 2007-2018

==================================================
Command executed = sudo dpkg -iG /home/kevin/.scangear/scangearmp2-3.60-1-deb/packages/scangearmp2_3.60-1_amd64.deb
(Reading database ... 376255 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack .../scangearmp2_3.60-1_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking scangearmp2 (3.60-1) ...
dpkg: error processing archive /home/kevin/.scangear/scangearmp2-3.60-1-deb/packages/scangearmp2_3.60-1_amd64.deb (--install):
 trying to overwrite '/usr/lib/libcncpmslld2.so.3.0.0', which is also in package libcanon-proprio-bin 0.2+4.10-1804ubuntu1
dpkg-deb: error: paste subprocess was killed by signal (Broken pipe)
Errors were encountered while processing:
 /home/kevin/.scangear/scangearmp2-3.60-1-deb/packages/scangearmp2_3.60-1_amd64.deb
Command executed = sudo dpkg -P scangearmp2
dpkg: warning: ignoring request to remove scangearmp2 which isn't installed
[email protected]:~$

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal